We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Open today: 09:00 - 19:00
Self-Guided Yale Scavenger Hunt: Yale & Beyond
4

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
239
40
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
239
40
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunny day on display vermont marble glass tower open to the public bible panels books audubon translucent stack folio building architecture copies exterior protect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I visited this library as part of a Yale tour so we were able to learn a little about the background of the building and books. What a stunning library both in content and architecturally speaking. The building is made of 3cm thick Vermont marble which is the exact width to stop UV rays from damaging the books. On a sunny day, the light can shine through the marble inside which is so beautiful to see even if it wasn’t that sunny on the day we visited. They have so many rare books including one of the first printed bibles and the first books to be printed in the US and the UK. They even have an original script of the Fresh Prince of Bel Air! It’s just such a magical place to see. We were able to go inside and spend some time looking around as well. It's definitely worth a visit!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank VikkiBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2018

If you love rare books and maps, visit this library, said to be the largest repository of rare books in North America. The building itself is an art piece. In the first level below the street, you can see amazing and rare maps on the walls -- and you don't have to be connected to Yale to see them.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We stopped here after visiting another location on campus - it is a short visit but very interesting to see the tall shelves of rare books. If you get there in time you can join the tour and hear about what you are seeing. The Gutenberg Bible was a highlight. Interesting structure of the building also.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2018

I would make a stop to see the architecture alone, but the staff here really make great use of their collection and display many of their rare books for the public to see.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Kelsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

You see the oldest books including the Bible. I find it very interesting. It is free and anyone can go

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank cathyam2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews