We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip- relaxing, warm, and comfortable”
Review of Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manor House
Ranked #3 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip- relaxing, warm, and comfortable”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We traveled out to Norfolk for a short, 2 day rest and relaxation visit but it took longer to get there than we planned because we were deterred by all of the wonderful antique shops along the way. We had to stop several times.

When we arrived we were greeted by Karl, the new innkeeper (only 3 months). His relaxed manor and simple instructions were welcomed. He pointed out the major features of this old Tudor manor which included, to our surprise, a place to refrigerate our wine. There is a small bar off of the living room and it's stocked with a sink, microwave, coffee maker, bar glasses, ice maker and silverware. One night we ate in front on the fireplace (we were too lazy to go out for dinner so we got a pizza and salad from the local pizza place). But we had our wine to go with it.

We spent alot of time in the living room, more than in our bedroom which was quite small (The Lincoln Room). Karl kept the logs in the fireplace going and it was cozy and welcoming. At 4o'clock, out came tea and warm cookies from Nancy, Karl's wife.

As I said our room was small but not unexpected as this is an old tudor home. Still it had everything we needed, even a fireplace. We ended up not using the fireplace, as we loved the living room with the fire going. Frankly we weren't around a good part of the day because we went antiquing thru Norfolk and up to Great Barrington, which is only 20 miles at most.

Not everything was perfect as I found the bed a little to stiff for me but my husband sleep soundly. Of course there could be improvements as there are spots that need painting- somethings are getting pretty worn, but I am glad I don't have to keep up the detail on this manor. The woodwork alone is quite impressive and the tiffany stained glass is exceptional.

The full breakfast was served in the lovely dining room but we usually got up before the 8:30am-10am breakfast. One day Karl even brought out a pot of coffee while we waited.

There are also lots of wonderful things to do and see and we took advantage of the Ihfinity Hall of Music and the Bistro.

We plan to return and we could recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    20
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
64
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2010

A weekend at The Manor House is the perfect place to stay if you want the comfort of home but in beautiful surroundings. And, ooh so romantic. Fireplaces and spa tubs... This was better than staying in a luxury hotel.

Karl, the Innkeeper, made us feel right at home and was so helpful. He told us about the area and made suggestions on where to go, what to see and where to dine.

Whatever you do, don't miss breakfast... especially Nancy's Blueberry Pancakes.

Julie & John, MA

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmet2Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlefield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We just want to say to Karl Vess and Nancy Townshend-Vess (Who are the new owners of the Manor Inn) that are time with them was quite enjoyable and that we felt we were home with them and not just at a hotel.
We had the opportunity to visit most of the rooms in the Inn and found them to be warm and inviting.
The inn was spotless throughout and full of interesting features.
The food was served hot and always with the question can we get you anything else.
My wife and I attended a concert at the Infinity Hall and Karl was able to give us a few tips on where to park close and avoid the crowds.

The Inn was a perfect match to a night out at Infinity Hall. We most certainly be returning and hopefully with friends and family.
Thank you Nancy and Karl

Kenneth and Maureen Hamilton
Middlefield, CT.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khamilton59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Manor House. The place was well kept up and the inn keeper was very helpful. We stayed in the Cottage Room because that was the only room within our budget. The room was cute and had a lot of character. We loved it but it is tiny! If you're a single traveler or a laid-back couple with a budget the room will be fine. For others I would recommend one of the other, more spacious, rooms instead.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed at this inn for two nights and used it as a home base for travel to the Tanglewood Music theater and Norman Rockwell museum in the Berkshires. Much cheaper than a hotel in Lenox, MA, and the drive was just about 40 minutes. Norfolk is an interesting destination in itself, with two music theaters of its own.
The inn-keeper Michael was very personable and made us feel very much at home. We were greeted as we arrived and given a little tour of the grounds. Guests have access to a pass for the local beach, which we didn't use but would have if we had more time. The inn itself is absolutely beautiful....we felt like we were back in the 19th century! Breakfast was okay, not gourmet but certainly satisfying and served with charm. We will certainly go back the next time we travel that way, as it felt like a home away from home!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathysong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I found the Manor House online for a weekend getaway from the city with my wife and another couple. The pictures of the Manor House looked great so we chose to spend our weekend there. We were pleasantly surprised by the gorgeous Victorian house as we pulled into the drive-way. We loved the decor and mahogany inside as well. I didn't expect the rooms to be as big as they were. We booked 2 adjacent rooms and both had their own unique character. It was a refreshing change from staying at monotonous hotels. The rooms were clean and well kept. Breakfast was delicisious and our innkeeper was very helpful in helping us plan our activities. We're glad we found this hidden gem.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Not quite sure why the Manor House is getting poor reviews. My wife and I spent a weekend there recently (Oct, 09) and had a wonderful time. The house is not as traditionally Victorian as many other B&B's we have been to, but is well appointed and roomy. The innkeepers gave us our privacy, but were quick to help us start a fire and to give us suggestions for dinner. Breakfast consisted of eggs cooked to order, choice of bread, breakfast meat and a special dish (french toast, pancakes) and was plentiful. We stayed in the Victorian room, which included a King size bed, gas fireplace, whirlpool tub, skylight and a sitting area overlooking the grounds and couldn't have been more pleased.

Note: The rooms in the house do not have TV's, although there is one in the bar adjoining the common area sitting room. We actually enjoyed not having the distraction.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuilfordWFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
17.7 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
#1 of 1 in Colebrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Amselhaus
The Amselhaus
#1 of 1 in Cornwall Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House

Property: Manor House
Address: 69 Maple Ave, Norfolk, CT 06058-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor house is an ideal accommodation in Norfolk, CT, offering one of the most romantic getaways in New England. Full of charming ambiance and convenient amenities, The Manor House is complete with beautiful garden views in every room, a delicious hot breakfast served every morning and nine unique rooms to choose from - all with their own baths. Enjoy your next New England vacation as the guests of this wonderful Connecticut bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing