We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything it promised”
Review of Manor 38

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor 38
Ranked #3 of 44 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg,South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything it promised”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Wendy is a delightful hostess and Chris was always there ready to help with any possible request. Not on the beach but walking distance. Classy, peaceful, spacious. Fabulous breakfast. You will not make a mistake. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justagirl2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    49
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
183
15
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel with friendly staff but rooms are rather small with a tiny bed. Nice bath and shower but there was no warm water left this morning as was yesterday evening so I got again a cold shower...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eipiplusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Our family of four (two boys - 12 and 16) stayed at Manor 38 for a night on our way to a safari. We couldn't have made a better choice. Wendy is just so lovely and welcoming. She correctly guessed that we might arrive earlier than we had said, seeing as the weather was a bit wet that day. The rooms were ready for us upon arrival.

Our rooms were at pool level, and were very well equipped, with nice, big hair dryers (so often a problem in hotels), beautifully appointed bathrooms and lovely, comfy beds.

Wendy had made reservations at a local restaurant (excellent choice), and upon our return to the hotel that evening, we greatly appreciated the nightcap that was left in our room. The boys were given chocolate, which was a lovely touch.

We had some fantastic breakfasts during our two weeks in South Africa, and Manor 38's version was on par with luxury hotel offerings. The fresh fruit was beautifully presented and the house muesli spectacular.

Manor 38 does not usually cater to families with younger children (under the age of 12), but during our stay, there happened be a few other children at the hotel. Seeing as it was the Easter weekend, Wendy and her fabulous staff organized an impromptu Easter egg hunt for the children on the morning we were leaving. The kids were thrilled with all their loot, and we were just amazed of the thoughtfulness that had gone into planning this.

Throughout our trip, we stayed at many different hotels, most of them considerably more expensive than Manor 38. Thus I know that this hotel represents amazing value for money. If you are in PE, for a short or longer term, this is the hotel to stay at. It is just a few minutes from the renovated and lively waterfront, with loads of activities, shopping and restaurants. At the same time, it is not right on the waterfront, which allows for lovely, peaceful nights.

Thank you again Wendy! For everything. We hope to be back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

A beautiful guest house, run by the most wonderful people...who made our time in Port Elizabeth so much better, so much more. This is the standard by which all boutique hotels should be judged. A lovely stay. Wendy and her team are superb

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euro34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

What strikes you most about Manor 38 is the genuine warmth of the welcome from Wendy the owner. A truly lovely lady obviously dedicated to making your stay as perfect as it can be. Her guest house is ideally situated close to a quiet beach with a variety of shops and restaurants close by but away from the noise of the the city centre. The guest house is stylish, beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable. It was only meant to be a stopover before we flew home from PE airport but we had a great day. Lovely swimming pool, spacious lounge, free wifi and well stocked honesty bar. On t he day of our departure we had a lovely breakfast. We would thoroughly recommend Manor 38 to anyone planning a trip to PE.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintandJoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was not expecting it. At all! I mean, from the brochure it looked nice, but, so far, it was one of the best stays i have had in South Africa. Absolutely brilliant job, i mean the room was spotless, very comfortable, it was very classy but i felt at home. The welcoming was very warm. The bathroom was grande, and somehow peaceful. My room was just in front of the swimming pool and i was impressed that a swimming pool could look that good. I mean the whole exterior looked fantastic (even though i really did not spend a lot of time in the pool area, too busy visiting Port Elizabeth :P). For me, it is a no brainier, it really ins't. We stayed only for a night but it definitely was memorable. It's true the view is not great, it really isn't but what matters is the room, and the room is absolutely brilliant. And besides, you'll be able to enjoy the scenery while exploring Port Elizabeth, so it was not really a problem.

Now the one thing i have to say is that it may not be for kids of a young age. Not saying that they would not be welcomed, but i do not think that it is the correct accommodation for a young family, that is all. If you have teenagers, it's absolutely fine; i am talking about young kids. But if you feel it is alright, well go ahead, book, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Long story short
- Big rooms, spotless and perfectly furnished
- Exceptional service with great attention to detail
- Amazing breakfast even in SA standards

P.S.: Definitely trust Wendy's dinner recommendations!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bho06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 44 in Summerstrand
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 44 in Summerstrand
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor 38

Property: Manor 38
Address: 38 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor 38 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor 38 provides superior accommodation similar to the best Boutique Hotels but at more affordable rates. The facility has a longstanding excellent rating on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manor 38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor 38 Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing