We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, pub and restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Foley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Foley
Ranked #1 of 1 Claygate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
172 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, pub and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I had a great experience during my short stay at The Foley. Large and well equipped room and bathroom, excellent food at the inside restaurant and most of all beautiful atmosphere. Nice service as well and congrats to the architects designing the renovation!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Merengue70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    74
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
44
88
3
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

A traditional inn feel, charming and well situated in Claygate, within walking distance from the station and shops. Pretty setting, the rooms are comfortable and equipped with all you need for a pleasant stay. Very friendly and helpful staff always counts a lot for weary travelers from a foreign country. Breakfasts are included and were up to standard . We also enjoyed lunch and dinner - I recommend the traditional pies at the pub section.

The speed of the free WI-fi was frustratingly slow or non-existent during our 3 day stay . If you are a light sleeper, make sure to request a room that is not directly above the lounge / pub area. Cupboard space is limited.

A good choice for staying outside of London.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, make sure to request a room that is not directly above the lounge / pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueTravelLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at The Foley, was very impressed with the place. Friendly, helpful staff, lovely large room with walk in shower, huge comfy bed and large bath towels. Tea and coffee plentiful with fresh milk in the fridge, also a wonderful powerful hair dryer which is hard to find in most hotels. The food was good and the atmosphere in the bar and dining area was very cosy and welcoming. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel on the first floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deliasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed here for only 1 night, much much better than the larger chain hotels all round. From the moment of check-in all staff were really helpful and down to earth friendly.

I had a double room which was very modern and good in size, small sofa, computer desktop enormous comfy bed, walk in shower & water/milk left in fridge to use for free which is a nice touch.

Room was clean and bright, bathroom had a few old toothpaste stains on the splashback tiles and signs of mould beginnings on grout in the huge shower but didn't really worry me too much, it was clean overall and didn't detract from my stay in any way.

Evening meal in pub/restaurant again was great, they have really done this part out nice, seems relaxed yet buzzing at same time. Staff great, the Foley Burger beautiful and the hand cut chips were probably best I have ever eaten, really were nice. Didn't have dessert but the Young's ale went down a treat too.

Breakfast was fine, they had no gas apparently so it was full English with scrambled, this was OK and again the staff were great. I was the only one down for breakfast but somehow got seated in between 2 different sets of music, calmness from the bar area in my left ear, radio rave in my right ear, off-putting but not a great problem, I could have moved.

Overall this is a great little hotel with nice atmosphere, good food, friendly staff & nice rooms, would definitely stay again when in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I booked a table for 3 but the booking was not there when I got there.the staff manage to get a table after 10. Minutes saving the day.the food was OK needs to improve the service I will visit the restraunt again. Hope to see general improvement

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herbiefrogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Fantastic small hotel with beautifully furnished rooms with that home from home feel. Nothing is too much trouble for the team at the Foley and the atmosphere in the bar and dining area is welcoming and cosy. The food is first class gastro pub style cuisine at reasonable prices. Can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This place is near my friends house so we often visit for a quiet pint in the week. It has a good range of beers and plenty of space. Since the refit it really has come into its own. Food is good and the menu changes for time to time to keep it up to date. Staff are young but helpful. If you find yourself in the area it is a great pub.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeAsABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claygate
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
4.4 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
5.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
3.1 mi away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foley

Property: The Foley
Address: 106 Hare Lane, Claygate, Esher KT10 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher > Claygate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claygate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Foley 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newest hotel in the area situated in a peaceful rural setting whilst being only 35 minutes from central London. There's so much to see and do in surrey making The Foley is a perfect base explore the area with Hampton Court Palace, Chessington world of adventures, RHS Gardens Wisley, Surrey Hill's Countryside walks, Sandown Park and Epsom Downs racecourses right on our door step. So after a hard day at work or play you can be absolutely sure that your room will be an oasis of calm to help you enjoy a good night's sleep. We have 17 en suite rooms that have all the comforts of home in a fantastic boutique design. All our rooms offer the following items to make your stay as restful as possible. We have room types to suit everyone, double rooms, twin rooms, rooms with sofa bed suitable for children, interconnecting rooms allowing families up to 5 to stay together and several travel cots for our younger guests. Please let reception know when booking if you require any of the above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Foley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foley Claygate, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing