We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to drop off kid at Yale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
mlace
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Convenient to drop off kid at Yale”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were dropping our son off at Yale during the reunion weekend for the 50 and 40th, so things were a bit tight. This hotel is located only 2 mile drive from Yale. It would not be a destination by it self. It is noisy (right next to 95), way too warm for my liking. It was old and run down. The people in service were nice. Although not very informed. When I asked how to get to the light house in the bay, several of them did not know there was a lighthouse. The man who set up breakfast was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Beds were really, really hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    132
    112
    96
    92
See reviews for
177
77
54
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It's kind of a sad, old hotel - lots of "modernizations" throughout and overall they've done a reasonable job, but still some sloppy patch jobs around. The staff seems to try hard. Nothing special, but nothing horrible either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a high school competition in September 2013 and this was without a doubt the absolute worst hotel experience of my life. Staff was unhelpful, and the room was DISGUSTING! Do not stay here. They couldn't get me to come back for a free room. Absolutely terrible. My whole team recounted this as the funniest experience of high school because of how bad it was. I guess it's good because we bonded due to the situation and made a joke out of it, but really it was awful. I hate that I have to give it a 1 star rating instead of a zero

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank VolunteerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Haven hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Its oddly place on the side of the highway and opposite the Wharf, and it looks scary at first sight. But when I came in it was actually pretty nice. Guest services was very polite and smiley which I liked and they promptly checked me in.
I came up to my floor and was surprised at how low the ceiling was, I could touch it without standing on my tippy toes. When I came to the room, which was at the end of the hallway and a double to boot, I opened the door and found a little foyer. I though it was very cute. The room was clean but there was still a kind of smell to it even with the air going. Thank goodness I bring Febreeze with me where ever I go, because you never know. I love the fact that they have a microwave AND fridge and the TV has a guide so you dont have to aimlessly guess what channel is which.

My complaints are: It is pet friendly, there was a woman who's Pomeranian would not stop barking, I guess it had separation anxiety because it went on for an hour. My biggest pet peeve was truly realized with the walls being thin. They were so thin I could hear the people 2 doors down arguing. The bathrooms are still dated and so is the furniture. There is a chair in my room that looks like its been sat on since 1965, so the color is starting to wear and fade from brown to greenish. Also, it wouldnt hurt for someone to clean the windows outside.

It's not scary, nor is it creepy, and the price is reasonable. There is free wifi, internet, and breakfast.
Nice rooms, nice service. Extended my stay :)

Room Tip: If you want a decent breakfast, there is a diner attached to the hotel. It is 6-8 minutes away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlienNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus
Level Contributor
604 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at many La Quintas all over the country. They have mostly been very good, but this was certainly one of the worst. First the Good News - the bed was very comfortable (which we have come to expect from LQ). Now the Bad News - the temperature control was terrible. As soon as the heat shut off a blast of Arctic air came out of the blower. This made it almost impossible to sleep. Also the fridge was extremely small, and made even smaller by the thick layer of ice all around the freezer. It had not been defrosted in a very long time. The noise level, both from outside the building and inside of it was also quite bad. And the locale was what can be charitably described as Industrial.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

La Quinta in New Haven, CT: Staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. Love the hotel shuttle service; they picked me up from the train station, and also took me to nearby places (I came back for college reunion).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Quyen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new haven, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here for kids graduation. Omni was full (and $550 per nite) and Marriott Courtyard was full (and $379 per nite). LaQ was $215 per nite and not too far away. They provided shuttle service which they got right all but once. My room was quiet, internet worked every time, and TV worked. Bathroom was OK. Overall, I saved $500 and I was pretty happy. I wish that they had bananas for breakfast. Workout room was sparse, but they had a quality treadmill and I never had to wait (ran all 3 days). Staff was friendly. If I have to go back to New Haven, and Omni and Marriott are going to try to gouge me (and they charge extra for parking), I would stay at LaQ again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.7 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
1.5 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#7 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Address: 400 Sargent Dr, New Haven, CT 06511-5907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Haven
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven Hotel New Haven
La Quinta New Haven
New Haven La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing