We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean beautiful but bring your wallet”
Review of Ocean Beach Park

Ocean Beach Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in New London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New England's finest beach and boardwalk attractions including mini golf course, rides, water slides, kiddy spray park, olympic pool, arcade, gift shop, food concessions, cafe with restaurant, banquet and catering facilities, picnic area, health club, nature walk
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
West Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ocean beautiful but bring your wallet”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We wemt on the weekend an it was very crowded . Loud music that was inappropriate . Parking costly. Extras costly. But ocean beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cindyriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    91
    39
    18
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced extras”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have been here a few times since it is one of the closest beaches. Beach isn't that big, but there is a lot of extras here. (for a price)
waterslides: $3 for 1 ride, $10 for a 3 hr pass or $18 for all day
spray park: free (under 8 yrs)
playground-free
picnic area-free
rides (old rides)- price depends on how many tokens you purchase (only two were operating the last day we went-a Monday)
parking weekday-$18 (online prices are incorrect)

I guess there is certain wristband night. Went here on a Sunday night on the way home from Mystic and they were still charging $25 to park at quarter to 6. Let's just say weren't the only car who turned around. The arcade is your best bet if you want a more reasonable break from the beach. Bring your own food. Haven't tried the mini golf or pool. Small marsh area is fun to explore. Definitely overpriced, also could use additional facilities. They have made improvements in they last couple yrs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank D79taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is our third time coming to the beach. We are always happy here. It was under $20 to park on a weekday. We didn't use any facilities there, just the beach, but that's what we came for. For a long time, we were the only ones in our area on the beach, with no one really near us. Quiet, peaceful. If you need a snack, there's a cafe (cash/credit) and an ice cream window (cash only.) Take your kids here, they'll love it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank SugarMuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

good if you like swimming with the jelly fish. and good if you like a rocky bottom. water splash park was great for the kids

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ginab059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Park rundown and overpriced”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The beach itself was very clean, trash bins well maintained its a short walk from the boardwalk to the ocean which was nice...once getting into water it was very rough lots of pebbles rocks and other things to hurt my poor feet and literally no seashells! Price of parking was absolutely ridiculous as the park is run down for the money they charge to get in 6 bucks per person they should reinvest the money into the park which needs a lot of tlc. The rides they offered looked battered I wouldn't let my kids ride if I had any. Playground was partly boarded up and unsafe for kids in my opinion. makes one wonder where all the money is going clearly not into restoration. Police and life guards on scene..a lot of the staff were young and uninformed about general questions. Parking was sheer hell the parking lot offered was 22 bucks but thankfully filled by chance we ran into a little old lady renting space in her lot for 10 bucks (Yeah!) Basically its a hole in the wall tucked in a tiny corner of overcrowded hell....i wont be visiting again.

Helpful?
5 Thank Reeses P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing