We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Singa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Singa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We stayed at Singa Lodge for one night before our stay at Hlosi in the Amakhala Game Reserve. The staff were delightful and the service was 5star. A luxurious bolthole in otherwise uninspiring Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiJoNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2010

For those travelling and away from the home comforts and surroundings even staying in a top hotel can be extremely uncomfortable. One is in a box with a view, surrounded by furnishings as cold and efficient as the voice at the end of the telephone when 9 is dialed.
Singa is the opposite of cold or austere. This is made by its quiet yet accessible location; its spacious and "homely" furnishings. Undoubtedly, what finishes the visit here off as an all round very enjoyable stay is the friendly faced and neighbourly staff with whom nothing is a problem and everything is possible.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timeout101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

My room was big and gorgeous with all the facilities expected of a 5 star hotel, however, it was all the additional personal touches in the room that made this such a lovely experience. Chantelle and her team made me feeling totally welcome and the food and service was superb. The location to the beach itself is perfect although the lodge is so lovely you might be tempted not to leave the pool and garden area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Statement_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Oke we all know it, Port Elizabeth isn't yet the place be. Although it is moving in the right direction fast it still is a harbour/industrial city. However a perfect spot to start or the Garden route trip or go to Addo.
How nice it is then to find a nice place, close to beach in a safe area that has a mixed African/Arabian/SE Asian style to it where colour full design combines with quality rooms. We slept in a room where the bathroom and toilet are a integral part of, you see it more often these days, but isn't really my thing.
Pierre, manager is a very helpful guy who tried to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The food was okay, but not exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying_Dutchman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed for 1 night only and didn't get to enjoy the lodge too much. The service was really great and the rooms are beautiful. The common lodge area was very comfortable and they gave us a bottle of champagne to enjoy (they mistakenly thought it was our honeymoon) in front of the warm fireplace. The lady at the front desk was so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usckim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Room1 is absolutely stunning, with a large open plan shower and circular bathtub. The staff were very helpful and obliging, as we were originally expecting to stay at the nearby Radisson Blu (not yet completed!) so were put up last minute by Singa Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

What a breath of fresh air. Such a beautiful and stylish hotel. Something very unique and extraordinary. Food was absolutely divine.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KitKatSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.5 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine
0.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
527 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singa Lodge

Address: Corner of 10th Avenue & Scarborough Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: £59 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Singa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique hotel in PE is one of a select portfolio of lodges brought to you by Lion Roars Hotels and Lodges, and offers distinctive 5-star accommodation in Summerstrand in Port Elizabeth. Setting itself apart from the "every-room-looks-the-same" standardization of the major hotel chains, Singa's modern fusion of Eastern & African architecture and decor is an artistic masterpiece. Each of the twelve suites is a unique space that not only provides deep comfort, but also inspires and enriches your journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Singa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singa Lodge Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing