We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of The Foley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Foley
Ranked #1 of 1 Claygate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Only used the restaurant and ate here for Father's Day and we all enjoyed our food. Had potted crab and pate and haloumi for starters and roast beef, belly pork (wonderful yorkshires with both), lovely steak and ale pie and swordfish. All very nice apart from the carrots which were a bit al dente and actually had to leave them! 2 glasses of prosecco, and lagers each so no wine but the bill for 4 was £121 so not cheap. However lovely ambience, surroundings and service so a very nice meal and the kids paid which was great and very much appreciated!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for the first time and it definitely won't be the last. The hotel is beautiful, lovely big rooms, tastefully decorated and clean. The breakfast is one of the best I've had, freshly cooked and a huge choice. Dinner was delicious and very reasonably priced, only sad I could not stay for lunch as that looked delicious also. The staff were helpful, polite and nothing was too much of a problem. Will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We often call in for lunch here. Fabulous food, great staff, delightful atmosphere. Inside in the winter is cosy and welcoming. Outside in the summer in the garden is charming. We have never been disappointed with the food or the service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank naomilyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and loved it. The room was great and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. The staff were very helpful and looked after us really well, especially the lady and gentleman who served us breakfast. (Sorry, I didn't get their names) but they were very attentive and friendly. The bar was busy and had a great atmosphere and it was lovely to sit outside on the terrace. My only critisism was the evening meal. It was good but not great. The service was excellent but the food needed a bit more imagination. Lovely stay and would book again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 8 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your recommendation. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay, I'd be interested to here your comments about the evening meal - could you possibly contact me at thefoley@youngs.co.uk as all feedback is welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed here on many occasions and it never fails to deliver.
The staff are very helpful, plenty of parking, station to London 5 mins away as also a parade of shops and restaurants.
The rooms are furnished to a high standard with nice bathrooms, showers by Hansgrohe.
Plenty of tea/coffee. Food also very good, dinner menu bit limited but always something nice to eat and a little expensive. Breakfast really good and cooked fresh and again staff only too happy to help.

Room Tip: All upstairs rooms, have never stayed on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place! Great quality food and rooms, spotlessly clean, lovely modern bathroom. Nice little touches - good mix of hot drinks in bedroom with proper coffee and fresh milk, and complimentary mineral water in the fridge. Thoroughly recommend this place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Janeburkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for the lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Originally a Coaching Inn the Foley is now a delightful boutique style hotel in Glaygate, Esher surrounded by the beautiful Surrey countryside. Situated close to the Claygate railway station, 35 minutes to London, 25 minutes by road (off peak) to Heathrow Airport and close to Hampton Court Palace, the Foley is a perfect place to spend a few days in, while visiting Surrey. Friendly staff, lovely rooms with comfortable beds, great food in the dining room and a pleasant little pub, all added to the enjoyment of our three night stay. Would highly recommended a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely comments. Don't forget us the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claygate
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
1.4 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,872 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
987 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,684 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foley

Address: 106 Hare Lane, Claygate, Esher KT10 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher > Claygate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claygate
Price Range: £93 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Foley 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newest hotel in the area situated in a peaceful rural setting whilst being only 35 minutes from central London. There's so much to see and do in surrey making The Foley is a perfect base explore the area with Hampton Court Palace, Chessington world of adventures, RHS Gardens Wisley, Surrey Hill's Countryside walks, Sandown Park and Epsom Downs racecourses right on our door step. So after a hard day at work or play you can be absolutely sure that your room will be an oasis of calm to help you enjoy a good night's sleep. We have 17 en suite rooms that have all the comforts of home in a fantastic boutique design. All our rooms offer the following items to make your stay as restful as possible. We have room types to suit everyone, double rooms, twin rooms, rooms with sofa bed suitable for children, interconnecting rooms allowing families up to 5 to stay together and several travel cots for our younger guests. Please let reception know when booking if you require any of the above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Foley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foley Claygate, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing