We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New London
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was in New London to visit my brother who is in the Navy. I booked Clarion for 2 nights through Priceline for $60/night. Since I was only here for 2 nights I didn't want to spend $100+/night so I took a chance and I was pleasantly surprised!

The room was lovely. Nice decor, comfortable bed (I had the king room), and quiet. I didn't take advantage of the pool or breakfast, although I did see a sign that said the hot tub was closed.

The only thing that I can complain about is the 2nd hook that is on the bathroom door. They have a high hook and a hook about halfway down and that thing is evil! My brother ran into it when he was in my room and then right before I left, I did the same. I walked out of the bathroom and it got ahold of my arm and didn't let go. Seriously my arm still hurts!!! I would suggest removing that hook because I'm assuming my brother and I aren't the first people that it's happened to!

All in all I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended this to another family member who is coming to visit. It was super close (about 8 minutes) to the Navy base.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kacykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

You get what you pay for at a place like Clarion in New London. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. That is about the only nice thing i can say after dropping my hard earned cash at this place. The rooms were average and clean. The cable television didnt work! We got 1 channel. This was a problem since we have 3 boys who needed to wind down from a long day of traveling. The swimming pool is in another building not connected to the hotel and you have to leave and walk across the street to gain access. The breakfast was average. Again, the staff was great and helped us as best they could. We were offered a new room and discount. Given the chance to do over, we would have stayed at Best Western in Mohegan which was not far away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

i got a great deal on priceline for august 28. i stayed one night. the room was clean and the bathroom had nice hot water where i took a relaxing bath. The hotel staff was very warm and friendly. the only negative thing i could say is that the bed mattress could use some updating. I have slept on worse mattresses and on better. elsewise i was very pleased with my stay and i would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: i prefer the ground floor-easier to get my traveling bag in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suesipolansky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed overnight on an end-of-weekend casino jaunt. Although motel is plainly adjacent to exit 83
of I-95, it is difficult to locate on Frontage Road, to immediate north of highway (front entrance), and virtually impossible to find at Bayonet street (back entrance) address. Motel's back is tucked behind a Red Carpet Inn. If you didn't know it was there, you'd not find it. Signs at front and rear would help greatly. Management is said to be aware of this suggestion. The motel is hardly of recent vintage, but its lobby and rooms have been up-dated by significant expenditure. Everything within the room worked well. Carpeting, furniture, and mattresses are new. Some areas of the structure, especially adjacent to the "sky bridge" walkway, are in immediate need of drywall repair and paint. Pool could use a working heat system.There is a not-quite "hanging" Gardens of Babylon motif adjacent to the breakfast dining area. At one time, water flowed through it. No more.
Overall, the motel is comfortable, quiet, and scrupulously clean. It employs friendly, helpful and well-adjusted staff. It is worth the rate.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear of building avoid I-95's noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Although we only spent one night at this property I had to give my compliments to the staff and management. Lobby was clean and spacious and the front desk staff were friendly and most helpful. Upon arrival we were greeted by the manger. We had a family member that wasn't able to come and it was past cancelation. Without hesitation the manger understood and took care of the second reservation for us. Rooms were clean and updated, minus the tube tv's. Breakfast was nothing crazy, just basic stuff but good.

Easily located off the highway and about 15-20 easy minutes to Mohegan Sun.

Keep up the good work, we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacation_Junkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here on Memorial Day weekend. Of course the place was packed with no late checkouts. Only stay here if you just need a place to sleep. Breakfast was less than average. All carbs, ugghhh. The hotel is definitely worn, old and in need of an update.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My boyfriend and I are typically optimistic when it comes to things. When we decided last minute to get a hotel room for a weekend wedding we were attending, the Clarion was the only viable option. We decided to suck it up and spend the night. It was impossible to find. Behind an Outback Steakhouse with no sign? Three girls were working the front desk (only two of whom were actually working) and there was a line to check in. The room looked okay. The shower drain clogged, as did the sink and the toilet. The bed was average. The thing that tipped it all off was a carbon monoxide leak the morning of our checkout that forced the evacuation of the entire hotel. We had plans for our own anniversary that day and were forced to stay outside while a group of the staff just talked. I walked up, interrupted the conversation of the girls, handed in my keys and left without receiving an apology or anything. Worst hotel experience I've had in a while. DON'T STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hamburrlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
8.5 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
3,023 reviews
2.6 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 269 N Frontage Rd, New London, CT 06320-2642 (Formerly Holiday Inn New London)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New London
Price Range: £45 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn New London/Mystic is nestled in the heart of Mystic Country, conveniently off I-95. Take a stroll back in time and enjoy the charm of historic Mystic Seaport and Olde Mistick Village or enjoy a slice of heaven at Mystic Pizza in beautiful downtown Mystic, CT. Take your family exploring at one of the most diverse aquariums in the nation, the Mystic Aquarium & Institute for Exploration. Try your luck or take in a concert at Mohegan Sun Casino, MGM Grand Casino, or Foxwood's Resort Casino, the largest casinos in New England. If shopping excites you, the Clarion Inn New London/Mystic hotel is just a short drive from Connecticut's premium outlet malls. Both Tanger Outlets and Clinton Crossing Premium Outlets offer great deals for the bargain hunter. The hotel is also convenient to Southeastern Connecticut's corporate and government centers including Electric Boat, Millstone/Dominion, CT Naval Submarine Base, Sonalysts Studios, Hellier, Ortronics and Pfizer. The Clarion Inn New London/Mystic offers what you need to stay connected during your stay in the Mystic region with free calls within the Continental US and free high-speed Internet access. After your busy day in Southeastern Connecticut, stay on track in our hotel's fitness center then relax and unwind in our heated indoor pool. Make the Clarion Inn New London/Mystic your hotel of choice, the next time you visit the Southeastern CT area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New London Hotel New London
Holiday Inn New London
New London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing