We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“OK for one night”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Our family of 19 arrived here late and found the hotel to be very accommodating. They arranged for the kitchen to serve us a late dinner. Otherwise we would have been forced to go out in the rain to find a place to eat. This presents the one negative about this hotel. It is rather remote from shopping and eating places. In all other respects if was very nice. Spacious rooms, great breakfast, and well-appointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Conmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Conmassey,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu, Port Elizabeth recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel.

It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “YES I CAN!” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that
the Radisson Blu becomes your “home” when next in Port Elizabeth.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    358
    156
    67
    44
See reviews for
154
364
44
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room and service was excellent. The view from the room was great and the room layout is very good. One can wake up in the morning to a fantastic sea view from the bed, in fact one can view the sea from anywhere in the room including the bathroom. The food is good, although the selection is small, it is sufficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Charl K,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu, Port Elizabeth recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel.

It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “YES I CAN!” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that
the Radisson Blu becomes your “home” when next in Port Elizabeth.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in July. This was my first visit to South Africa, and I found this hotel very reasonably priced, with excellent facilities. The room I was given had a double showered bathroom, a separate lounge area, very comfortable double bed and plenty of room to do some work (7th floor). The service was excellent, and the price less than 90 euros. Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Gary W,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu, Port Elizabeth recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel.

It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “YES I CAN!” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that
the Radisson Blu becomes your “home” when next in Port Elizabeth.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived late, after dark and needed an early night as we were getting up early again. The reception desk somehow seemed to think that the three of us, work colleagues, were sharing a room. Even though our booking was for 3 separate rooms. I wasn't getting any joy out of the clerk for additional rooms and he checked my two colleagues into a twin room sharing. Was I sleeping on the couch? No idea, because I was not having any of it. I made him check under different names, using each of my colleague's names. We found another booking. I was given a double room. Off we went upstairs. My colleagues discovered their "twin" room was actually a double bed room. They were 2 men.... Reception found another room, suddenly, that they could move to. My room was lovely. Comfortable bed, all the expected trimmings. Only issue was the shower. It flooded into the bathroom and was getting under the tiles so when you walked over it it sloshed. Wonderful breakfast spread. Nice hotel. Pity the reception was clueless and the plumbing 2 star.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Tristan K,

Many thanks for choosing the Radisson Blu as your residence of choice whilst visiting Port Elizabeth. I have read your review and must admit I was slightly saddened by the onset of your experience. In spite of this I was delighted to have not that we managed to ensure that your experience overall was a good one.

We look forward to another visit in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

located on the beachfront you never far from the see with great view over the bay and sea.the floor with the pool deck is in line with the sea is just great. the food is good and u pay for that . nice rooms and good staff to take care of you to give your stay much more meaning. look online for promotions its will cut cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alroy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Alroy J,

Many thanks for the review as posted here on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to have read that you enjoyed your stay and that we lived up to your expectations.

We trust that you will come and visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Desmond
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here for a night. I arrived after 4pm, and was told that my room was not ready. the receptionist then moved me to another room, which was ok. I had to ask about breakfast, and was told that my rate does not include breakfast, which was not true. She had to check again and realized her mistake. I was not told anything about hotel facilities. I was told to go to the room, and had to ask where the lifts were. I found it odd that I was not accompanied to my room as even lower rated hotels do these days, so I had to carry my luggage up to my room. The room was ok, not as big as rooms in other Raddisson hotels I have stayed in. The view from my hotel room was really good. I ordered room service, and although a bit pricey, it was nothing to write home about. At breakfast, no one showed me where to sit, nor was I offered coffee or tea. I think this hotel needs to value customer service, and they have to train their staff to offer good service to ALL customers because at the price I paid, the service did not justify the steepness of the cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abongile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Abongile S,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth recently. I have read your review about the extremely poor service levels and the overall experience you had whilst staying here and I must admit it saddened me.

Please be assured that it is not the standard in which we pride ourselves, and I am sure what you have been accustomed to during your travels. Your comments have therefore been distributed to the entire team here and will be addressed accordingly and measures are being put into place to ensure that we lift the bar once more.

We are constantly aiming to ensure that our guests experience the very finest service and standards at Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth and with this in mind please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of my team and I.

Kind regards

Desmond
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, this was the first stop on our 11 day trip. The room was very clean and had a beautiful view of the ocean. The Pier and shopping center are about a 10-15 minute walk along a beautiful boardwalk. The food and drinks were great, but will be much cheaper off property. Its a business hotel, but great price great location, hard to top.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tom K,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu, Port Elizabeth recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel.

It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “YES I CAN!” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that
the Radisson Blu becomes your “home” when next in Port Elizabeth.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
475 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
427 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Address: Corner of Marine Dr & Ninth Ave, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth offers breathtaking sea views from all 173 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. With our eight multifunctional conferencing and banqueting rooms equipped with state of the art technology spanning 633sqm, we cater for a vast array of specialised events. All registered guests and meeting delegates receive complimentary high-speed internet access. "tabu grill, bar & lounge" offers world class bistro style food whilst our lounge and sea view pool terrace is the perfect place to relax, enjoy a cocktail and light snack. Camelot Spa offers our guests the perfect place to unwind and relax. Shuttle Service to the Boardwalk Entertainment Complex ensures guests are always mobile. Enrolment to the Carlson Rezidor loyalty program "Club Carlson" is immediate and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing