We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Hotel”
Review of New Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Five Star Hotel--the service is impeccable, the room immaculate, the beds amazing, and the New Haven is eco-friendly. Convenient to everything that is Yale--museums, restaurants, theaters, movies. Located in a safe, safe part of town. Buffet or continental breakfast. Garage
across the street. Great for families and business travelers. The New Haven Hotel rates Five Stars from me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room for a view. All room are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AfficionadaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visiting Yale, hotel was close and quiet and well appointed. Parking in garage across the street. Nice gym facility. There are dvd players in the rooms, discs available at reception - not a great list. TV choices fine though. Plenty of restaurants within a block or two, also a movie theater.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moschofilero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

A complimentary upgrade is the fastest way to the heart of this frequent traveler. Thank you, New Haven Hotel.

Our large room (baby suite?) was immaculate, equipped with three closets, and silent. The breakfast buffet was reasonably priced and sufficiently varied.

For travelers to Yale College, the hotel is a little out of the way. And George Street is nothing to write home about. It's grim but didn't feel unsafe.

I'd return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnview9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was perfectly fine - rooms were clean, bed comfortable and it was quiet.
Rooms were big.
But it was nothing special.
On the upside it is very close to Yale if that's your reason for staying, and close enough to restaurants with a whole lot just around the corner.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having stayed in New Haven numerous times over the past 6 years, this was the first time we tried The New Haven Hotel for a 4 night stay. We were pleased with the change. The parking was convenient and the $20 fee was reasonable and competitive with what other hotels charge. The location is convenient to Yale, many great restaurants, the Shubert theater, movie theater & art museums. Once we parked, we walked everywhere other than a quick trip to East Rock. (which we highly recommend!)
Despite it being an old hotel, it has been very nicely refurbished. The lobby is very comfortable and lovely. Lots of comfy seating, a gas fireplace, flat screen tv, and coffee and tea on a limited basis. We didn't try the restaurant which appeared to only be open for breakfast, but we had other plans anyway and found excellent restaurants in and around the city.
Our king room on the 7th floor was well-appointed, quiet, had a very comfortable bed, (and we are picky about leaving our sleep number bed at home!) large shower, and a sofa/coffee table for spreading out more. The internet was easily accessed and consistent.
Booked online and check-in/check out was pleasant and efficient. Arrived early/was allowed to check in at noon. Fitness room had a great variety of equipment and was well maintained.
All this for a reasonable price. Lower than every other comparable hotel in the city. We will return.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor (top floor, I think) and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicetimesinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jamice O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Hotel staff is friendly, luxuriously decorated, clean and comfortable rooms, and eco-friendly! The location is perfect-close to Yale campus and downtown area. Parking is available in the structure next to the hotel for 20 dollars a day. The coffee they served in the lobby was also pretty good-it's the little extra special touches that count.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.1 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.1 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3 mi away
Days Inn New Haven
Days Inn New Haven
#8 of 12 in New Haven
313 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Hotel

Address: 229 George St, New Haven, CT 06510-3200
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: £102 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Haven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing