We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was clean and bed comfortable, cleaning staff...”
Review of Days Inn New Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn New Haven
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Reviewed 17 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Michelle .
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2013

INdifferent to unhappy & unpleasant front dest fellow.
Musty room with air handling machine that pumped out unbreathable musty air if turned on and no window ventilation!
Couldn't get out fast enough:cancelled 3 days of stay and moved to decent hotel that was well worth a bit more!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The lady working the front desk is so rude so the fact that they pride themselves on having "warm hospitality" is absurd! If you ask her a question, like "Can I get some quarters to do laundry?" she'll act like you're asking for her right leg. The hallways are hot/humid, the bathroom was dirty, and the breakfast is awful! I strongly recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirav p, Manager at Days Inn New Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Remember the breakfast is on the go, we offer Days Inn standard breakfast, which many guest don't mind because they are usually on the way out. I haven't heard any complains about it until now, but please feel free to email me directly at the hotel daysin13878@gmail on how we can improve the breakfast.

As for the quarters I do apologies for that but many guest are asking for quarters and those machines are not owned by the hotel and we do run low on quarters when many guest keep asking for change.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Killed a roach in the bathroom. It stayed there until I checked out. Evidently no one cleaned the bathroom in 5 days. Could not catch jumping black bug in bedroom. Could not make a local phone call. Phone did not work. No tissues in room. (They do not provide, I was told). They put me on second floor with no elevator. Desk clerk begrudgingly helped me with suitcase up stairs.(I am 74 years old and traveling alone). I extended my stay for an extra day and they cut off my room key. I had originally told them I was unsure of exact check out because of ill relative in hospital. Upon checkout, no one would help bring suitcase down the stairs. Volume control in TV did not work. Burn holes in carpet and bedspread. Desk clerk always in back room and you have to shout to get someone out to the front desk at any time of day or night. Hallways not air conditioned. The only service received - they would call taxi when I needed one. All in all, very run-down building. Needs complete remodel. Not clean. Desk clerks very discourteous and unhelpful in any way. Probably the worst hotel stay ever. Could not wait to check out. I've stayed at a Days Inn in another city which was fine. Don't stay here. Board of Health should check this place out.

Room Tip: Doubt there is one in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anneselvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirav p, Manager at Days Inn New Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest,

During your stay you had your do not disturb sign on, which means the housekeepers will not touch the room. Also there was no complain brought to us about the bug, if there had been a complain we would of gladly moved you to another room. Also local calls are free simple dial 9 and wait for the tune and then dial the number.

Many hotels would not even bother to help with luggage, remember this is a 3 star hotel not a 5 star and the front desk agent took the time to help you carry your luggage up stairs.

We will be remodeling soon I do hope you reconsider and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Smoking smell throughout hallway and leading into room. Loud air conditioner blows air directly to bed and difficult to control. The pillows all wear out and are uneven. The room cleanness is ok. The comfort level is really low. The shower is newly upgraded but the toilet is old. The furnishing is very basic and plain. Nothing adds any value to it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJmom_2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3.6 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
437 reviews
3 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
2.9 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
6.3 mi away
Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn New Haven

Address: 270 Foxon Blvd, New Haven, CT 06513-2324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: £41 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn New Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn New Haven Hotel New Haven
New Haven Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing