We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warnig ! never a 5 star lodge.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Singa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Singa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
“warnig ! never a 5 star lodge.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

we sadly stayed there booked for four nights but went off after three nights because there was no internet and the "pool " was in a really bad condition like everything else. Nobody tooks care about the garden and the soroundings.
The breakfast was like in a 1 star hotel and so the dining, forget all whats the website is saying. You will not even see the Lady who is the Manager, she goes hiding in the kittchen when there are too many people what looks like work.
We have been very disapointed and never had a poorer lodge with this value. After this we stayed in Port Alfred in the beach House which you connot compare by anything, it whas cheaper and worth all the money.

Room Tip: forget this lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Singa Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Singa Lodge, your feedback really helps us to see where we need more direction and improvement for all our guests to enjoy their time spent with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as well as you would have liked and will be taking a lot of time and effort to ensure this won't happen again. We will be having a maintenance meeting to discuss the problems you have raised about the gardens and the pool and the surrounding areas. We are also working very hard to improve our Internet and really do appreciate that you have let us know of your frustrations. We are now able to address the things that made you unhappy. We have drawn the attention of all our staff to this review and expect to see a dramatic improvement in interacting with guests to find out their concerns. We hope you will reconsider visiting us in the future to see the improvement. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Singa Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    48
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
93
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Wish we stayed longer!!! Been to Durban, hluhluwe, jberg so far and this was the best by far in regards to service friendliness the room was perfect. Giving us privacy and room to relax. We had room 1 which was very spacious. The lodge is a wonderful place and reay make life easy for you. I was concern going to p.e in general as a few people had there wasn't much to do their but we loved it. The board walk and casino has loads of bars and restaurants. We spent Christmas Day here and everything was open. Highly recommend signa and port Elizabeth

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shann0nMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We elected to stay in Port Elizabeth due to flight connections back to Capetown and onwards to Dubai.

I,m not exactly what to say about Singa Lodge as I can,t say that we loved it and I can,t really say that we didn,t.
In some ways I had expected a different location on account of the word Lodge and therefore perhaps naively did not expect it to be in a residential street, however the proximity of the beach within walking distance was convenient.

On arrival we were advised that we were the only guests that night so perhaps this had something to do with the somewhat uncomfortable feel.
We were offered dinner however elected to eat outside of the property.

The room that were were allocated (Room 9) which whilst large was very dark and decorated in what I would say was a Middle Eastern style (?) and was primarily concrete which added to the cold feel.
There was a fireplace but we were told that it was not in use, there was also a piece of the ceiling decorative surround missing which made me question how often the room is used and when I went to use the bathroom both the shampoo and shower gel bottles were empty.

Other rooms seemed to have outside seating space which ours did not which was not an issue on this occasion due to the weather, but maybe nice if it was warmer.

The grounds were nicely laid out and there was a small pool and seating area and a bar which might alter the atmosphere completely if the weather had been better and there had been more people staying.

Breakfast was included in our rate and there was a hot and cold selection and it was more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I cannot think of a single aspect of Singa Lodge I would not rate as first class. Staff, food, rooms (exceptionally finished and comfortable), garden, location and amenities that puts many an international 5-star hotel to shame. A very rare find. Will be back very soon. The friendly in the Friendly City.

Room Tip: Any room. Every room. All exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gustav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Unfortunately we stayed only one night at Singa Lodge. The rooms are great and very luxury.
Service is very frindly and food for dinenr or breakfast is just delicious. Come back of sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

I stayed at Singa Lodge for one night and enjoyed every minute. The room was designed with great attention to detail - even the clothes hangers in the cupboard are custom made. The room has an excuisite shower, large bath, lounge with flat screen TV, reading corner, desk, heated towel rack and beautiful bed. The linen and towels are good quality. I was provided with such a generous amount of lovely toileteries that I took it with me when I visited another five start lodge over Easter weekend. A coffee plunger, good quality coffee and a selection of teas are provided.

Francesca went out of her way to make me feel welcome and my dinner was served within 10 minutes of arrival. I had to leave at six o'clock the following morning and was provided with a healthy breakfast pack which allowed me to work without having to take a lunch break. Singa Lodge will be my first choice when I visit PE in future!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousMeerkatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

not a lot do say.
really great place to stay.
the rooms are looking great and the staff is very frindly.
a feeling, like at home....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workaholiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.1 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singa Lodge

Property: Singa Lodge
Address: Corner of 10th Avenue & Scarborough Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Singa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique hotel in PE is one of a select portfolio of lodges brought to you by Lion Roars Hotels and Lodges, and offers distinctive 5-star accommodation in Summerstrand in Port Elizabeth. Setting itself apart from the "every-room-looks-the-same" standardization of the major hotel chains, Singa's modern fusion of Eastern & African architecture and decor is an artistic masterpiece. Each of the twelve suites is a unique space that not only provides deep comfort, but also inspires and enriches your journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Singa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singa Lodge Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing