We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and good atmosphere”
Review of Anna Liffey's

Anna Liffey's
Ranked #112 of 558 Restaurants in New Haven
Price range: US$20 - US$20
Cuisines: Irish, British
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Tasty and good atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I had a Chicken pie at Anna Liffey's and it was really nice, accompanied by a Guinness. I like the atmosphere, a mix between sport's bar and Irish pub.

Service was good too, our waitress was friendly and upbeat. Food arrived fairly quickly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“top drawer”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The food is just always great. I've been going for years and never had a substandard meal. French fries are the best anywhere. They screen all the soccer matches. Good atmosphere, friendly people work there. The head chef is #1.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankGenois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good irish bar”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Had dinner and drinks here. Upstairs it was very busy, but went downstairs and it was virtually empty. Waitress was chatty and accommodating. We had the Irish curry which was very good. Variety of draft beers on tap and wines. We also had cocktails here unfortunately the long island iced tea tasted a little odd. Good atmosphere and the prices were good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agentmulder86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We (family of four) stopped here last year on our way from NYC to Hartford (we were on vacation from NH). We couldn't stop talking about the food. My husband ordered the fish and chips and I ordered the Guinness Stew. The only issue was that they brought out two fish and chips instead of giving me my stew. They quickly corrected the problem. That was the BEST Guinness Stew I've ever had! No where else compares. My husband LOVED the fish and chips.

Even though it was over a year ago that we ate here, I decided to finally review it now because my husband had to travel from NH to NJ today on a business trip. He called to let me know where he ate for lunch. I asked what he ordered and he said the fish and chips and I asked how it was this time. He said "incredible". Not sure how the other food is, but the fish and chips and stew are WONDERFUL.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PamelaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Let me start by saying if I could give this restaurant a zero, I would. First of all the item I wanted to order wasn't available, my second choice wasn't available either. I decided on the salmon which was the most tasteless food I have ever eaten. It came will plain white rice and BOILED vegetables. Honestly, if we did not have a gift certificate I would have refused to pay. Not to mention, the salmon smelled beyond fishy! I understand that they are trying to go 'authentic' but, wow, how about a touch of salt! Also, restaurants in Ireland today actually have amazing food so the whole bland tasteless reputation is not so anymore. Come on Anna Liffey's, at least make your food resemble food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anna Liffey's also viewed

 

Been to Anna Liffey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing