We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Style Hotel/Pub/Restaurant”
Review of The Foley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Foley
Ranked #1 of 1 Claygate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Chose this hotel for the weekend because of it's proximity to Sandown Racecourse, however iwould happily come again even without a trip to the races. The interior design of each room is excellent and little touches, such as a low level night light in the bathroom,and fresh milk in the fridge for in-room tea and coffee, all add up to a very pleasant environment. The staff are also extremely pleasant and helpful and the inclusive breakfast was freshly made to order and delicious. Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elidor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

The rooms at the Foley are clean and modern. We had a perfect stay - the staff, with special mention to Richard, were very helpful. We found the food and service at the restaurant perfectly fine (compared to some of the reviews we read) and the breakfast is excellent. Very easy access to London just a few minutes walk to the station. We highly recommend it if you need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at The Foley whilst on business at Sandown Racecourse. I stayed on a Saturday on a very reasonable rate of £102 bed and breakfast. On arrival I followed the signs to reception to check in, however there was a sign saying reception was closed and please go to the bar. This was no surprise to me as I had received a very polite voicemail message earlier on that day explaining the circumstances. I walked through to the bar where a very friendly waitress gave me my key and told me all the necessary information. I was unsure of my dinner plans at this point, having read some of the negative reviews on here I wasn't sure if I wanted to dine in the pub so asked if it was necessary to book. I was told they would recommend to book however as I was just one they would fit me in if needed. I went to find my room (room 6) and was very pleasantly surprised. The room was very modern and spacious with a lovely bath and shower and large double bed. It was great to see that fresh milk was provided for tea and coffee within the room instead of those silly little UHT pots. The only thing that let the room down was the housekeeping. It wasn't dirty but it wasn't 100% clean. There were a few stray hairs in the bathroom and the bedroom carpet could have had a better hoover. This didn't put me off and I wouldn't want you to read this and be out off. I have stayed in much worse, it is just something they could improve on. The only other thing I would have liked to have seen in the room would have been complimentary water, there was water in the mini bar which you could purchase but I would expect, even if it is only bottled tap water, some water along with the tea and coffee so you don't have to use the bathroom tap to drink from. I was tired and didn't want to go out for dinner so went down to the pub just after 7 expecting it to be quiet. How wrong I was, it was very busy with all the staff running around. The same waitress that checked me in came over and I asked for a table of one. I could see this was a problem but true to her word she found me a table. I then had a very nice dinner, service was good and price reasonable. After dinner I then had a quick drink in the bar and went off to bed. Overnight the room was quiet and the bed comfortable, I slept very well. The next morning breakfast was of good quality and set me up ready for a busy day ahead. The friendly receptionist checked me out and I was on my way. Overall my experience was very good and I would return if on business.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Crf445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

A well designed and comfortable hotel. A touch above the normal chains. Well equipped room including features like internet dab radio, plus tasteful decor. Cafetierre and proper coffee was a welcome inclusion.
Professional and helpful staff.
Meal was good with an excellent menu with decent ingredients.
Recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 126lhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed three nights on a business trip. Excellent quality rooms, good reception service, and good ambience in the restaurant and bar areas. Restuarant food was good but not exceptional, could be better. Would definitely book it again - good value at leas than £100 a night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roamingjiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

love this restaurant and pub - great palce to go and lovely food - i would advise to book as ALWAYS busy but thats because its so good :O)
the menu choice is lovely, traditional pub with a few favs - always a winner

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had a recent overnight stay here for a family get together. The room was tastefully furnished and the bed very comfortable. We had a meal in the restaurant that evening and as part of a very large group the staff were very good - as was the food. Particular thanks go to Richard who booked us in and was really helpful in helping us sort out a problem.

Room Tip: A lovely clean, comfortable non-corporate hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claygate
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,904 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Chessington Tolworth
Travelodge Chessington Tolworth
#8 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
416 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cobham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foley

Address: 106 Hare Lane, Claygate, Esher KT10 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher > Claygate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claygate
Price Range: £93 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Foley 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newest hotel in the area situated in a peaceful rural setting whilst being only 35 minutes from central London. There's so much to see and do in surrey making The Foley is a perfect base explore the area with Hampton Court Palace, Chessington world of adventures, RHS Gardens Wisley, Surrey Hill's Countryside walks, Sandown Park and Epsom Downs racecourses right on our door step. So after a hard day at work or play you can be absolutely sure that your room will be an oasis of calm to help you enjoy a good night's sleep. We have 17 en suite rooms that have all the comforts of home in a fantastic boutique design. All our rooms offer the following items to make your stay as restful as possible. We have room types to suit everyone, double rooms, twin rooms, rooms with sofa bed suitable for children, interconnecting rooms allowing families up to 5 to stay together and several travel cots for our younger guests. Please let reception know when booking if you require any of the above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Foley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foley Claygate, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing