We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Stay!”
Review of New Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Overnight Stay!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you want a simple, value-for-money yet an excellent place to stay in New Haven, The New Haven Hotel is it. My daughter and I found that out in our 4th of July overnight stay prior to the start of her Yale Young Global Scholars program.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    252
    80
    18
    26
See reviews for
156
135
54
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for 5 nights when we relocated to New Haven from overseas. It was great to be able to stay in a central place while we got our bearings - was very easy for us to step out each day and explore the nearby restaurants and of course, Yale. Room was big and clean, TV had lots of channels (perfect for those jet lagged nights!) and the complimentary wifi was much appreciated. We took advantage of the fitness centre as well - its very small with just a few machines but it does the job.

We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant every morning - it was great every morning (option of hot buffet or continental) and the service in the restaurant was phenomenal - although its probably cheaper to grab brekkie at one of the many eateries nearby, we liked the convenience of being able to eat in house. We also thoroughly enjoyed the evening happy hours - complimentary wine and cheese in the lobby! We enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked my parents to stay when they visit later this month.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtann98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at New Haven Hotel in conjunction with my site visit travel to Yale, and loved it. The room was very comfortable with upgraded amenities and the staff are very friendly, prompt and professional. The location was convenient to a plethora of restaurants, movie theater and walking distance to my meeting at Yale. The only disappointment was the lack of a pool and on demand TV. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel for future stays when visiting New Haven. Pleasant stay all around!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chauy99967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The New Haven Hotel is a well-appointed hotel in downtown New Haven in walking distance to Yale University. We were completely won over by the service upon arrival. We arrived at check-in at 2 a.m. after a long day of travel. The night manager was fully prepared for our arrival and had pre-planned our registration to get us into our room as quickly and painlessly as possible. We had an A-one experience our entire time there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keig7544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

When arrived at the hotel there was no reception at the desk, had to wait for 15 minutes before she showed up. Being late in her break I was given a complimentary breakfast coupon. It was a nice gesture. Rooms are nice and spacious, comfortable king bed. I was offered a room with disabled accessibility but it was ok; only think I would have liked was to have the room in the upper floor. There is street view from your room on the 2nd floor, can be bit noisy and smell of breakfast in morning...) Rooms in the upper floor could give you better view. There is complimentary coffee and tea at the lobby in the morning those who are not having breakfast in morning. Overall, it was comfortable..

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

...like decent restaurants, liquor store etc. Pleasant warea to walk around. Good location, quiet room, friendly helpful staff, free happy hour in lobby from 5-6. All-in-all a good value. Filling this out to 200 characters!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phtdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed a week later on our way back from Cape Cod...after Manhattan the room felt huge (although not quite such a big one on our second stay). Beautifully renovated and everything felt very modern. Convenient location, short walk to Yale University.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank videmred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.1 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.3 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
103 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Hotel

Property: New Haven Hotel
Address: 229 George St, New Haven, CT 06510-3200
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Haven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your New Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing