We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here after arriving via Amtrak. The check in experience was fast and very friendly. The woman that checked us in was surprised that we walked from Amtrak and told us to use the hotel shuttle! Our room was reasonably clean but very poorly maintained. The bathroom had damaged tiles and didn't include wash cloths. There were very few outlets and nowhere to plug anything in near the desk. The clock was plugged in next to the TV. The heat in the room didn't work. When we arrived it was 60 degrees in our room. After we turned on the heat the heater just hummed and didn't produce any heat. It was 58 degrees in the morning when we woke up. We didn't complain about the heat because it was not a big deal to us, but I suspect other guests might find that to be a serious problem. Bed was uncomfortable. The breakfast was the usual fare except that they didn't have any fresh fruit. The exercise room has three machines, but we didn't get a chance to use them. The service and food at the attached restaurant were both good.

We stayed here because of the low price. We got what we paid for. We would stay here again if it was cheap, but if there was a decent alternative available at a similar price, We'd probably stay elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank hikertrash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Do your self a favor and stay anywhere else. The dirt in the hall was there for our entire stay. The shuttle made us miss the train and the driver told us that they had been in trouble for having maids but clean sheets on top of dirty ones. Miserable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheSuze12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The attention and friendliness of the entire staff was amaxing I felt as I knew everyone for a long time, overall I am a very happy guest and pkease dont change your staff they do make a difference
Thank you so much... Ana

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel was o.k. for a cheap hotel. I was just staying over one night for a business trip to Yale so just needed a bed for the night; it was certainly fit for that purpose. If you're looking for a luxury break this place certainly isn't it, but I didn't find it as bad as some of the reviews have made out. It's a bit shabby but otherwise clean.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank sunshine383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

1. staff was very friendly and helpful
2. Hallways of hotel have a heavy chemical smell - like a overdoes of air freshener
3. non smoking room - heavy smell of smoke - even in the AC system
4. WiFi no so good - other guest has similar issue

Room Tip: check the room first and report back to front desk -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

When booking our trip to New Haven for Yale Parents Weekend, I'll admit that I began the reservation process too late and many hotels were already fully booked. I was left with the lower end choices - the hotel properties that were on the "other side of the tracks." I should have paid heed to the review of this hotel that started with the statement, "bring your own Lysol". This place not only stunk, but was very poorly maintained, in need of significant plaster work, bathroom repair, and a good paint job. The other irksome discovery when we entered our room was the absence of light bulbs (we should have brought our own!) and too few outlets. What few outlet there were were overloaded by plugs to the existing fixtures and appliances. I feared that they would spark at anytime and start a fire. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

If you enjoy dried blood on the walls, missing shower curtains, multiple stains on your bed, and general uncleanliness - this hotel is for you. To add to this, there was ongoing illegal activity on or around the property ranging from street racing to drug abuse.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MIAeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.6 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
432 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
0.9 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
1.2 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
106 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Address: 400 Sargent Dr, New Haven, CT 06511-5907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: £65 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven Hotel New Haven
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Haven
La Quinta New Haven
New Haven La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing