We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a B and B”
Review of Manor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manor House Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
new york, ny
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Luxury in a B and B”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Spent Thanksgiving weekend here - beautiful, beautiful B and B. Large, spacious rooms with top of the line baths; delicious breakfasts every morning, roaring fires and (free) wine at night. Innkeepers Michael and Holly are friendly and helpful - they are new from April, 2013 and I think the inn has been really improved on since we last were there some years ago. Many little touches such as books, bric-a-brac, make the place very cozy. And the Tiffany windows are worth the trip alone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top get pretty warm at night. No pool or room service. Not handicap accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fdnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    22
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were made to feel very welcome. The house is charming - I do not understand the comments about the house being 'old' - in the UK we have many much older properties used as B & Bs. The hosts Holly and Michael were friendly and welcoming, the room we stayed in was spacious with a whirlpool bath and the breakfast was delicious - a family of chipmunks playing in the garden just when we were eating breakfast was even better!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sara5785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I made my reservation only a few weeks before an event at Lime Rock Park, CT. Since the price wasn't too low ($170), I expected a reasonable room that was unfortunately not very close to Lime Rock. We were met by a very friendly inkeeper who then walked us past many large charming rooms to our room, which she indicated was "charming." The picture on the web site did not indicate that the bed was only a full size, jammed under the eves, so the person on the wall side could neither sit up, nor get out without climbing over the other person or crawling in from the foot. The room was very, very small and the wall to the bath did not go to the ceiling (I said it was a bathroom from which a bedroom was carved and my wife thought it was a bedroom with a bath carved out; either way too small to support two people). The inn was very old, a little musty, but with some charm. Our room however kept me from sleeping that night. A place to sleep is, sort of the minimum one would ask, but this place didn't even deliver that. If you're stuck for a place to stay, make sure you specify a bed big enough for two (sitting up), or you might as well sleep in your car.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you the small room with the "full" bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellesleyDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hospitality and welcome from the innkeeper cannot be faulted. The breakfasts were very good and the house was clean.However, the property does require some updating. Some of the furniture is incredibly shabby and whilst I know the property was a period property you can get decent quality period furniture. I almost needed step ladders to get into the bed, the bathroom was large with a huge bath, but to use the over shower bath you had to straddle the side of the bath, it was bout nine inches wide. Some of the electrics were a little bit erratic, the lights in the bathroom kept going off. The area itself is very nice and the house is very convenient for The Infinity Theatre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlisleIrvings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We chose this inn as we often follow the recommendations of "1,000 Place to See Before You Die" whenever possible. We stayed two nights in Le Chambre...the only room available for the weekend.
In reserving this room I was aware that it would be on the small side, but I was disappointed by the set up of the bath room. The mirror was on the opposite side of the sink and electrical outlets making it impossible for my husband to shave and awkward for me to dry my hair with a blow dryer. The main radiator in the bedroom did not work, only the small one in the bathroom. Luckily the weather was warm for this time of year.
Breakfast was a mixed review: the pancakes were outstanding yet the omelets were spongy (egg substitute??) . The toast was soggy as it came pre buttered and without jam.
I felt the price was high for this room. All things considered I would recommend this inn for it's charm and location in this charming town in Litchfield Hills. But do not stay in this room.....for a few dollars more the other rooms are by far superior.

Room Tip: Do not reserve Le Chambre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I took my partner here for a birthday present over the weekend to catch a show at the Infinity Music Hall. The place was absolutely stunning and very well maintained! We stayed in the Morgan room which was nice with a balcony and huge whirlpool tub. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the bed was not very good. It was very soft (too soft) and when the two of us slept in it the middle sank in causing us to both slide into the middle of the bed making it difficult to sleep (because we were practically on top of each other, not a way we sleep well). It was also on the pricey side for 1 night but we definitely got a very nice stay for the price. Holly was super accommodating and very friendly. I would absolutely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicoleb610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We recently stayed at this Bed and Breakfast while seeing a show at the nearby Infinity Hall. The Innkeepers, Holly and Michael, were so informative and friendly. The architecture in the home was beautiful, with stained glass windows and exquisitely carved woodwork. The room was nicely decorated and clean, with the bed one of the most comfortable we've slept on. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. Thank you again, Michael and Holly, and we wish you continued success!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauimama0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
82 reviews
17.7 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
2.5 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
12.4 mi away
Inn at Iron Masters
Inn at Iron Masters
#2 of 4 in Lakeville
14 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Amselhaus
The Amselhaus
#1 of 1 in Cornwall Bridge
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Property: Manor House Inn
Address: 69 Maple Ave, Norfolk, CT 06058-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor house is an ideal accommodation in Norfolk, CT, offering one of the most romantic getaways in New England. Full of charming ambiance and convenient amenities, The Manor House is complete with beautiful garden views in every room, a delicious hot breakfast served every morning and nine unique rooms to choose from - all with their own baths. Enjoy your next New England vacation as the guests of this wonderful Connecticut bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Manor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing