We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor 38

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor 38
Ranked #3 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
403 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“Hard to beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Manor 38 is conveniently just 5 minutes drive from the airport, so it's ideal as a stopping off point at the start or end of a holiday in the Eastern Cape. Decor is modern with taupes and African dark wood: all very pleasant and easily up to the standard of a 4-star hotel. Rooms comes in two types: standard and executive. The standard rooms are on the ground floor with doors opening onto the patio and pool area, so lack privacy. The executive rooms are on the 1st floor and have more space but there's no balcony. WiFi is available, but irritatingly, like so many places in S Africa, one has to purchase access. A nice touch is the turn-down service, which includes chocolates and some port. The bed was king-size and supremely comfortable. Breakfasts were really outstanding with top-notch presentation. The staff were delightful. The only downside was the yappy dog next door.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    48
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
181
14
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

We atayed for 2 nights. A must for the perfect getaway. Great hospitality! The breakfast in the the mornings gave me the will to get up in the morning. Great staff! Great room! Great service! top of tops!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

We only stayed at Manor 38 for 1 night. While I can't recommend the town of Port Elizabeth, I wholeheartedly recommend Manor 38. Manor 38 is on a quiet sidestreet off the main strip along the beach.

Our room was beautiful and right off the interior courtyard that housed the pool. The main areas of the guesthouse were beautifully decorated and but my favorite part is the pool area. Unfortunately we weren't there very long so we didn't get to use it. The doors and windows of the common areas were open air with sliding doors that opened out to the courtyard. Nor did we get to enjoy breakfast since our flight was at 6 am the next day.

They did have turndown service while out at dinner and provided us with a glass of sherry which was a nice touch.

Parking is also enclosed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluefrog626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

The hotel has trendy and cool design, beautiful rooms and wonderful staff. The pool area is nice to hang out in.
The location is pretty close to the beach, so you can easily walk there. Also the restaurants on the beach front are within walking distance (about 20 min).
They only serve breakfast, so for a snack you need to go somewhere else.
The staff is helpful and very service minded. I forgot my postcards in the lounge and they posted them for me :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stopped for one night in Port Elizabeth on a trip around the Garden Route. The Manor 38 was without a doubt the nicest place we stayed on the entire trip! We wish we could have taken our room with us for the entire trip! The whole place is beautiful but our room was one of the nicest we've ever stayed in. The furnishings, decoration and bathroom were all perfect. It certainly deserves it's lofty rating on the Trip Advisor site - we would stay there anytime we have to return to PE.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zhellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Wonderful, friendly hotel. Service was excellent, breakfast was especially good, beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked. Lovely little touches. Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyRodneyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

Manor 38 is one of those places that once found, you will always return to. We arrived here after travelling for 24hrs and it could not have been better. The hostess was super friendly and helpful. The house itself is very pretty with a couple of different communal areas for relaxing,including a nice poolside area. Our bedroom was spacious and well equipped with a very comfortable bed and some tasteful furnishings. A separate bathroom with bath, walk in shower made this a haven of tranquility. Manor 38 is on a quiet street which is a handy walk to the local shopping centre. The boardwalk is not too far away where theres a selection of restaurants. We ate at the excellent Ginger -make sure to try the fabulous Lindt dessert -yum. While this is no doubt a comfortable place to stay it was the little touches that makes this stick in the memory - cups of coffee and fresh muffins cheerfully brought to us while we were basking in the late afternoon sun - and the brandy and chocolates left out on return from dinner. I also have to mention the amazing breakfast.
I know that we will be back in South Africa and we will definitely be back to the fabulous Manor 38.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevertoolate75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.4 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor 38

Property: Manor 38
Address: 38 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor 38 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor 38 provides superior accommodation similar to the best Boutique Hotels but at more affordable rates. The facility has a longstanding excellent rating on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Manor 38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor 38 Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing