We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls Get-away weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Study at Yale
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Girls Get-away weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Study for two nights. The rooms were very nice and the staff very professional and helpful! Walking distance to most activities. Would highly recommend this hotel. Be aware there is a $24.00 valet charge per night. I believe the charge is a bit much for the area. However, the valet personnel were excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank praherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    178
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
243
143
41
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I used to stay at the Omni whenever visiting New Haven but over the years I felt like the property has gone downhill. I decided to give the Study a chance. We booked a "Study Room" - it is L shaped and has a mini library off of it and a view of Yale (mostly the top of Pierson). It was pricey and that was my biggest hesitancy on booking it, but I am so glad we did because we just loved it. The room was airy and light filled and we instantly felt at home upon entering it. The room was spacious and because of the L shape, it is great if you are traveling with a young child who goes to bed earlier than you do because you can put them to sleep in their own little area. The staff at the hotel were great- they seemed overly competent for their jobs and I almost wondered if they had any sort of ownership stake; in any event, they completed their jobs as if they owned the place and clearly took great care in their work. I am so glad we decided to try a different hotel in New Haven and really hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: I loved the Study Room. Really great if you are traveling with a baby because it is L shaped and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Rooms were clean and shower was great! The restaurant was convenient and served good food. The location close to town was good as I was able to walk around as I was only in town for the one night. Beds were comfy and lifts were fast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NathW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

There is my third stay at The Study. Other than their annoying over-priced valet parking fee (currently $24/day, which is excessive for New Haven) I think this is a wonderful hotel. The lobby has a nice "vibe", and the rooms are large and well designed - somewhere between standard hotel fare and boutique hotel design. The bathrooms have showers only - no tubs, which was a disappointment for my wife, but otherwise we loved the room. (I have learned to insist on not having a room that has a connecting door to another room, and they are not fully sound isolated). The restaurant, Heirloom, is exceptional, and a great place for dinner or cocktails and a snack. Service is very good. If you are visiting Yale you are walking distance to much of the campus as well as the area restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Unless you are booking two rooms and want connecting rooms, insist that you are not assigned a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeantownFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here on business and it was better than expected. The room had great views, was spacious, modern, and clean. Very reasonably priced for what you get. The restaurant Heirloom was great as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Where_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was drawn here by all the good reviews and the hotel lived up to expectations. The rooms in the back have lovely views of the Yale Campus, are very light and spacious. Very nice, modern bathroom. The hotel feels like a home. Great bar and restaurant on site. Excellent free coffee and a variety of complementary newspapers in the morning. Valet parking that is reasonably priced. Fantastic location on Yale Campus. Can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SZOK855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Right in the heart of Yale. Excellent food, excellent bar, and excellent service. Highly recommend. Except the room has some air-con like noise. It get clear at night and can't figure out why. There is free coffee in the morning at the lobby. Don't miss that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingfishertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.4 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.3 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Property: The Study at Yale
Address: 1157 Chapel St, New Haven, CT 06511-4806
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Study at Yale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing