We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Country Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blackberry River Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful Country Inn”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely country inn in the beautiful Connecticut Berkshires. We have stayed at several over the years when visiting family and have found this one to be among the most charming and well maintained. The rooms in the main house are well appointed and clean. Our room had a charming claw-foot tub/shower which might, however, be a challenge for the unsure of foot. Breakfasts are generous and the dining room is lovely. Prices are quite reasonable compared with some of the tonier places in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    44
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
76
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We spent two nights at the Inn on a recent road trip to New England and enjoyed our stay very much. Our King suite, room #2, was very large and quite clean. We heard no noise from other guests, but the Inn is close to the highway and passing cars were quite audible. Breakfasts were excellent. The room was a bit chilly, which didn't bother us but might have been troublesome for others. We didn't mention this to the staff, but I daresay they would have dealt with the issue had we done so.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed there over the Columbus Day weekend and I am exhausted from not having slept all night. We had originally booked a room in their "Carriage House" because our experiences in B&B's is that in the main house it can be noisy. When we arrived they told us they had upgraded us into the Main House and showed us to our room. The room was lovely; working fireplace in the room, antiques, large bathroom and very clean. We put our luggage in the room and went out to explore the area. We returned around 11pm that evening and turned on the tv. The television was not working. After several visits from various staff members who could not fix the television, I opted for a magazine. About an hour later, I turned off the light and tried to fall asleep but could not because the people in the next room were talking quietly and I could hear everything they were saying. I could hear when they rolled over, when they flushed the toilet when they sneezed. When I finally did doze off I was woken up by the man in the next room vomiting in his bathroom and it was as if he was in the room with us because the walls and insulation between the rooms was so thin. I got about 3 hours sleep. I'm exhausted while I write this, but wanted to make sure I left a review that was accurate. While sitting at breakfast the next morning, we overheard a woman next to us telling the innkeeper about how sick her husband had been the night before. Later, when the woman had left the breakfast area, we told the innkeeper about what a terrible night's sleep I had and why. Her comment was, "oh, we just got a bunch of ear plugs...". I was stunned. I do not want to take a mini vacation, pay top dollar and have to wear earplugs to bed. The breakfast was okay. My teapot had a yellow jacket sitting in the spout so when I went to pour my tea, out climbed a bee. I'm allergic to bee's so I wasn't thrilled about that. Also, the food was marginal. The omelette was dry, the toast and pancakes cold and the tea waster was not hot. The staff and the ambiance were the best thing about the place, but I had the feeling that the people working there were "winging" it and really don't know how to run an inn.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 4 or 5. The walls are paper thin and you can hear when the person in the next r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Being European, my wife and I were very glad to finally find a hotel that has a bit of history - especially the main building with its bright breakfast room looks more like an English manor than like your average motel. I don't know how old the house actually is, but I'd imagine that it would be the perfect starting point for your antiques shopping trip into the Berkshires.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband and I just returned home from a lovely weekend where we stayed at the blackberry river inn. We arrived very late Friday night and were greeted by two very friendly women. We were hungry having missed dinner. There were no restaurants open, so they offered to give us dinner at no charge. The cook was still there and made us delicious pasta,broccoli and very nice tallapia. I've never had that experience before! Rooms were charming, clean and a huge bathroom.
Breakfast was served by a young girl from Austria who was delightful! The breakfast was made to order and the breakfast room was beautiful. All in all, I would definitely stay there again. The parlors were very warm and inviting as well. My husband and I travel frequently in the united states and abroad...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

good place for the family, the owners are very nice. we came late and they brew tea and gave us fresh cookies. breakfast was good as well. the rooms and the bathroom are clean. they als have wifi free internet in all the rooms

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evgeniy_Kharam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had needs for a group stay in north western CT and have used the Blackberry River Inn two years running. We rented their entire 'Carriage House', which worked out very well. We needed to be up and out early, so they made special arraignments for early buffet breakfast, which everyone in the group enjoyed. We intend to stay there again next year if we are back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jermasterinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
9.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
82 reviews
18.6 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
3.4 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#3 of 4 in Norfolk
98 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
151 reviews
10.3 mi away
Inn at Iron Masters
Inn at Iron Masters
#2 of 4 in Lakeville
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry River Inn

Property: Blackberry River Inn
Address: 538 Greenwoods Rd West, Norfolk, CT 06058-1242
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackberry River Inn is a converted Colonial mansion that was built in 1763 and is now a Bed & Breakfast. The Inn lies nestled in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains on 27 lush scenic acres. Restored to its original elegance, the Colonial Williamsburg buildings house 17 guest rooms and suites, many with working wood-burning fireplaces. Wi-Fi is throughout the property. The Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Breakfasts feature locally sourced and organic foods, made-to-order, and is served from 8 a.m. until 10 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Blackberry River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry River Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing