We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely 5 Days at Radisson in the Windy City!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Lovely 5 Days at Radisson in the Windy City!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel has an excellent location, on the quieter end of Summerstrand and across the road from the beach. There is a shopping centre within walking distance from the hotel. The rooms are well decorated and offer enough space for a couple. I believe all or most rooms are sea facing, so was ours. The view over the sea and beach were great to wake up to every day and gaze at during the day and night.
The staff were friendly and helpful. We did not enjoy breakfast at the hotel as we felt it was too expensive. We took a short stroll or drove to the nearby shopping centre for breakfast. We had coffee at the restaurant, which was great.

On the downside, the bed slept well but we believed the pillows were etremely uncomfortable.
All-in-all this is a lovely establishment and we will certainly return the net time we are in the vicinity.

Room Tip: A Sea-view room at the quieter end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezign99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Dezign99,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your review, that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel. I shall look into the breakfast offering to ensure that we stay competitive and that we also offer value for money.

That said, I trust that our Hotel will become your choice of residence when visiting Port Elizabeth, '

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    358
    156
    67
    44
See reviews for
154
364
44
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Arrived at the hotel quite late the first night and was checked in with no hassles. I had a sea facing room on the top floor and the view is just gorgeous. Nothing beats waking up to that view. The room was clean and linen was snow white. The bathroom is also very modern but care must be taken when entering the bathroom - theres a hump which can hurt ones toes. The staff are friendly and i got to the bar one night around 1 am but still managed to get a drink.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuggibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear YuggiBear,

Many thanks for letting us know via TripAdvisor that you had such a good visit recently, I hope that this will make sure the Radisson Blu here in Port Elizabeth becomes your Hotel of choice when visiting our city.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst in Port Elizabeth and everything was fantastic.

The location of the hotel is straight opposite the beach and whilst not immediately near shops and eateries these are not so far away.

The hotel itself is very modern with pleasant staff.

The room was of an average size and our room had floor to ceiling windows looking out to the beach which we loved. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower cubicle.

Had cocktails and chocolate pudding in the bar which were both fantastic (pudding tasted divine and was cooked to perfection) and breakfast the next morning was also very nice with live cooking stations.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again if in Port Elizabeth.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DizzyBlonde23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear DizzyBlonde23,

Thank you for visiting Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth recently. My team and I are delighted to note from this review that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Family of 9 went to hotel for Christmas lunch. Overall it rates as one of best buffet lunches we've ever enjoyed. The food was top-notch and it was difficult to to fault. The fish and salmon starters were mouthwatering and worth a second helping. The main course dishes had something for everybody and were all tasty and well prepared. The desserts were a meal on their own and many of us visited the table a second time. The staff were efficient and management was ever present.

The decor of the room and the singer added to the occasion.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Alan S,

Thank you for the wonderful review you recently posted here on TripAdvisor. My team and I are delighted to here that yo enjoyed our Christmas Lunch offering. We look forward to your next visit here and hopefully this time you will stay with us.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stunning place,modern rooms with spectacular view.
Front desk crew very,very together.
This place has a gym,spa,restaurant and free wireless.
All the bells and whistles you need.would have given it 5 stars but
Maids left us without towels.twice.

Room Tip: Higher floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Matata1,

Thank you so much for the lovely review here on Tripadvisor. I have noted your comment about the towels and apologize for this oversight on behalf of the Housekeeping team here.

I am delighted to note that that despite this oversight you enjoyed your stay. My team and I look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

It was OK for one night but it lacked the relaxed, leisure feel I had hoped for from a seaside hotel.Good sea view along Marine Drive. The room was reasonably large - and would have made a good base if you were here for business and needed to use a laptop. The open plan bathroom was also disconcerting. (Good bathroom products)
Te advantage of the 'business' feel was that it offered a good range at breakfast (although the omlette, made to order, was 'deep fried' and more like a pancake).
The biggest problem was that they had not observed the requirement to have non-feather bedding (the only hotel in a three week stay to ignore this request) and so I needed to find a chemist on the Sunday morning.

The staff were not very efficient at check in; they didn't know the restaurant located 5 minute walk down the road; and it took them a while to locate a taxi in the morning (and then booked the worst cab we had the misfortune of using: shame we didn't use the one we organized for ourselves from the airport)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Veggiemel,

Many thanks for letting us know about your experience here at the Hotel. I have noted your comments and will address the various items you highlighted.

I trust that this did not detract too much to the rest of your visit here in Port Elizabeth.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here early December 2013 with a group. The hotel is functional but basic. Rooms are a decent size modern and clean, internet was free and the beach is across the road. During our stay the hotel was quite full and as a consequence service at the bar, restaurant and breakfast was very slow and at times I thought quite chaotic which was disappointing. Its not somewhere I would return to neither dismiss as a poor hotel, its just pretty average on the whole. I arrived in PE from CPT where I stayed at the One & Only, these 2 hotels are worlds apart.

Room Tip: Try get a beach front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_PLZZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear PBurns

Thank you for your feedback & for taking the time to write about your experience.

We regret to hear your experience in the restaurant & bar did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been passed onto our Food & Beverage department, so they may adress this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service.

We take time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services and do hope for another oppurtunity in future to exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards
Michelle Muller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
475 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Address: Corner of Marine Dr & Ninth Ave, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth offers breathtaking sea views from all 173 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. With our eight multifunctional conferencing and banqueting rooms equipped with state of the art technology spanning 633sqm, we cater for a vast array of specialised events. All registered guests and meeting delegates receive complimentary high-speed internet access. "tabu grill, bar & lounge" offers world class bistro style food whilst our lounge and sea view pool terrace is the perfect place to relax, enjoy a cocktail and light snack. Camelot Spa offers our guests the perfect place to unwind and relax. Shuttle Service to the Boardwalk Entertainment Complex ensures guests are always mobile. Enrolment to the Carlson Rezidor loyalty program "Club Carlson" is immediate and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing