We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent comfort matched by its service”
Review of Manor 38

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor 38
Ranked #2 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I reserved my stay at Manor 38 two months in advance, solely based on TripAdvisor's ratings...one doesn't wait until the last minute to book "the best!" I was thoroughly taken by the professionalism and attention to detail that both Wendy and Christ provided during my two nights in Port Elizabeth. Thank you both! The accomodations were wonderful (I had one of the poolside garden rooms), the breakfasts fantastic, and the help and attention to service from each of Wendy and Chris was first-rate. Manor 38 is a short walk from the PE beachfront with great walkways, nearby resturants and shops and a quick 5-10 minute taxi from PE airport. If looking for convenience, service and excellent accommodation, I highly recommend Manor 38...there's a reason it's rated #1...actually a number of reasons!

Room Tip: One of the poolside rooms provides a nice ambience and quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobtoBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend at Manor 38. It is such a lovely establishment and well deserves the 4 star rating that it has. Wendy is a wonderful manager and has given us good advise. We also heard her helping the other guests as the guesthouse was full this weekend. The breakfast is delicious and the fact that the guesthouse is not right on the beachfront, and is therefore far quieter is lovely. Thank you for a lovely time, from
Lea and Des

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

From check in to check out, the staff did everything to make sure our stay was enjoyable. From booking our tours of Kragga Kamma and Seaview, directing us to local restaurants, and ensuring that we had everything we needed. The glasses of port/sherry with chocolate on the side at bed time, a very nice touch. Thanks for everything, Wendy.

Room Tip: When travelling as a couple, ensure room has Queen or larger. The double was a little snug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We only stayed one night - on our road trip around the coast from Cape Town to Johannesburg - but stands out as the best stay of our holiday. The house / manor is well situated not far from PE center, coast, or airport. We had an extremely warm welcome from Wendy - a welcome and warmth that continued for our stay. The room was fantastic (upgraded to executive suite), and breakfast in the morning was similarly memorable. We took a trip down to the Boardwalk for dinner - also worth a visit. Definitely recommend this guest house to anyone going through PE - not a tremendous amount to do in PE itself, but worth any additional mileage or trip adjustments to stay at Manor 38

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay and extremely helpful and kind owner.
Had a relaxing nights stay and slept so well in a very comfortable bed!
The breakfast was beautifully presented and very nice!
We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzannah198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Wendy is a delightful hostess and Chris was always there ready to help with any possible request. Not on the beach but walking distance. Classy, peaceful, spacious. Fabulous breakfast. You will not make a mistake. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justagirl2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel with friendly staff but rooms are rather small with a tiny bed. Nice bath and shower but there was no warm water left this morning as was yesterday evening so I got again a cold shower...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eipiplusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor 38

Address: 38 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: £62 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor 38 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor 38 provides superior accommodation similar to the best Boutique Hotels but at more affordable rates. The facility has a longstanding excellent rating on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manor 38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor 38 Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing