We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn”
Review of Mountain View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful inn”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We had a great stay at the Mountain View Inn. Dean & Jean Marie are gracious hosts and love talking about their inn and the surroundings. Full breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgs312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    16
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
152
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We had a wonderful week in New England, and although the other inns we stayed in were definitely enjoyable.....we were unprepared for what awaited us at the Mountain View Inn in Norfolk CT. The cleanliness, style, beautiful furnishings and a feeling of luxury throughout the inn made us not want to leave. The innkeepers, Dean and Jean-Marie Johnson were so hospitable , that we felt an instant connection. On a scale of 1-10, it definitley exceeds a 10!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbrowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rockaway, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Mountain View Inn in October and had the best time ever. The inn keepers Dean and Jean Marie made us feel like we were members of their family. The room was immaculate and the bed was like sleeping in the clouds. Breakfasts in the mornings were truly an experience. Jean Marie out did herself with her first course of fresh fruit, homemade granola, and a wonderful sour cream dressing. Sausage was done to perfection and her homemade corn bread was delectable! At our last breakfast, Jean Marie made a homemade egg and cheese fritta and even asked for the recipe it was so delicious! Her son Christopher also made delicious homemade pumpkin pancakes which we also got the recipe for. There was no need for lunch after having a breakfast cooked by Christopher, Dean, and Jean Marie!! Overall, our stay at Mountain View Inn was the getaway that we had been looking for. We would definitely go back to this bed and breakfast and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeyovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Every inch of this place is covered in Victorian "fluff," so if you like that decor, this is your place. We found the host to be a bit condensending and he obviously loves to talk about himself and his accomplishments...not what guests really want to hear for the most part. That actually tarnished our visit there. The breakfast was very good and the grounds of the inn are very nice. However, we have visited many B&B's that we enjoyed much more.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MimiMom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Our stay at Mountain View Inn, combined with a couple of chamber music concerts at Music Mountain, could not have been better. The inn is visually gorgeous and decorated with so many interesting objects d'art that there is always something new to catch your eye. Our room was charming and comfortable with a beautifully maintained vintage bathroom; the buffet breakfast each morning was delicious and featured items like corn bread pudding, squash bread and asparagus quiche. Added nice touches were the dishes with Hershey kisses both in the lobby and in our room that never ran dry, along with the blueberry/pomegranite juice and cookies that appeared at the main desk each afternoon. The big porch with rockers and a swing were very inviting as was the outdoor patio. An added bonus was the chance to purchase vintage clothing, jewelry and accessories at the inn's on premises boutique. I came away with an unusual pocketbook as well as several extremely reasonably priced pairs of clip on earrings.
Finally, it is important to mention just how friendly and welcoming Dean, Jean Marie, their son were - by the end of our visit, we felt as if we had made some new friends. Based on some conversation that we had shared, Dean went out of his way to tell us about places in the vicinity that we would probably enjoy visiting, even making calls to find out when and if these venues would be open on Labor Day weekend. Northwestern Connecticut is a really well kept secret but now that we know more about it, we definitely plan to use Mountain View Inn as our base to do some more exploring in the area, along with attending more wonderful concerts at Music Mountain.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicandbooklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay. It was a beautiful house and a nice town. Dean and Jean Marie were very nice and it was a pleasure to meet them. We were in the smallest, most inexpensive room, but it was lovely.

Highlights: Courtyard with birds/ other small animals, check out state parks- Campbell Falls is beautiful!! Otherwise a romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imerlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2010

This was our first stay at the Mountain View Inn, and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience there. The attention to detail in the decor was second to none, and you could tell that the Inn is a labor of love for its owners. Our room was impeccably clean and comfortable, and while one of the smaller rooms at the Inn, still managed to feel luxurious. The lush draperies and linens added to this feeling. We truly felt transported back in time!
The innkeepers are gracious and easy to talk with, something that isn't always the case at a B & B. Dean and Jean Marie made us feel right at home from the start and were well-informed about the area, so that all of our questions were answered with ease.
The only drawback that we had, as compared with other B & B's that we've stayed in, is that the breakfast was buffet style, instead of sit-down, which we prefer. However, the food was absolutely delicious and there was something for everyone. I felt that the buffet style was actually more laid back than the sit-down style of other B & B's, so perhaps I'll begin to prefer it!
Our favorite aspect of this Inn is that there are lots of areas to sit and relax, inside and out, so that there is always a private place to retreat. We will definitely be back as soon as possible and can't wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mset31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
80 reviews
17.1 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
2.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#3 of 4 in Norfolk
95 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
#1 of 1 in Colebrook
63 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Property: Mountain View Inn
Address: 67 Litchfield Road, Norfolk, CT
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Inn is an elegantly-restored Victorian Country house located in the center of your Litchfield Hills and Berkshires activities. Enjoy your perfect getaway by taking a short walk to the newly-restored Infinity Hall of Music and Infinity Bistro for fine dining and a popular music concert. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing