We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B and B I would certainly recommend”
Review of Algoa Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Algoa Guest House
Ranked #5 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very good place.. room 4 "kitchenette" no hot water power point not working. We enjoyed the breakfast good value for money. Would certainly recommend it to family and friends. We enjoyed the serenity and secure parking


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for sending us your review. As we strive for excellence in everything we can offer as a 3 star bed and breakfast we appreciate instant feedback of any "problematic" issues that may arise from time to time. The "sticky tap" you were kind enough to point out in your review has since been resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Lovely place to stay. Service was excellent, close to the beach and all amenities. We were made to feel at home. We will definately be back as well as recommend Aloga Guest House to our family, friends and colleagues. Chantal & Marc

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chantal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Chantal & Marc,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Hopefully you can stay longer next time!

See you then!

Kind regards,

Roger & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

well run and efficient.
would be ideal for family or business as they cater for all.
owners are a great help when it comes to planning for day trips around the town and always willing to offer value added services as required.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi Grant,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We always appreciate positive feedback!

Until next time!

kind regards,

Roger and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

wonderful place, I'll definitely return on my next break, quiet and private, lovely and understanding patrons and had a lovely breakfast. Rooms were just about perfect and had secure parking, close enough to the beach one could walk

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Themba V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi Themba,

We enjoyed having you and your family staying with us - and we are glad that you chose to come back for a 2nd night at such short notice!

Now that you have discovered how great Port Elizabeth is, we look forward to your future visits!

Kind regards,

Lisa & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We really enjoyed staying in this small friendly guesthouse. The owners were both very friendly and helpful with lots of suggestions about what to do and where to eat. Very generous English breakfasts were available and the fridge held a good stock of water, lagers etc plus a supply of chocolate bars! The guest house is just a short walk from the beach and a small shopping centre with supermarket, chemist, post office and bank amongst other things.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alistair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Alistair and Family!

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your visit to South Africa was enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Roger and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I spent 10 days at Algoa, I couldnt have asked for better service from the owners or the staff and will definately be back. Rooms are clean and well serviced. Breakfasts are home cooked and top quality. Access to the property is secure and accessible 24hrs.
Definately worth a stop over if you looking for somewhere with great value for service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi Sean,

Thanks very much for your great review - we enjoyed having you as our guest. We look forward to hosting you at future Iron Man events or visits to South Africa.

Until then!

Kind regards,

Lisa and Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here over the 'ironman' weekend. The room was comfortable and very clean. A lovely breakfast is served and made to order. It is well located - within walking distance from the beach. Lisa and Roger went out of their way make us comfortable and nothing seemed too much trouble. Small touches like printing out the times for all the competitors who were staying there is what sets their hospitality apart. We have no hesitation in recommending the guest house.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rademans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi Johann,

Thanks for your great review - it is very much appreciated. We hope to see you for longer next Iron Man!

Kind regards,

Roger and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
206 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Hub Boutique Hotel
The Hub Boutique Hotel
#11 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayside Guesthouse
Bayside Guesthouse
#7 of 43 in Summerstrand
173 reviews
2 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#5 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
246 reviews
5.2 mi away
Millbury Guest House
Millbury Guest House
#2 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoa Guest House

Address: 87 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: £49 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Algoa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algoa Guesthouse is an owner managed 3 star bed and breakfast in Summerstrand Port Elizabeth. If you are here to enjoy all the attractions of our Friendly City or are about to embark on a journey along the beautiful Garden Route, holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy a comfortable stay at this guest house in Port Elizabeth. Algoa B&B offers comfortable, clean and semi self-catering rooms (microwave, bar fridge, tea/coffee making facilities) with air conditioners, flat screen TV's with a selection of satellite channels and Free Wi-Fi. Enjoy a healthy or a full English breakfast in the quaint dining- room which overlooks the swimming pool and attractive garden. We are only a mere 200 metre stroll to the beachfront of Pollock Beach. Experience the warm waters of Nelson Mandela Bay (Algoa Bay)at one of beaches (Pollock Beach, Hobie Beach or one of our Blue Flag beaches (Humewood Beach & Kings Beach) which is also a popular destination to swim or surf or to go scuba diving with the dolphins at one of the estimated 400 ship wreckages. Algoa Guest House is ideally positioned in Port Elizabeth to act as your base to experience the Eastern Cape. Grahamstown, Sardinia Bay, Jeffreys Bay and Addo Elephant Park are less than an hour's drive away. Alternatively go and explore the rich cultural heritage of our city centre (do the Donkin Trail). Pack your clubs and enjoy a round of golf at the Humewood Links Golf Course which is only 1,5km's away. The North and South Campus of Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University is also only 1,5km's away. There are several popular restaurants within a 2 km radius from this Algoa Bay bed and breakfast and the Boardwalk Casino is also just 2km's away. Port Elizabeth Airport is just a 10 minutes' drive from Algoa and airport transfers can be organised on your behalf.Secure off street parking is provided for your vehicle behind remote controlled gates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Algoa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoa Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing