We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay to start into a Garden Route trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

this B&B is absolutely the best place to stay in the PE area.Perfect location, nicely decorated rooms with a great taste a cute garden and a great breakfast (try the Big Mamma omelette!). But the best of all is that the hosts are taking a lot of time during and after breakfast to help you plan your route and suggest stopovers and other B&Bs. We already had a route in mind and they recommended and even made the booking for us at a B&B in the Plettenberg area for the next 2 nights (called The Whaling Station) which was just amazing - totally laid back with a great view over the lagoon and absolut relaxing! Thank you so much for this tip and giving us the best start into our Garden Route tour.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbv79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello Julia
Thanks for your great review, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and 'The Whaling Station'. Lea & I travel a lot and we know what a great help it can be when locals give you tips and suggestions, so we really enjoy doing the same for our guests and it's always nice to get the positive feedback.
We'd love you to come back and have another Big Mamma omelette, so time to start planning you next south Africa holiday!
have fun and take care.
Cliff & Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recieved a very warm welcome from Margret the weekend locum; she was very accomodating and helpful. We also liked the warn comradee amoung staff. Accomodations and location couldn't be beat; great value for money. Great dining room and thought went into the breakfast offerings. I wouldn't hestiate to recommend this accomodation.

Breakfast was ample and very varied but the cooked breakfast was greasy each morning; my bacon and saugage was burnt black. A small thing that can be easily addressed by using less grease, turing down the heat and watching the food cook.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hello Wendy
Thank you for your review and your constructive comments regarding the breakfast served. We are really pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and your stay with us but are most dissapointed in ourselves that the breakfast wasn't up to standard.
As you will have noticed from previous reviews, we pride ourselves on the quality of our breakfasts which, under normal circumstances, really are legendary. In this instance, with us being away, the standards obviously slipped but, rest assured, remedial action has been taken as you will notice from the reviews of guests having stayed after your departure.
Perhaps a blessing in disguise, your review has given us the opportunity to point out to our staff that their job isn't about impressing us, but impressing our guests, who are the people that pay their wages - so thank you.
We hope that you get the chance to come back, we'd love to meet you ourselves.
Kind regards
Cliff & Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is truly a beautiful Bed and Breakfast where the rooms have recently been refurbished, are tastefully and luxuriously furnished, practically designed and exceptionally clever use is made of all available space. The "kitchenette" corner is especially welcome and there is a refrigerator, microwave and well stocked honour bar; also several different kinds of teas, coffee, sugar, milk etc. is provided. In the bathroom there is a bath and overhead shower.

The location is excellent i.e. within 400 meters of the Boardwalk and within walking distance of many local attractions.

The premises are spotlessly clean with excellent security and breakfasts are sumptuous.

Both Cliff and Lea are gracious hosts and will try and assist in every way possible.

This is one of the best Guest Houses I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Request one of the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouristGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hello Sorella
Thank you for your great and detailed review. We appreciate the comments and compliments, more so knowing that you are a tour guide yourself and as such, well travelled and familiar with a broad spectrum of accommodation venues such as ours.
We appreciate you having stayed with us, knowing that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to being of assistance in the future.
Kind regards
Cliff & Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The owners Cliff & Lea were the PERFECT hosts in ALL respects. We felt as if they had known us as close friends. An amazing couple, involved in running their B & B. A lovely place close to the beach, yummy breakfasts with such a wide variety too. We have found a HOME away from our home, Western Australia. WILL be back!

Room Tip: Close to beach, casino, shops and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen_Scholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hello Johann & Colleen, the undercover blonde and nutty professor!
In our industry, we meet many people but every now and again we meet people who, even though we've only spent a few hours together, leave their mark in our lives, never to be forgotten, as did the two of you.
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you've promised to come back - you will always be more than welcome .... and we've added French Toast to the menu, apparently Andre's speciality that he's kept hidden till yesterday!
Keep well & look after yourselves.
Cliff & Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This B&B is perfect in every way. It is well positioned (close to the beach & the Boardwalk complex and the rest of Port Elizabeth is easily accessible from this address). The rooms are well appointed - stylish decor, modern & clean. But most of all, it is the warm welcome that we received and the friendliness of everyone that made this such a memorable stay. What is more, the ever-so delightful Frankie made us feel that we were at a home from home. The breakfasts were well presented and delicious. Cliff, Lea & Andre cheerfully attended to our every need.

Room Tip: We were in Room No. 4 and it was comfortable & pleasant - cannot comment on any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hello Jeanette
Thank you for your magic review, it was great having you and Terry stay with us ... Frankie says he misses you too! We're so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and always remember, it's only possible to be friendly with friendly people - probably why we enjoyed our breakfast times as much as we did.
Don't forget, Benoni is only a short flight away, so no excuses for not coming back soon!!!
Best wishes
Cliff, Lea & Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Cliff and Lea are the perfect hosts. The room was lovely and clean, the breakfast full of variety and choice. The Beachwalk is a very friendly and fun place to stay. The location is good for the sea front and places to eat within walking distance. Will definitely be staying again when we return to PE.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello Elaine & Graham
Fantastic to hear from you and to know you're back home safe and sound after your holiday. We were just so pleased that we were able to help you 'chill-out' after the rocky start to your trip. Thanks for the great review and the e-mail you sent us - good to know that you worked on that tan - you nearly dazzled us with those white legs the first morning you came in for breakfast - won't forget the two of you in a hurry!
It was such a pleasure having you here, please stay in touch and look after yourselves.
Best wishes
Cliff & Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Dear Cliff & Friends, Thank you so much for your great hospitality! The room is lovely & the breakfast was excellent. We felt like home & will definitely come back to this charming place.
Thanks for everything & all the best for the future!
Franziska & Victor
Solothum, Switzerland
Ps. Alida, you will see us on the cherry tree in Zug…..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locarubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello Franziska & Victor
Great to hear from you and know that you enjoyed your time with us at Beachwalk, especially our breakfast as we pride ourselves on having one of the best breakfasts in Port Elizabeth .... now you know why my middle is a bit larger than it should be! Making people like you feel at home is just the easiest thing in the world to do.
Please be sure to visit us again, we'd love to have you back.
Best wishes
Cliff Lea & Alida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
490 reviews
4.8 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
445 reviews
3.1 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Second Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6019, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: £77 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast in Port Elizabeth, offers 4-star accommodation in Port Elizabeth, only 60metres from popular beaches and close to the Boardwalk Casino, Entertainment and Restaurant complex. A selection of fine restaurants and shopping centre are in walking distance with a championship golf course nearby and close to the airport, only 10 minutes away. This heritage building, one of the original guesthouses in Port Elizabeth, has been stylishly renovated providing beautifully appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, private entrances & covered patios in a peaceful secluded garden with pool. All rooms with microwave, fridge, tea/coffee facilities, complimentary Wi-Fi, DSTV and the finest percale linen. A delicious full English and Continental breakfast is served in our dining room. Our personal welcome awaits you, ensuring a most pleasant and comfortable stay at Beachwalk! *Airport transfers *Secure on-site parking *Laundry service *Credit card facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachwalk Bed And Breakfast Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing