We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Haven Village Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great bargain”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here twice in building #9. The building is in an industrial part of town, but the room was spacious with a sitting area, kitchenette and fireplace. The mattresses were comfortable. The only minor detractions were that there wasn't WIFI, but the ethernet worked fine and there wasn't a waste basket in the bathroom area. The breakfast was good with a waffle machine and eggs and on Monday through Thursday a modest dinner was served! This made the hotel well worth the price.
Also, if you want to use the complementary shuttle, reserve it in advance.

Room Tip: Building #9 was fine. You can request a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gojo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    124
    84
    40
    38
See reviews for
173
70
31
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We (couple) stayed at the hotel for five nights in February 2012, mainly because of the convenience of the location for our purpose. Although our experience was mainly positive, the following items need to be addressed by the management of the hotel.
1. The suite looked clean until a closer inspection of the floors; they need to be cleaned thoroughly, particularly the corners.
2. The entrance area of the suite needs more lighting (overhead lighting would probably be most suitable), particularly around the front closet and around the fireplace.
3. The staff could use proper hospitality training; they seem to be doing their best but it is obvious that they don't have proper guidance in dealing with guests.
4. Complimentary shuttle - the driver didn't wear a seat belt nor did he ask the passengers to wear one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ala13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite while visiting Yale. Loved the rooms, king bed downstairs, queen in loft, each with own bathroom suite. Fireplace and sofa bed in livingroom, nice kitchen. Loads of pillows on the beds. Freindly staff and offers a nice breakfast in lobby,not just stale danish and coffee as at some places. Only slight drawbacks: faucet for shower a little confusing (just pull down on end of faucet!) And no wifi in rooms, only in lobby. But a great place well worth the price and will definately stay again when in area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hahmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The room is very nice, and super clean, breakfast really good and location convenient but the room was so hot and the AC doesn't give you the chance to change temperature. I had to open the balcony doors and sleep with doors open cause the room was so hot !
Also they have a long wire sticked with a heavy rock ( so you cannot steal the wire )that you connect to your computer for Internet service. The Internet is so slow I couldn't really get anything done.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MechiSchlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed at Premier Suites for a third time for a business trip. This hotel consistently lacks in service and rooms are dated. Knowing what to expect I am able to look past this and enjoy the non-traditional hotel room with a fireplace and kitchen for less than the Omni hotel. There is a free shuttle and if you drive, parking is free.

If you decide to stay here request a room that is either close to the gatehouse(Buildings 12,11,10) or a room overlooking the parking lot. The rooms at the back are scary since it overlooks a run down neighborhood. If you want a room with a fireplace, you must request it during the reservation.

My room was a studio suite it is equip with a stove top, full sized fridge, microwave and dishwasher. There is a sleeper sofa, work desk and a kitchen table. The dishes, pots and pans are provided. There is a work out room.

The hotel provides breakfast and dinner (dinner mon-thurs). The food is just ok. The cook’s could use a lesson at a culinary school. There are local restaurants to try such as Brazi’s Italian or Sage located on the water. Ikea is less than a half mile away

Room Tip: Request a room in buildings 10,11,12 or overlooking the parking lot to avoid an unsightly neighborho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishtown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The rooms have a kitchen equipped with refrigerator and microwave! So this is a big plus, if you have leftover food. The breakfast is regular continental breakfast, coffee, milk, waffles, , eggs, sausages, etc..The rooms are pretty good. If possible, try to get the upper floor.
Hotel is near I95, so pretty convenient and close to the town and university.
Must try Mexican Food Truck on Long Wharf Dr near water.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTraveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

we had 5 rooms and everyone loved their stay. the breakfast was great and the 2 bathrooms helped everyone get ready in a timely manor

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Haven hotels
1.2 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
574 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
767 reviews
1.4 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Village Suites

Property: New Haven Village Suites
Address: 3 Long Wharf Dr, New Haven, CT 06511-5900 (Formerly New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites)
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Haven Village Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Haven Village Suites is a sparkling, family owned and operated, AAA Three Diamond rated, small independent New Haven hotel. The hotel's residential village-like setting offers recently renovated guest suites including a Clubhouse for gathering. The Studio Suites are 50% larger than a typical hotel room. New Haven Village Suites specializes in lodging for Yale University, Yale New Haven Hospital, business, government or family travel, employee relocations, temporary assignments or projects, emergency accommodations and a variety of medical lodging needs in the New Haven area. So what makes us New Haven Village Suites? By offering so many first rate complimentary services, and true New England hospitality, we are pleased that our guests have "shouted-out" praises resulting in the hotel being ranked as one of New Haven's best hotel values and "hidden gems". Our guests will never pay for Full Hot Buffet Daily Breakfast, offering enough to satisfy the hungriest travelers, light dinner from 5:30- 7:00 pm Monday through Wednesday, parking, local area shuttle service, business center, WIFI (Clubhouse), fitness center, local calls, or our friendly daily housekeeping service. Ask about our all inclusive living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your New Haven Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Haven Premiere Hotel New Haven
Premiere Hotel New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing