We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate Stay, convenient to Yale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Adequate Stay, convenient to Yale”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Needed a place convenient to Yale. To help set expectations for future travelers...the hotel is fine. It could use a steam cleaning on the little things that don't really matter when it comes to a short stay. Bed was fine, shower was warm, room was adequate.
However...it does have the smell of smoke, I suspect the room had been smoked in from previous guests. It may take a full makeover to remove that smell. If you have a family member with asthma (like we did) you might look else where.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidVonZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    130
    109
    95
    92
See reviews for
172
77
54
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

They did not have my upgraded room in non-smoking did not discount the lesser room I received because my "internet" rate was lower than they could do at desk...Didn't have a non smoking room for the people behind me either...I felt scammed. Also all the rooms are pet friendly which could complicate stay if you have allergies.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Haven hotels

Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Upon arriving I knew what I was in for by looking at the people standing in front: what appeared to be prostitutes.
First morning, as my husband, coworker and I are eating breakfast a couple of individuals walk right through the breakfast area with a dead body on a gurney. The staff act as if nothing is happening, and no apology or explanation is given. Quite a way to begin a stay.
The room was a good size, and the towels got replaced daily. That's the extent of positive information.
The ac didn't work, the microwave didn't work, and the tub didn't drain. When these concerns were brought to the attention of the staff their solution was to move me. We asked if we could just have the issues rectified while we were at work and the answer was no. With a smile.
The only employee that actually seemed to have an interest in hospitality was Tye, and she was fantastic.
Not on the top of my list, or in the middle for that matter. Unfortunately its what I've come to expect from LaQuinta.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank btolde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed one night with my husband as we needed a stop off during a long trip.... I kind assumed this would be like other La Quinta's I've stayed at before, but.... no. The hotel was run down and the room was a very basic motel room with stains and drips down the walls, the Queen sized bed was really a double, and it smelled like cigarettes despite it being a non smoking room. I would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone - it's not inexpensive enough to justify the crappy accommodations. The upside is there is an Ikea next door which was kind of a novelty for us - I bought a pair of $2 slippers there to wear because there was no way I was going barefoot on that nasty carpet.

Oh, and there was an outdoor pool - I looked at it only out of curiosity - it was full of green stuff and totally gross - nobody was in it, thank god.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

It is obviously not a three star hotel. The bathroom size was good. Yes it is an old hotel. The parking lot is not scary at all. There is a Bank of America on one side and an Ikea on the other side of the hotel. There is a gas station on the other side of the Bank of America. Most of the clientele during my stay were white business class people. There is a diner/bar that apparently caters to a mix of elderly, thugs, and gays. There were some trashy Puerto Rican chics that checked in when I checked in and a few ghettoish black people here and there but nothing like I was led to believe from some reviews I had seen. I was tricked by deceptive Priceline marketing into this hotel purchase or I would not have stayed here. It is comparable to a much lower priced hotel about ten miles away. The double beds are big enough, unlike a hotel I stayed at in Milford that was a total scam. This hotel actually gives you two double beds that are comfortable enough. Not as nice as a Temporpedic, but a decent mattress. Not thin, not hard. Pool was closed. They have Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon and ABC Family for young kids. Free stuff upstairs in Ikea for little kids to do and cheap food for them there as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklinville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife & I generally stay at LaQuinta. We were vey surprised at the condition of this location. The property looks like it is very old and worn. Our room # was 208 and this is what we saw in our room: Yellow substance dripping down the wall in the bathroom; sink did not drain; toilet would not flush properly, the handle had to be held down to get it to flush & several times at that; grout in the bathroom floor nasty/dirty; cracks, corners, crevices had dirt in it; peeling wallpaper.
It looks like they took a dumpy room with a dirty cheap loveseat, and put a high definition TV in it, in order to charge $115 a night plus over $17 in tax.

The grounds and the building had similar problems. On the second floor there was a broken receptacle. The hole was so large a child could put their finger in it & get shocked. The (ugly) wall paper was peeling, skid marks all up & down the hallway. The laundry room was dirty with stains & trash on the floor. On the ground floor there were broken baseboard tile across from the elevator. The building was so old, the bellman's cart (also dirty) would barely fit in the elevator. The grounds were dirty; paper & cigarette butts everywhere. Vegetation growing wild; weeds in the bushes. There was no covered drive-up when registering. There was no drive up appeal.

The breakfast offered was also substandard. The waffle mix that came out was 99% water so the waffles were unfit to eat. There was not a good selection of breakfast items to choose from.

In summary the Pro's & Con's are:

Pro's: Friendly Staff, comfortable bed, HDTV, nice towels.
Con's: Dirty, over priced, worn building, tiny elevators, plumbing/maintenance issues, breakfast below average.

Room Tip: Don't expect much, but do expect it to cost a lot to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashua,new hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

For the price of $89, this was certainly fine for an overnite stay. It is conveniently located just off the hiway near Ikea. Check-in was smooth and the room was fine with two double beds. It was convenient that no password was needed to use the in room internet connection. The bathroom shower area was not well cleaned. There was mould very present on the ceiling and the bathroom just did not seem to "sparkle". The am breakfast was very basic with the typical breadstuffs and hard boiled eggs. The blueberry muffins did look good but I did not try one. Overall, it was ok to stay for the nite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pssshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.7 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
1.5 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.2 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Address: 400 Sargent Drive, New Haven, CT 06511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Haven
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven Hotel New Haven
La Quinta New Haven
New Haven La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing