We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Peaceful getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

We absolutely loved our stay at this B & B. The comfortable rooms, delightful front porch complete with swing, and friendly hosts made this a great place to stay. We stayed in several B and Bs throughout our week in Connecticut and this was our favorite.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    15
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
149
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Argyle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

The gourmet breakfast had me wishing for their luncheons and dinners. The food was not only well prepared, it was attractive. I enjoyed hearing the history of the house and the region. All-in-all, it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okayArgyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Valley, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Mountain View Inn to celebrate her birthday. Her favourite teen band, The Bay City Rollers was playing at The Infinity Hall that night, so we decided to make a getaway of it, even though we only 90 minutes away, In New York.

We usually stay in hotels when we are travelling so this was a welcome change, to say the least. We had actually read about the MVI on Tripadvisor and booked our room online. We arrived around 4.30pm and were met by one of the hosts, Dean. We were warmly welcomed and offered a light refreshment before we got settled. Our room was cute, very comfortable, 4 poster canopied bed and had an adjoining porch. We had told Dean that we were going to the Infinity Hall for a show and he suggested reserving a table at The Bistro there, which he kindly did for us. He also invited us for a Sherry before we left for the show, which we were not expecting but took up on his offer. We met his wife Jean Marie before we left and were again warmly welcomed.

After the show, we walked back to the MVI( a very comfortable walking distance) where Dean had left out a decanter of port for an after dinner drink. It was obviously on the honour system, so we each had a port and sat out on the veranda and enjoyed a relaxing end to our evening.

Breakfast was served at 8.30am. I had indicated when I reserved online that due to Crohn's disease, I was restricted in my diet, and Dean obliged by making sure that what I was served was okay for me. We shared breakfast with 4 others and the chat was great. Dean joined us for breakfast and we all enjoyed his company at the table.

The Mountain View Inn was the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in. It was like a home away from home. The Infinity Hall offers some great shows. It has been beautifully renovated and the food was great. It has a very intimate atmosphere. If you are planning to go, you should stay at the Mountain View. You will love it!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

My manfriend (he's a little old to be called a boyfriend these days!) and I have stayed at the MV Inn twice, and I can honestly say this is the perfect weekend getaway to just...breathe.

First, the surroundings - Norfolk, CT is such a beautiful and quiet place. If you're looking a ton of nightlife, strip of bars, etc, this is not the town for you (forgive me if you are laughing at me at this point, but I generally run with a 30-something NYC crowd that takes full advantage of NY's 4am bar close time). However, if you want to enjoy some peace/nature/local points of interest, you should definitely come visit. Infinity Hall and Bistro serves some wonderful food (locally grown/raised whenever possible) and has some pretty good music shows come through. There are also some lovely "small town" things to visit in the area (local history museum, farmer's market, etc) while taking an after-breakfast morning walk (not to mention the Yale fellows summer music program - we stopped in for the 10:30am student show and heard some beautiful performances). I've heard that there are some great hikes in the area, which we will probably cover on our next trip up.

Then let's discuss the B&B itself. The house is amazing - like you are stepping back in time, but not in the "charming" way (such as the way a realtor may describe an old apartment in dire need of updating), but in a beautiful, tastefully restored, attention to detail way. Check out the wallpaper in the second floor sitting area, that is my absolute favorite. The grounds themselves are beautiful (I think I'm a sucker for covered patios and expansive green lawns), and we had no problem finding a chairs to sink into to enjoy a bottle of wine and the beautiful weather.

Now the rooms - while I do enjoy taking a peek into the other rooms when they are open, both times we have stayed in room 5. We like it best because it has a pretty view of the patio/backyard and a very comfortable king sized bed. However, all the rooms appear to be very clean and well maintained, with enough decor to make it feel cozy and from another era, but without being chintzy. There are some faux flower bouquets, which I noticed were dust free - given how difficult these can be to clean, I found this pretty indicative of the level of detail that goes into maintaining the place.

The innkeepers - Dean and Jean Marie are wonderful - I think we are a bit younger than the normal B&B crowd, but Dean and Jean Marie always make us feel at home. Actually the morning we left we didn't set an alarm and we ended up sleeping through breakfast (blaming it on the bed). They saved us breakfast and settings at the table, which was very much appreciated. The breakfast is tasty and well presented - always on beautiful china and crystal goblets (the stuff my family didn't take out unless we had "company," which usually meant someone more important than the in-laws) which makes it feel a little more special. Innkeeper #3, Miss Noelle the mini poodle, is just adorable and a guest favorite. I would like to take her home with me.

Another bonus is the vintage clothing shop that is adjacent to the living room area. Jean Marie has some very fun and interesting things in her collection, and it is certainly a highlight of my trip to peruse the shop. If you're into vintage clothing, or just beautiful things, it's definitely worth stopping in.

My apologies if you were looking for some sort of constructive criticism while reading this review, but I just can't offer any. I love coming to stay here and very much look forward to our next visit (as there will certainly be one).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborahmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We came across the Mountain View Inn by chance when we stopped in Norfolk, CT. It turned out to be one of the nicest places we have ever stayed and we will certainly make a point of returning.
The innkeepers, Dean and Jean Marie, clearly love what they do. They have restored their large Victorian home immaculately. Each room is furnished with an eclectic mix of Victoriana and it takes you some time to appreciate how much thought has gone into every detail, fixture and fitting. Whether or not Victorian is your preferred style, you can’t fail to appreciate this artistic home as an homage to the era.
We stayed in Felix’s Room, which was large, lavishly furnished and blissfully quiet. It was spotlessly clean and the four-poster bed was very comfortable.
The breakfasts, cooked and served by Dean himself, were delicious. Dean took time to give us maps of running trails in Norfolk as well as historical information on the house and locality. Above all, what marked Dean and Jean Marie out as innkeepers was their genuine warmth. They seemed to really enjoy being hosts and made you feel incredibly welcome.
Norfolk itself is a pretty little town, famous for the Infinity Ballroom, Connecticut’s oldest music hall. It is also surprisingly close to The Berkshires, and makes a good base for exploring that region. We enjoyed a day trip to Lee, Stockbridge and Great Barrington.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed in many beautiful bed and breakfasts and met many kind and gracious inkeepers on our summer roadtrip of New England, but none compared to Dean and Jean-Marie and there lovely home at Norfolk, CT. Mountain View and Norfolk was the only stop we couldn't drag ourself away from after just one day. Dean and Jean-Marie went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome, and to provide the best of everything. Our time there was made even more memorable with our visit to Infinity Bistro and Concert Hall. We were pleasantly surprised to find such a chic establishment with excellent food and well known musicians in this small and charming town. During the day, we hiked Haystack Mountain and visited the local library and Tobey Pond. The library and pond are one of a kind and make you feel as if you have been set in the pages of a story book.

Do yourself a favor, and make your way to Mountain View Inn and Norfolk CT. Be sure to pack an extra set of clothes, You may end up staying longer than you planned.

Debra Wanless
Sacramento, CA

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debwanless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Bays, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

The owners and 'stewards' of this victorian inn are serious about keeping this victorian true to herself! Every eye for detail, the cleanliness, friendliness and a beautiful and delicious breakfast all lead to an atmosphere of ease and relaxed enjoyment.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcasa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
17.1 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manor House
Manor House
#3 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
13.0 mi away
Interlaken Inn
Interlaken Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Property: Mountain View Inn
Address: 67 Litchfield Road, Norfolk, CT
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Inn is an elegantly-restored Victorian Country house located in the center of your Litchfield Hills and Berkshires activities. Enjoy your perfect getaway by taking a short walk to the newly-restored Infinity Hall of Music and Infinity Bistro for fine dining and a popular music concert. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing