We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go elsewhere! Fake pictures and non-existing amenities”
Review of New Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Haven Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Midwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere! Fake pictures and non-existing amenities”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Do not stay here. Do not make the same mistake I made.
I saw the other reviews, and most reviews said do not stay in this hotel. However, considering the lower cost, and looking at the nice pictures and amenities described on the Choice Hotel website, I was still attracked to book this hotel against those warnings. Big mistake!!

The photos must be from 10 years ago when the hotel was first built, because the place is a run down, and neither the room nor the buildings are anywhere close to the nice pictures on the website. The "heated indoor pool" is in the abandoned building of the "conference rooms" full of broken glasses and dust. A whole building at the back was also boarded up with broken windows. They don't have any laundry facility but still advertised "laundry facility on the property". Things mentioned on the website about the hotel are just lies after lies.
The front desk Indian staff was completely UN-friendly, maintained a cold face and had no desire to even talk to his guests. Very UN-welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FriendlyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    4
    6
    65
See reviews for
30
14
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My family and I had to travel to CT from PA, My mother was having a very delicate surgery, I booked online using my choice points, I called and ask the person on the phone that I was coming from PA and I wasn't sure what time we would be there, he said "not a problem we would change your stay if you get here after midnight... we got there at 5am due to traffic and construction...when we got there I told the person on the counter about the change of stay, this person said he couldn't change my stay and check-out was at 11am; We were all so tired, when we got to the room, the a/c wasn't working that well and the bathroom door was dirty; I called back at 10:30am and asked for a late check-out: I was told 1pm the key better be at the counter... this was very unprofessional, I was so tired throught the day...We will never stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPaez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Haven hotels

Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!! We were tired, found this on choice hotel app, got to the room and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. Told them it wasn't acceptable, but they wouldn't refund money. Luckily it was on the cheaper side, but will NEVER even consider a stay at an ECONO LODGE again. Am writing Choice Hotels about this DUMP!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Schtdynative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This place is a run down, probably drug and hooker infested waste of land! DO NOT STAY HERE!
It was too late to cancel my reservation and get a refund, but after looking around, I ate the $60 and moved to another hotel. I thought my truck would end up on blocks in the morning with no wheels!

Room Tip: This entire area does not look safe, move on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Do not stay here! If you do, you're truly taking your life in your hands. The place looks worse than a fallout shelter. Some very sketchy characters around the place.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Checky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

DO NOT GO I repeat STAY AWAY.. the pictures on the Econo lodge website are what the hotel looked like before the end of the world atom bomb got dropped on New Haven. Only one section is available for staying the rest is literally boarded up, rotten, smashed, taped off, , broken windows, doors kicked in, matresses laying everywhere and totally debris ridden- not "we are under construction debris" more like "We are under attack debris" The swimming pool...? Is now a trash, literally. The rooms are skanky, it has more of a "crack house feel or a homeless shelter feel than a motel. I felt like I got warped into the movie Precious: Based on the book "Push" by sapphire. The people staying there are not wayfarers or travellers, they are the people that are one step from homelessness and econolodge is now home... it made me wonder if they are the kind of people that cant get a real apt, you know like drug addicts, convicts, and sex offenders. it felt that way to me. This place is the worst place Ive ever stayed, by FAR- and Im not picky- obviously I was staying at an econo lodge so that should tell you I wasnt expecting the ritz... and dont expect a refund, for any reason... at all... no matter what.... for any reason. Trashy and rude, scum, low class, ghetto, half way house, STDs, Flea Bag, Katrina, - these are the words I think of when I think of this place. They should loose their franchise.... See the pictures others have posted!!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We've been going to Econo Lodge since 2009 while my son has attending Yale University. It is the most economical hotel in the area and serves a free breakfast along with the room. The staff is very pleasant, especially Mr and Mrs Patel who run the housecleaning services. The rooms are very clean and is kept clean on a daily basis. We were upgraded to a suite, when there were no other rooms available at no additional cost. It is about a 19 minute drive away from Yale University and next to a major freeway entrance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Haven hotels
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
4.3 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.4 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
3.1 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#7 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Inn

Property: New Haven Inn
Address: 100 Pond Lily Ave, New Haven, CT 06515-1106 (Formerly Econo Lodge Conference Center - New Haven)
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — New Haven Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Conference Center - New Haven Hotel New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing