We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy girls getaway”
Review of Manor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manor House Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A cozy girls getaway”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Karl and Nancy are the lovely innkeepers/owners of the Manor House. The home is large but possesses an intimate feel. As guests you are welcome to explore the house like you would a friends home. The large living room with a beautiful fireplace and the library encourage guests to relax and enjoy.

Each morning the breakfast, homemade by Nancy, was amazing. It was especially nice to have gluten free options and local ingredients incorporated into the breakfast and snack options. Our room was located in the main house up a curving set up stairs. My friend and I each a room that connected with a shared bathroom. It was great to have a space that we could talk, rest and have a glass of wine. Also, guests should take advantage of the wonderful spa treatments that are offered. I had an amazing massage!

Karl is very knowledgable about the town of Norfolk and the surrounding area. We took a short drive to Millerton, NY where there is a cute independent bookstore, antique shops, glassblowing and a tea house. I highly recommend spending an afternoon driving the hilly backroads of Connecticut enjoying the relaxed atmosphere of the area.

I would highly recommend staying at the Manor House.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in is the only one with an option of two separate sleeping areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACappon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    22
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winsted, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This was our first stay at the Manor House and as frequent travelers, we were throughly charmed and impressed by the Inn and its' Innkeepers. Karl was a perfect host, available yet unobtrusive, allowing us to fully enjoy the beauty of the manor.
The manor is a wonderful blend of vintage charm and modern convenience. The Victorian room matched the elegance of the rest of the Manor, yet boasted a gas fireplace and Jacuzzi bath.
Breakfast offered a variety of local fare, presented beautifully and was deliciously filling.
All in all, we highly recommend the Manor House and will certianly return again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Manor House is a large, elegant mansion that has been nicely converted into a B&B. It changed hands about a year ago, and the new owners seem to be carrying on with the same level of service that the old ones did. We've stayed there three times, now, and have enjoyed our stay each time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The new owners were wonderful. They were attentive, informative, and left us alone in their beautiful home. Breakfast was first rate and the location is superb if you are going to infinity hall for a show. A beautiful 5 minute walk to the hall, so you can have dinner and a fed drinks and talk a lovely walk back to the B&B. My wife and I love this place and enjoy the ride back to long island down route 7. We highly recommend the Manor House. We would love to come back for a weekend during the autumn leaf peeping season. My wife really enjoyed her whirlpool bath too.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodhi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at the Manor House Inn for our honeymoon in Oct. 2010. It's stunning. Beautiful wood paneling throughout, reminiscent of a slightly more austere Mark Twain House, with beautiful stained glass from Louis Comfort Tiffany, a big fireplace, baby grand piano, wonderful library, a small bar area, and a lovely heated sunroom.

The innkeepers, Michael & Heidi, were lovely but very harried, doing double duty innkeeping and co-owning Wood Creek Bar & Grill, the quaint corner pub in town. They were NOT the owners of the inn, and in fact, told us at the time that they would be leaving the inn shortly to dedicate full-time to their restaurant (which they since have done).

While Michael and Heidi were there, guests definitely got a dose of that “harried” feeling. Amazingly, they left no one at the inn to greet guests, and instead left notes in the front foyer for arriving guests, with maps to our rooms. Although it was actually quite nice to pretty much have the whole house to ourselves, our wedding luncheon nearly fell through the cracks because of their busy state.

Since my wedding was small and we would only have a party of 8 for this wedding luncheon, we asked if they could provide us a luncheon meal at the inn. Michael said that it would be difficult to do, since he had to be at the Wood Creek to prepare for the lunch and dinner crowds. He suggested going to the Wood Creek for our luncheon, and since the Wood Creek itself has a lot of the same charm as the inn--beautiful stained glass and a merge of a bistro feel along with that "pub" or "bar & grill" ambiance, as the name implies--we were more than agreeable to this idea.

I told Michael that we were fine with having guests order off the menu, and my sole request for the luncheon was for food that wasn’t “pub grub”, and was assured they could accommodate, but on the day before the wedding, we learned that the lunch menu DID consist of buffalo wings and sandwich–type fare, and adding dinner entrees to this menu would not be possible because of how the kitchen line was arranged. In their harried state of having to manage both the restaurant & inn, my wedding day had fallen through the cracks. I was annoyed that he was making it sound like I never communicated my menu wishes to him, when in fact I did. We actually had to change the time of our wedding—thankfully this was possible because of how small and informal my wedding was--so that we could dine with the dinner crowd. However, Michael graciously offered to give us a complimentary cocktail hour at the Manor House Inn between the time of the wedding and time of dinner (to give some continuity to the break we were now having to make), with food and drinks that we provided but he arranged, with a fire in the sunroom and the house all to ourselves.

This unexpected cocktail hour ended up exceeding our expectations of this wedding, and we were very pleased with the end result. The food, both at the restaurant and for breakfast at the inn, were excellent.

As the innkeepers have changed since our last stay, I'm confident that the overall experience can only improve. I've read good reviews since the new innkeepers' arrival. Going on the merits of the inn itself and all the charm that it and the surrounding town offer, I would still highly recommend this place, and we'll most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Victorian room remains the most complete, with spa, fireplace, and most space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banannalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We traveled out to Norfolk for a short, 2 day rest and relaxation visit but it took longer to get there than we planned because we were deterred by all of the wonderful antique shops along the way. We had to stop several times.

When we arrived we were greeted by Karl, the new innkeeper (only 3 months). His relaxed manor and simple instructions were welcomed. He pointed out the major features of this old Tudor manor which included, to our surprise, a place to refrigerate our wine. There is a small bar off of the living room and it's stocked with a sink, microwave, coffee maker, bar glasses, ice maker and silverware. One night we ate in front on the fireplace (we were too lazy to go out for dinner so we got a pizza and salad from the local pizza place). But we had our wine to go with it.

We spent alot of time in the living room, more than in our bedroom which was quite small (The Lincoln Room). Karl kept the logs in the fireplace going and it was cozy and welcoming. At 4o'clock, out came tea and warm cookies from Nancy, Karl's wife.

As I said our room was small but not unexpected as this is an old tudor home. Still it had everything we needed, even a fireplace. We ended up not using the fireplace, as we loved the living room with the fire going. Frankly we weren't around a good part of the day because we went antiquing thru Norfolk and up to Great Barrington, which is only 20 miles at most.

Not everything was perfect as I found the bed a little to stiff for me but my husband sleep soundly. Of course there could be improvements as there are spots that need painting- somethings are getting pretty worn, but I am glad I don't have to keep up the detail on this manor. The woodwork alone is quite impressive and the tiffany stained glass is exceptional.

The full breakfast was served in the lovely dining room but we usually got up before the 8:30am-10am breakfast. One day Karl even brought out a pot of coffee while we waited.

There are also lots of wonderful things to do and see and we took advantage of the Ihfinity Hall of Music and the Bistro.

We plan to return and we could recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2010

A weekend at The Manor House is the perfect place to stay if you want the comfort of home but in beautiful surroundings. And, ooh so romantic. Fireplaces and spa tubs... This was better than staying in a luxury hotel.

Karl, the Innkeeper, made us feel right at home and was so helpful. He told us about the area and made suggestions on where to go, what to see and where to dine.

Whatever you do, don't miss breakfast... especially Nancy's Blueberry Pancakes.

Julie & John, MA

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmet2Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
82 reviews
17.7 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
2.5 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
12.4 mi away
Inn at Iron Masters
Inn at Iron Masters
#2 of 4 in Lakeville
14 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chapin Park Bed and Breakfast
Chapin Park Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in New Hartford
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Property: Manor House Inn
Address: 69 Maple Ave, Norfolk, CT 06058-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor house is an ideal accommodation in Norfolk, CT, offering one of the most romantic getaways in New England. Full of charming ambiance and convenient amenities, The Manor House is complete with beautiful garden views in every room, a delicious hot breakfast served every morning and nine unique rooms to choose from - all with their own baths. Enjoy your next New England vacation as the guests of this wonderful Connecticut bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Manor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing