We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the reviews led me to believe”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New London
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Due to computer issues, I wasn't able to read the reviews until the day before my trip. I was very nervous, not knowing what we would find, anticipating having to find another hotel upon arrival. Instead, I found our room was nowhere as bad as reviews led me to believe. We were in the main building in Room 116. The room was very clean and very quiet. Bed was comfortable, pillows were small but we made do. Bathroom was spotless, towels provided were clean but as other reviews mentioned not plentiful. Hotel staff were pleasant and answered all our needs. My only complaint concerns the complimentary breakfast. Breakfast consisted of bread, bagels, three types of cereal, coffee and juice. We prefer a hot breakfast so we wound up going to a local restaurant for breakfast every morning. Went to pool one day, spa is a whirlpool and the pool is not heated. Pool area was clean but few towels available For the money spent, hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momjudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have used this hotel two times when staying in Connecticut. It is an average hotel, the room was clean as well as the pool area. The staff were very friendly and quickly accommodated our request for a first floor room. The good thing is that it is close to Mohegan Sun and many restaurants, there being an Outback Steak House directly behind the property to walk to. We had no issues at all and for the price it is a good property!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dm670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for one night last weekend. First of all, I requested a room in the building with the pool. When I arrived, I was told that wasn't possible because they "never saw that"on my reservation, and secondly, they were full the night before and "only cleaned enough rooms for the reservations we have for tonight". In other words, there was only 1 room available for me, not in the building I requested and the hotel has a practice of leaving rooms dirty for days at a time! And, the pool area has no shower for people to rinse off before entering...making me wonder about how much this hotel values cleanliness.
When we arrived at the room, I was immediately disappointed.The corners of the ceiling were disgusting,there was exposed plywood as the base for the TV stand and a smell of musty air. But the really offensive part was the bathroom tub.It was BLACK! It was so gross I wouldn't even allow my kids to shower. and...I knew that requesting another room would not do me any good because the girl at the front desk had already informed me that there were only enough clean rooms for the number of guests coming! Seriously gross and disappointing. Do not stay at this hotel, and if you do...inspect the room, avoid room 106! I couldn't leave fast enough. There are MUCH better hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Check out your room first...especially the tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

There was no room in our usual hotel and had tickets to Jeff Dunham at Mohegan Sun. We stayed 2 nights here in a very clean,pleasant room . Price was great and breakfast was included to my surprise. Would go there again. Staff was very helpful with directions to the beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and went to see a show at Fox Theater. We wanted a place that was close enough to Foxwoods and Clarion Inn fit the Bill. The place was nice and neat and there is an Outback on site for a quick bite to eat. Te only thing I didn't like was the mileage was actually longer than stated on site. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panterenoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Business trip to New London, CT - excellent hotel - great convenient location - extremely clean room - close to downtown area - Great place for families as well - will make sure to stay on next visit to New London

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fields J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed there for two nights. Front desk was very courteous. Graduation weekend and the hotel was quite busy. My room was very nice and clean. The pool just reopened this weekend. Room comes with a small breakfast consisting of a breakfast sandwich, yogurt, coffee and rolls. It is worth the price...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
361 reviews
7.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Mystic Waterford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 269 N Frontage Rd, New London, CT 06320-2642 (Formerly Holiday Inn New London)
Region: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New London
Price Range: £40 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn New London/Mystic is nestled in the heart of Mystic Country, conveniently off I-95. Take a stroll back in time and enjoy the charm of historic Mystic Seaport and Olde Mistick Village or enjoy a slice of heaven at Mystic Pizza in beautiful downtown Mystic, CT. Take your family exploring at one of the most diverse aquariums in the nation, the Mystic Aquarium & Institute for Exploration. Try your luck or take in a concert at Mohegan Sun Casino, MGM Grand Casino, or Foxwood's Resort Casino, the largest casinos in New England. If shopping excites you, the Clarion Inn New London/Mystic hotel is just a short drive from Connecticut's premium outlet malls. Both Tanger Outlets and Clinton Crossing Premium Outlets offer great deals for the bargain hunter. The hotel is also convenient to Southeastern Connecticut's corporate and government centers including Electric Boat, Millstone/Dominion, CT Naval Submarine Base, Sonalysts Studios, Hellier, Ortronics and Pfizer. The Clarion Inn New London/Mystic offers what you need to stay connected during your stay in the Mystic region with free calls within the Continental US and free high-speed Internet access. After your busy day in Southeastern Connecticut, stay on track in our hotel's fitness center then relax and unwind in our heated indoor pool. Make the Clarion Inn New London/Mystic your hotel of choice, the next time you visit the Southeastern CT area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New London Hotel New London
Holiday Inn New London
New London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing