We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Odd layout of bath/bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Odd layout of bath/bedroom”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Fantastic views from our room on the 14th floor to Cape Recief. Local shops and the sea just a short walk away.

Bathroom layout was odd with no wall to the bedroom. Separate cubicles for WC and shower but the bath was open plan so, if you prefer bath make sure you are sharing with a friend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear SteveMG,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed most of your stay with us here at the Hotel.

I noted your comments about the room layout and admit that is can be rather odd as you mentioned especially if you are sharing the room with a friend. We are looking into ways of changing this configuration in the not too distant future.

That said, it still makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “YES I CAN!” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    353
    154
    67
    44
See reviews for
151
359
44
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed several times at this hotel and I must say that it has been consistent in delivering great service. It is truly exemplary of a five star treatment and it being a business hotel it surely live us up to that title.

It does slightly come off as being a little too clinical, and misses a bit of the warmth that one would need when they're away from home. But with that said, every room has breathtaking views of the sea and this in a way does give the hotel some huge credibility.

It doesn't entice me as the type of hotel where I would bring my family for a week away but as a business hotel, it surely is the best in town.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Loyiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Loyiso,

Many thanks for the great review as posted here on TripAdvisor yesterday. I must admit I am a great fan of you and also that act that you are part of and it was and also always is, an honour and extreme pleasure to have you stay here.

Please do not hesitate to let me know when next you come and stay which I trust will be soonest.

All the best and kind regards

Desmond
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel has got fantastic rooms and breath-taking views and a superb location - right by the beach, close to the airport and very close to Boardwalk. Unfortunately we were there only for a day.This hotel offers tremendous value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddharth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Siddharth S,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu, Port Elizabeth recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel.

It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “YES I CAN!” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that
the Radisson Blu becomes your “home” when next in Port Elizabeth.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

There are pluses and minuses of this hotel. The primary plus is the location which is close to a beautiful beach in the nicest area of the city. My girlfriend and I chose this hotel because it was a recognizable chain which would bring safety (which was right). The service wasn't good but the room was nice and the upper outdoor bar was fantastic.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMGCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear JMGCalgary,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu, Port Elizabeth recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed most of your stay with us here at the Hotel.

I was a bit disappointed to note your comment about the service levels and will ensure my team is notified so that we can fix what needs to be fixed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at this place in April 2014. It is stones throw away from the beach and the rooms offer breathtaking views of the ocean. the boardwalk casino is just 15 minutes walk from this place. Though we stayed here just for a night, a transit point for our garden route journey, it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: From what I know all rooms offer ocean view, but higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayshah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Jayshah84,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu in Port Elizabeth recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the hopefully not too distant future to come and enjoy the view again.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surabaya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I had a week holiday on south africa through cape town to johannesburg, this hotel was the best one. I think it was old hotel, but room newly refurbished. Lighting on the room tend to bright, no separation between bathroom and bed, very nice idea. Also wifi on High speed. My room also facing the beach. Breakfast with ideal variety, but tasted good. My complain to this hotel only the lift, which we have to wait quite long when the hotel busy.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank frankyantonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu, Port Elizabeth recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel.

That said, it still makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “YES I CAN!” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that the Radisson Blu becomes your “home” when next in Port Elizabeth.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Although I was not terribly happy with my room, I did get glimpses of other rooms which looked very luxurious. I was surprised to find only a small selection of TV channels available -- and an empty minibar! My room also had an "open plan" bathroom, which could be awkward for 2 people sharing who might not even be in a relationship. The glass dividers in the bathroom had lots of streaks on them which gave the impression the bathroom was not cleaned well enough. The views from the windows over the sea and beach are great. I had room service for dinner (being on my own) and found the service very good but the food wasn't great. The bed was extremely comfortable and the lighting in the bedroom was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Zuretha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Zuretha R,

Thank you for the review as posted here on TripAdvisor. We value you feedback as it assists us in addressing those areas in our Hotel that need some fixing.

That said, I am still delighted that you enjoyed most of yoru stay here.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Address: Corner of Marine Dr & Ninth Ave, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth offers breathtaking sea views from all 173 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. With our eight multifunctional conferencing and banqueting rooms equipped with state of the art technology spanning 633sqm, we cater for a vast array of specialised events. All registered guests and meeting delegates receive complimentary high-speed internet access. "tabu grill, bar & lounge" offers world class bistro style food whilst our lounge and sea view pool terrace is the perfect place to relax, enjoy a cocktail and light snack. Camelot Spa offers our guests the perfect place to unwind and relax. Shuttle Service to the Boardwalk Entertainment Complex ensures guests are always mobile. Enrolment to the Carlson Rezidor loyalty program "Club Carlson" is immediate and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing