We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New London
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Needed a place to stay overnight. For $89 this place was outstanding. Clean, staff was friendly. I was really not expecting it to be this good. It has shopping locations nearby and an outback steak house right on its parking lot. Would come back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have a 3 year old son and just checked into our room only to find used dildos in a drawer in the room. Now after driving 4 hours there we are driving 4 hours back as all hotels are booked. Hotel clerk didn't assist me at all and left me stranded with my child. Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Corgchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We got a deal on this hotel via priceline. There was nothing great about this place besides it's location and free breakfast. The room and hallways were a bit funky. The breakfast was only good because of the fresh made waffles. Everything else was processed and package....down to the eggs. Our room was fairly good compared to other reviews. It's an ok place to stay if you just need a place to sleep and shower for a few hours. The front desk staff was ok,but not helpful. The breakfast staff was great....they did all they could to restock items during breakfast. I would search other options before staying here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kamekabutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a room here because everything else near the casino was crazy overpriced. I was worried but was pleasantly surprised. Friendly front desk staff, clean and comfortable room. Only negative was that it was hard to find using our GPS. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MHolmes73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed one night because our usual place was way overpriced on a Saturday night. We had a lovely room looks like it was recently redone. Clean comfortable, ten minutes from Mohegan. The bed was comfy the bathroom very clean. T V a little dated but not a big deal. Front desk very helpful. Overall great value when all others in the area charge 3x the price on Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisas61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Due to computer issues, I wasn't able to read the reviews until the day before my trip. I was very nervous, not knowing what we would find, anticipating having to find another hotel upon arrival. Instead, I found our room was nowhere as bad as reviews led me to believe. We were in the main building in Room 116. The room was very clean and very quiet. Bed was comfortable, pillows were small but we made do. Bathroom was spotless, towels provided were clean but as other reviews mentioned not plentiful. Hotel staff were pleasant and answered all our needs. My only complaint concerns the complimentary breakfast. Breakfast consisted of bread, bagels, three types of cereal, coffee and juice. We prefer a hot breakfast so we wound up going to a local restaurant for breakfast every morning. Went to pool one day, spa is a whirlpool and the pool is not heated. Pool area was clean but few towels available For the money spent, hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momjudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have used this hotel two times when staying in Connecticut. It is an average hotel, the room was clean as well as the pool area. The staff were very friendly and quickly accommodated our request for a first floor room. The good thing is that it is close to Mohegan Sun and many restaurants, there being an Outback Steak House directly behind the property to walk to. We had no issues at all and for the price it is a good property!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dm670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
355 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Mystic Waterford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 269 N Frontage Rd, New London, CT 06320-2642 (Formerly Holiday Inn New London)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New London
Price Range: £50 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn New London/Mystic is nestled in the heart of Mystic Country, conveniently off I-95. Take a stroll back in time and enjoy the charm of historic Mystic Seaport and Olde Mistick Village or enjoy a slice of heaven at Mystic Pizza in beautiful downtown Mystic, CT. Take your family exploring at one of the most diverse aquariums in the nation, the Mystic Aquarium & Institute for Exploration. Try your luck or take in a concert at Mohegan Sun Casino, MGM Grand Casino, or Foxwood's Resort Casino, the largest casinos in New England. If shopping excites you, the Clarion Inn New London/Mystic hotel is just a short drive from Connecticut's premium outlet malls. Both Tanger Outlets and Clinton Crossing Premium Outlets offer great deals for the bargain hunter. The hotel is also convenient to Southeastern Connecticut's corporate and government centers including Electric Boat, Millstone/Dominion, CT Naval Submarine Base, Sonalysts Studios, Hellier, Ortronics and Pfizer. The Clarion Inn New London/Mystic offers what you need to stay connected during your stay in the Mystic region with free calls within the Continental US and free high-speed Internet access. After your busy day in Southeastern Connecticut, stay on track in our hotel's fitness center then relax and unwind in our heated indoor pool. Make the Clarion Inn New London/Mystic your hotel of choice, the next time you visit the Southeastern CT area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New London Hotel New London
Holiday Inn New London
New London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing