We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, friendly and welcoming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Northern Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The title of my review says it all this is very good place for northern Indian food which is quite sophisticated compared to the food of southern India. The staff is competent and friendly. Casual atmosphere

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hank7503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant for Initial Try at Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

When friends asked us if we were interested in an Indian Restaurant, we really did not know as we had had very little experience with Indian food and were somewhat concerned about Indian spices. But on their recommendation we went along and had a very enjoyable meal at Northern Indian. When we ordered a variety of dishes we specified "mild on the spices"; the food was very well prepared and flavorful even with the "easy on the spices" request. The restaurant is on State Street in a mini restaurant row and although not opulent, it is clean and comfortable. Service was very good. We would highly recommend it both to those new to Indian food and those who know that they like this cuisine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SJayinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrs, CT
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good Indian Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stopped by for the weekday lunch buffet and enjoyed our lunch. The chef is Tibetan and the buffet lunch has many meat dishes but few vegetarian dishes. Beautifully decorated with Tibetan decor. Very clean friendly restaurant. I enjoyed the egg fried rice and shahi Dahl makhani. Definitely worth a visit. Just up the street from the New London Amtrak station and there is 2 hour free parking on the street. The restaurant is quite popular for buffet weekday lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JasStorrs_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Truly Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

If you like Indian cuisine this is a really great option. Everything I've tried- vindaloo, pakoras, okra was well made and well seasoned. I like it spicy and the preparation just has the right amount of heat without being overwhelming. The staff is pleasant and helpful, although I've only gotten take-out at lunch time. Someday I will eat-in and try their buffet which looks appealing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erinontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haddam, CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My Dad and I meet for dinner every so often and we always return to Northern Indian, as we are (sadly) the only people in our respective families who genuinely enjoy it.

The food is always so consistently fresh, the spices so well utilized, the flavors so layered and balanced... this place is a gem and the food is deserving of the praise it receives. The lamb vindaloo is outstanding, as is the lamb masala. WOW. Just perfection. The staff is also very friendly.

Tho I will mention a few things that you might want to take into account:
- the ambiance isn't all that great. So if you're looking for some festive, lavishly decorated dining area (which I've found many Indian restaurants tend to have) this isn't one of them.

-they don't have a full bar. Just beer and wine. But the beer selection incorporates local brews and traditional Indian lagers. And the wine is good enough. At least the pino grigio was.

-If you're gluten-free or have dietary restrictions, be careful. While the waitstaff is SUPER sweet and accommodating, there's a bit of a language barrier. I say this because I am gluten intolerant and things got a bit confusing. So do your homework and ask questions, as dishes like the shrimp puri, though they don't specifically suggest they contain wheat ingredients, are served in this pouffed-up bread bowl of sorts. Fyi.

But if you enjoy exotic food, or simply want to try something new and different, this is the place for you. It's wonderful to have such a resource in an area that's flooded with "Italian" food restaurants and bloated "American fare." I cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmommaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northern Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing