We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Surrey”
Review of The Foley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Foley
Ranked #1 of 1 Claygate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A gem in Surrey”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Originally a Coaching Inn the Foley is now a delightful boutique style hotel in Glaygate, Esher surrounded by the beautiful Surrey countryside. Situated close to the Claygate railway station, 35 minutes to London, 25 minutes by road (off peak) to Heathrow Airport and close to Hampton Court Palace, the Foley is a perfect place to spend a few days in, while visiting Surrey. Friendly staff, lovely rooms with comfortable beds, great food in the dining room and a pleasant little pub, all added to the enjoyment of our three night stay. Would highly recommended a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely comments. Don't forget us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    83
    9
    10
    6
See reviews for
48
95
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The last Friday in April has turned into race-day for us and this year we looked slightly further afield than Esher having been disappointed in the past.

The Foley is simply fabulous (best rare fillet steak I've eaten for years) and offered a good veggie option for my OH. Excellent dining options and great, fresh breakfast choices. The room was large and so was the bed! The only problem (and it's very minor) was that the curtains didn't come right across the window leaving the light to surge in down the side right onto my sleeping face at about 5.30am. I said it was minor ;~)

I daresay we'll be visiting again next April and will certainly look forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the races. Appreciate the comments regarding the curtains, we are investigating which rooms cause an issue. Looking forward to seeing you soon for the next race day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went as a group of 5, on a racing trip, we all agreed that it was possibly the best hotel we had stayed in for the rate charged. We booked it after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and we can confirm that there are all true.
The Staff, Accomodation,& Food, First Class, if you book this hotel you won't be disopointed.

Room Tip: All of a Good Standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very happy to find flexible accommodation to suit 2 adults and teenage son in one room for two nights - very comfortable with plenty of space for sofa bed. Room and bathroom beautifully equipped with everything we needed. Enjoyed the restaurant for a family dinner, and also the very good breakfasts. Staff very friendly, would happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Islandlife2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

stayed one night .
bed huge and very comfortable and overall room immaculate.
fresh milk in fridge nice touch. Could not fault this. breakfast of good quality and staff very helpful. definitely recommend.

Room Tip: room at back very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Grazie! So glad you enjoyed the comforts at the Foley combined with a good meal and a decent night sleep during your stay. Next time you are visiting don't forget to call direct for the best available rates. We all look forward to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pordenone, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I had a great experience during my short stay at The Foley. Large and well equipped room and bathroom, excellent food at the inside restaurant and most of all beautiful atmosphere. Nice service as well and congrats to the architects designing the renovation!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Merengue70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A traditional inn feel, charming and well situated in Claygate, within walking distance from the station and shops. Pretty setting, the rooms are comfortable and equipped with all you need for a pleasant stay. Very friendly and helpful staff always counts a lot for weary travelers from a foreign country. Breakfasts are included and were up to standard . We also enjoyed lunch and dinner - I recommend the traditional pies at the pub section.

The speed of the free WI-fi was frustratingly slow or non-existent during our 3 day stay . If you are a light sleeper, make sure to request a room that is not directly above the lounge / pub area. Cupboard space is limited.

A good choice for staying outside of London.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, make sure to request a room that is not directly above the lounge / pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueTravelLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claygate
4.4 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
961 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
1.4 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chessington
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,626 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foley

Property: The Foley
Address: 106 Hare Lane, Claygate, Esher KT10 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher > Claygate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claygate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Foley 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newest hotel in the area situated in a peaceful rural setting whilst being only 35 minutes from central London. There's so much to see and do in surrey making The Foley is a perfect base explore the area with Hampton Court Palace, Chessington world of adventures, RHS Gardens Wisley, Surrey Hill's Countryside walks, Sandown Park and Epsom Downs racecourses right on our door step. So after a hard day at work or play you can be absolutely sure that your room will be an oasis of calm to help you enjoy a good night's sleep. We have 17 en suite rooms that have all the comforts of home in a fantastic boutique design. All our rooms offer the following items to make your stay as restful as possible. We have room types to suit everyone, double rooms, twin rooms, rooms with sofa bed suitable for children, interconnecting rooms allowing families up to 5 to stay together and several travel cots for our younger guests. Please let reception know when booking if you require any of the above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Foley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foley Claygate, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing