We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a snack on the road!”

Dad's Restaurant of Niantic
Ranked #13 of 43 Restaurants in Niantic
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a snack on the road!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

While going to Massachussets we stopped at Dad's Restaurant on the road, beside the rails and the sea.

The food was great and the menu's choice should satisfy even the hungriest traveler,

One on the great America,s on the road food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierluci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    37
    20
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average fried seafood”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in here on our way home from Newport. We ordered the fried fish sandwich and onion rings. I didn't like the batter, it tasted like cornmeal. I really hate to give a bad review but, the clam chowder was just awful. The burgers looked good although we didn't have one so I can't speak from experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, Connecticut
Level Contributor
189 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tasty fish with an ocean view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you are looking for place to eat freshly prepared fish, in a very casual setting, with a great view of the ocean, this is for you. Order and p/u food at windows, without an overly loud speaker calling your number, your choice of tables inside or out, a typical beach snack shack type ambiance. Food is prepared quickly and was enjoyed by all. Lobster salad sandwich and scallops were delicious. Not inexpensive, but worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Medusa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“We always go here when we are in the area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Yes they have lots of fried stuff but everything is always tasty. The Hot Lobster Roll is good even though it's pricey. Crab cake sandwich is very good along with the Clam dinner. The seafood dinner is huge. Kids love coming here for chicken strips or the Mac N Cheese. I promise you won't drop any weight. Especially if you top it off with any of Dad's Ice Cream such as their Sundaes, or Banana Splits. Splurge. You won't go away hungry. You can eat in or out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is what we were looking for and why we came to the CT shore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We wanted to eat at a very informal seafood place and this fit the bill perfectly. The food was excellent and the menu was varied, at least by our standards. We at there twice in two days and were very pleased.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dad's Restaurant of Niantic also viewed

Niantic, Mystic Country
Niantic, Mystic Country
 
Niantic, Mystic Country
 
Niantic, Mystic Country
Niantic, Mystic Country
 

Been to Dad's Restaurant of Niantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing