We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pizza”
Review of Modern Apizza

Modern Apizza
Ranked #1 of 565 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic pizza”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Modern is exactly what it should be: a place to get a pitcher of beer (or Foxon sodas for those not drinking) and enjoy some top notch thin crust pizza. Do not be intimidated by the clams casino pizza just because you've never considered having clams on a pizza before. Trust Modern, this is what they do best.

I am a sucker for their salty Italian dressing on the house salad. Yum.

Keep in mind, it's closed on Mondays and it can get very busy with lots of people waiting outside during the dinner rush. Try to go outside of the dinner rush.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanNajjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    185
    50
    28
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent - pizza the way it should be”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stumbled upon this place quite by accident and decided to try it. Not disappointed, but very surprised by the quality of the pizza and its price.

We love thin pizzas and this one didn't disappoint.

Afterwards we heard that it can be difficult to get a seat here and when we were leaving the line outside was testament to that. We were lucky to arrive and get seated immediately. Would eat here again if I had the chance!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GREAT pizza”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I loved their pizza. It's paper thin, but plenty of fresh cheese. The round pies are huge but very thin so you can eat a whole pie. Festive atmosphere inside, very casual. We had to wait for a table but didn't mind waiting. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC Region
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really?”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It was lunch time as we approached New Haven, so I went on line searching for a famous NewHaven pizza. Modern Apizza looked good , there was even a note that vegetarians loved the place.
Arriving, it looked promising. The place was busy and people were walking out with stacks of pizza boxes, a variety of patrons from business suits to jeans to work clothes were seated in front of large pies.
We ordered a large mozerella pizza and a salad keeping it simple. THe service was good. However when the salad arrived, it was way too salty for my taste My wife who tends to like more salt than me, also commented that the salt was excessive.
When the pizza came it seemed overcooked. Yes, we were ready for a pie baked at a high temperature and expected a few charred spots, but this pie was close to being burnt. Neither the sauce nor the cheese seemed like anything special and once again, the pie was very salty.
The thin crust, which I prefer, was good, though uniformly burnt arount the edges .
I'm not sure if we would have been better off ordering a Veggie Bomb (apparently a specialty) but if a place cant produce a decent plain pizza, I can't be impressed.
Having been to DiFara's, where all the hype and buzz was backed up by an exceptional pie,
we walked out onto State Street wondering how Modern ever achieved its legendary status.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlSloaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“little pie big taste”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Diane and I went to Modern Apizza last tue. we had a small Italian bomb. The small was all we could eat there was so much meat on the pie . We saw all kinds of pies come out of the oven they all look great. So sand in line and get a piece of pie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Modern Apizza also viewed

 

Been to Modern Apizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing