We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best weekend”
Review of Manor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manor House Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I found the Manor House online for a weekend getaway from the city with my wife and another couple. The pictures of the Manor House looked great so we chose to spend our weekend there. We were pleasantly surprised by the gorgeous Victorian house as we pulled into the drive-way. We loved the decor and mahogany inside as well. I didn't expect the rooms to be as big as they were. We booked 2 adjacent rooms and both had their own unique character. It was a refreshing change from staying at monotonous hotels. The rooms were clean and well kept. Breakfast was delicisious and our innkeeper was very helpful in helping us plan our activities. We're glad we found this hidden gem.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2009

Not quite sure why the Manor House is getting poor reviews. My wife and I spent a weekend there recently (Oct, 09) and had a wonderful time. The house is not as traditionally Victorian as many other B&B's we have been to, but is well appointed and roomy. The innkeepers gave us our privacy, but were quick to help us start a fire and to give us suggestions for dinner. Breakfast consisted of eggs cooked to order, choice of bread, breakfast meat and a special dish (french toast, pancakes) and was plentiful. We stayed in the Victorian room, which included a King size bed, gas fireplace, whirlpool tub, skylight and a sitting area overlooking the grounds and couldn't have been more pleased.

Note: The rooms in the house do not have TV's, although there is one in the bar adjoining the common area sitting room. We actually enjoyed not having the distraction.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuilfordWFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

A beautiful old home but no TLC.....no upkeep.....we found the following as a sad representation of this B&B:
*dried dead flower arrangements by guest sign in book-surprisingly this remained here the entire 2 days we were there.
*spider webs in our room and in the common areas
*a bat flew in our room-and the lady that was there in place of the innkeeper could not help us
*innkeeper gone too much and left the inn wide open all night-never could find him and he did not return our calls or respond to our written messages.
*dismal display of snack foods in wet bar area-no cold drinks and the weather was hot
*too small portions at breakfast & salt shakers were sealed shut from excess moisture,
It was a pitiful place to stay; I cant believe it passed the Select registry- I will not
trust the Select Registry again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank executivelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Manor House for our anniversary. We specifically chose this place due to it's proximity to Infinity Hall which hosts music venues in the town. Our first impression was that the place was nice with old world charm, nice grounds etc. When we checked in we were met by Michael the inn keeper who was in the process of cleaning rooms. Our room was ready but the first red flag was this place doesn't have much staff if the inn keeper is cleaning rooms at check in time.
He was pleasant and informative and that's all we expected. When we got to our room which was on the third floor we soon realized the following. In case of fire, our second means of egress was a chain ladder that would have to be placed in a window which you would climb out. This device was stored in a closet. This is another red flag.
The bathrooms are updated and spacious but the beds are only queen size with exception of a few rooms. The room was clean but the hallway leading to it was in disrepair with many cracks in the plaster. Allow me to remind everyone that this place is in the Select Registry of Distinguished Inns of North America. Based on our stay, this is a misrepresentation.
In the morning my wife and I arrived downstairs at 8:30am downstairs for the full country breakfast. We were the first to arrive and were greeted by a pot of warm not hot coffee and a pitcher of O.J. No Staff were present. I heard some conversation in the kitchen but no one came out for about 10 minutes. When someone did come out they took another guest's order and didn't even realize we were slightly around the corner in the dining area. They offered eggs, french toast, english muffins or toast. This is NOT what they offer on their website. Red flag #3. My wife and I looked at each other we got up and left. We ending up getting some hot coffee and a bagel at the Station Cafe in town.
Needless to say the Manor House did not live up to it's rating. Remember that staying at any B&B is risky simply due to the age of the building which is usually about 100 years old. These places require constant maintenance and upkeep which is expensive. These things and staffing are the first to go in a bad economy. One other note is that the innkeepeer is Not the Owner which certainly limits their committment at all levels.
Always due research, try to visit before you stay and never believe everything you read about the place you are interested in if the owner's are writing it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank codebluev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Just spent four nights at The Manor House as part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebration. The house is beautiful and well kept. There is significant difference between the room options - some are more ornate, some more cozy, some with adjoining sitting rooms, some with jacuzzis, pick the option that suits your style. The owners are extremely friendly and personable and really work to make the guests feel at home. The area is lovely - we only regretted that we were there too soon for the peak foliage colors -and there are numerous things to do in the area. The tone of the place is not at all formal - it felt more like we were guests in the (rather magnificent) home of friends. I certainly recommend The Manor House for a casual, romantic getaway.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank RWBBKLYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

We stayed at this B&B the very begining of June 2008
The NW corner of CT is very beatuful and quiet... just what we needed coming from Boston. Norfolk is a very small town, very quiet.. You do need to drive to go to restaurants and nearby attractions in both CT and MA but the roads are fine, and for the most part empty. The inn itself is gorgeous. There are no TVs or internet in the rooms...just as well to leave the modern world behind and just relax. There is a tv in the bar downstairs.

Breakfasts were fantastic. Micheal, the innkeeper is very personable and a good cook! The manor was spottless, very quiet, safe and comfortable. The grounds were pretty. We met guests from Los Angeles and from Scotland. We were upgraded to the English room and enjoyed its whirlpool tub and ceiling fans. We took a horse drawn carriage from this location all around the village and town of Norfolk. We tried Pastorelle and Marios..both on their recommended restaurant list and were quite pleased. Note.. the Speckled Hen is not open on Mondays..this is nearby and looked good.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and really liked this place. Also ...the price cant be beat.. We will recommend to our friends and families in the Tri-State.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DB08Boston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

What a find! The large common room couldn't be more inviting. I especially enjoyed the use of the wood burning fire place - a perfect place for a glass of wine at the end of the day.

The rooms are clean, bright, and well decorated. Many of the rooms have fireplaces (wood burning and gas), and some of them have deep soaking tubs.

Our room was beautiful and clean with a wood burning fireplace. The bed was soft, and the room was furnished with beautiful period furniture. The bathroom was a little small with only a shower, but was nice nonetheless.

The breakfasts were awesome. Michael, the bed and breakfast owner, would give you the morning menu. Saturday was blueberry pancakes, bacon, and eggs. Sunday was french toast, sausage, and eggs. All was served on mismatched vintage china. Michael was great and astounded at our capacity to drink coffee.

The two best parts of this place were the common room and WiFi access throughout the place. The large common room has a huge fireplace, antique bookshelves and books, and attached wet bar.

Be warned - if you stay in the Chalet Suite and intend to sleep in both rooms, be prepared to be charged extra per person in the attached suite which can add up to $70 / night to the price of the room.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank brooklyn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
23.9 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
270 reviews
11.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
90 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Litchfield Inn, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#1 of 3 in Norfolk
157 reviews
5.9 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
20.9 mi away
Hilltop House  Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Address: 69 Maple Ave, Norfolk, CT 06058-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range: £135 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an elegant retreat at an elegant Tudor mansion in charming Litchfield County, CT. Your journey to relaxation will begin from the time you enter the foyer with its grand cherry staircase. The lovely four season sun porch overlooks the gardens and beckons you to sit down with a glass of wine in the evening or a cup of coffee or tea before breakfast. Our luxurious inn features 9 premium rooms and suites, all with private baths. Each of our suites is unique and offers amenities including large sitting areas, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, and private balconies. Situated on 5 acres on a quiet street, yet just a brief walk to town, with 2 full service restaurants and Infinity Hall, an award-winning intimate music venue. There's so much to explore, including miles and miles of wooded trails for hiking, biking and snowshoeing and lakes and rivers for kayaking, fishing and paddle boarding. Guests also enjoy nearby live music and theater performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing