We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Harbor Hill Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Niantic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

During a whirlwind east coast trip in March, we had the distinct pleasure to spend one night at the Inn at Harbor Hill Marina. We experienced cold, cold weather, and our late arrival limited the amount of information we received upon our arrival....that was on us, though, not the innkeeper (we arrived 2 minutes before she was off shift). We received enough information to grab a great local meal (Black Sheep), and return to a very comfortable room. While many B&B (and hotel) beds seem uncomfortable to us, largely due to how comfortable our bed at home is, the bed at this B&B was very comfortable....outstanding! The room had a great view of the marina, was so comfortably appointed, and just plain and simple, one of the warmest, coziest B&B rooms in which we have ever stayed (we have stayed in 15 or 16 B&Bs to date). The following morning, we were greeted by the innkeeper and his chef...so informative, so pleasant, and the food was terrific. Love this place and any return visit to CT will 100% include a return trip to this inn. The "Californians" salute you and your establishment!

Room Tip: We stayed one night at this inn, and 2 nights at Sarah Kendall House in Newport, RI....If I had it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueandDaveLabrie, Owner at Inn at Harbor Hill Marina, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
... And we “Nutmeggers of Connecticut” salute and thank the “Californians” for taking the time to share a part of your whirlwind experience with us! It is so exciting for us to see your review and hear all about your time here at the Inn at Harbor Hill B & B and our little seaside village. Because there are so many places for you to choose when making your plans we are thrilled that you chose to spend even one night with us! We are very proud of our staff members and also those options we can recommend for serving you from local establishments. We are always looking to provide that all around great experience and we’re glad to hear that you experienced it! If you ever find yourself on the east coast again we would be honored to host you again. Until then, safe travels until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    35
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
305
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
183 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is the 19th B&B we have stayed in since 2009 and one of the nicest. We stayed in the Chas. Morgan room in the Capt. Clark annex building on a rainy May 8, 2014. We were welcomed and given a tour of the premises and our room. It seems to be all new construction and quite comfortable. Breakfast was simple pancakes and bacon and more than enough. That is what I had, but there were other items available too.... cereals, muffins, juice, coffee, etc. The hosts were very pleasant and accommodating. All in all, it was a nice stop on our 16 day road trip through New England.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueandDaveLabrie, Owner at Inn at Harbor Hill Marina, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
19 B & B’s --- WOW! We are thrilled that you’ve taken time to share your thoughts with us regarding your stay here at the Inn at Harbor Hill Marina. The Captain Clark House is a newer addition to the inn and we tried to think of everything that we’d like in a comfy room and then put it into each room. We are honored that as you made your way through New England you chose to stay with us and found everything to your liking. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and safe travels until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pawling
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Arriving at the Inn for an early spring getaway, we were warmly greeted by all! The lovely room overlooked the water and had a very nice deck. However repeated requests for a couple of chairs for sitting on it perplexed everyone. Our 3 day retreat did not include sitting out with a book. Although it was early in the season we were their only guests our first night and feel they could accommodated this request. The breakfast cook was very nice and made us feel at home. Mini-muffins were good BUT microwave bacon?really?at a bed and BREAKFAST????!!!! Small portions did not make for a hearty breakfast. All in all we were able to imagine what a great place this could be and thank God the company was PERFECT!!!

Room Tip: would have liked to try 1st fl. eff. Stayed on 2nd fl w/ balcony~excellent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tking57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueandDaveLabrie, Owner at Inn at Harbor Hill Marina, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us in March. We are sorry that you were not able to sit out on your balcony but unfortunately winter weather dictates that we not have chairs and tables out on our balconies for the safety of you, our guest and those below. Being on the water, the winds and weather is most unpredictable during the winter months and it is usually too cold for comfortably sitting outside. For guests catching some nice and unseasonably pleasant weather during their stay we do provide some outdoor seating on our 1st floor porch and in mid-April the balcony furniture is put in place. While it may not be the same as sitting on your own balcony, we do hope that this was pointed out to you. We’re glad you enjoyed the company while staying with us and appreciate all of your comments and suggestions. As far as our breakfast goes, we are sorry that your experience was less than expected and we thank you for your input as our planning is always evolving and hopefully improving your guest experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and suggestions with us and safe travels until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This Inn was so wonderful. My fiance surprised me with a trip for my birthday and even though we only live 90 minutes away, it felt like a world away. Everyone was genuinely friendly and welcoming when we arrived (and they left me a little bday card - so cute!). Our room - #14 - is to die for. Huge tub, beautiful balcony, and a fireplace. Breakfast is simple but good (we enjoed it on our balcony). The Inn has a thoughtful info center with information about what is going on that week/weekend as well as stuff to do any time and local restaurants. This place doesn't have a lot of facny pants frills, but for me, that is exactly what I want in a weekend where I just want to relax, unwind, and enjoy time together as a couple.

Not a ton in the immediate area (other than a nice boardwalk right on the beach!) but if you aren't looking for a gourmet meal, there are places you can walk to in town. If you are looking for a gourmet meal, I recommend Bravo Bravo in Mystic.

Room Tip: We were in Room 14. Part of the reason my fiance chose the Inn was because of how much I love the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDS02536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueandDaveLabrie, Owner at Inn at Harbor Hill Marina, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
What a thoughtful fiancé! A surprise getaway and time together – what a perfect birthday! We are so pleased that we all contributed to your birthday with our surroundings, special birthday thoughts and amenities. Room #14 the Barque Eagle, in the newer Captain Clark House, was planned for comfort so we’re very happy that you took some time to really enjoy that. We’re glad you found Bravo Bravo – we do agree with your recommendation! Thank you again and safe travels until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This review is a bit late, seeing as how my spouse and I stayed for one night on a chilly weekend in March. But our memories from our brief stay are still warm.

If I were allowed only one word to describe this inn, it would be "friendly." Oh sure, it's also cozy and beautiful, is set in a nice location, and serves a delicious breakfast, but what I will always remember most is the friendly staff, especially Kim, who greeted us warmly, showed us around, and later chatted with us while we had a late-afternoon snack of freshly baked cookies and a glass of wine in the sun-splashed common room. This inn is not stuffy or pretentious, but rather comfortable and fun, as evidenced by such playful decorations as a humorous "Rules of the Inn" sign.

We stayed in Room 5, the Saybrook Breakwater, which due to a corner window afforded a beautiful view of the harbor and Niantic River. I could only imagine sitting in that room watching a thunderstorm roll up the coast, since during our stay it was cold, but sunny. Still, this is the kind of place that stirs the imagination.

The inn is very conveniently located. The shops and restaurants of Niantic are within easy walking distance of the inn, as is the Niantic Boardwalk, which although only half open because of storm damage nevertheless provides a pleasant stroll along the shores of Long Island Sound.

The inn was perfect for a quick weekend getaway, and we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueandDaveLabrie, Owner at Inn at Harbor Hill Marina, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
WOW – thank you so very much for taking the time to honor us with this review. We try to make every guest experience a positive one and we’re happy to think that our staff and surroundings gave that to you. Room # 5 the Saybrook Breakwater guestroom, is actually a guest favorite for the views you so beautifully described. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and safe travels until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Really loved our two night stay at this B&B. One of the nicest we've ever stayed at. Friendly staff and owners. Excellent breakfast. Comfy room. Great chill spot by the Niantic River with Adirondack chairs.CLEAN! Could have used blackout shades.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsivjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueandDaveLabrie, Owner at Inn at Harbor Hill Marina, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! We love what we do and love to share this amazing spot here on the water. Point taken regarding the blackout shades -- we do find that on a sunny morning it is brighter than bright with the sun reflecting off of the water – LOL. We do appreciate your bringing this to our attention because we are always looking at ways to make your stay as comfortable as we can and take your suggestion under advisement to further look at our options. Thank you again and safe travels until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This served our purpose perfectly. It was close to Mohegan Sun and relatively inexpensive. The room was clean and the staff was great. Very nice grounds and great view of the water. The food was delicious and Lonna made a delicious french toast in the morning. Great coffee and they brought the food out to us in comfy adirondack chairs overlooking the water. Great local bars and food close by. Worth checking out. Thanks Inn at Harbor Hill Marina.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daware220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueandDaveLabrie, Owner at Inn at Harbor Hill Marina, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We do like to hear that guests have checked out the area as you did with a trip to Mohegan Sun and some of our local restaurants and pubs. We are happy to know that you loved the atmosphere and all that the Inn has to offer. That's why we love being Innkeepers! Lonna is a treasure and we're glad you enjoyed both the French toast and the surrounding atmosphere that we're so fortunate to have to serve it in. It doesn't get much better for us than to know our guests are sharing and enjoying every minute! Thank you again and please come back soon so that we can host you again in the way we love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niantic
9.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Niantic Inn
Niantic Inn
#2 of 8 in Niantic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
22.2 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
11.9 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Harbor Hill Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Harbor Hill Marina

Property: Inn at Harbor Hill Marina
Address: 60 Grand St, Niantic, CT 06357-3237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Niantic
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Niantic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Harbor Hill Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful and fun-filled CT shoreline the Inn at Harbor Hill Marina is a classic New England seaside Bed and Breakfast. Also, a three time winner of the Connecticut Golden Pineapple Award for "Excellence in Service, Hospitality and Tourism Image." The Inn at Harbor Hill Marina boasts uncompromising hospitality and service, a beautiful waterfront location and modern day amenities all while paying homage to New England's rich coastal and boating history. Our 16 guestrooms are decorated in a charming seaside decor with king & queen beds, private bathrooms (some with large soaking tubs), some w/balconies and fireplaces, all with water views, cable tv, and A/C. Guests can walk to Niantic village where restaurants, shops, antiques, a movie theater, a mile-long boardwalk and beaches await. Complimentary use of beach passes, beach chairs & umbrellas. Transient boat slips also available. The inn is just minutes to famed Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Wineries, outlet shops, Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods Casinos, CT. College and Coast Guard Academy and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Harbor Hill Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Harbor Hill Marina Hotel Niantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing