We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Africa Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This B & B is more a hotel than a little guest house, however still very personal with great service.
Very nice & spacious rooms, delicious breakfast and more than you would expect in a B & B (fridge, microwave, coffee machine, honesty bar).
If weather permits, you can enjoy the little garden and the pools.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wibke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

You can tell straight away that this place is run by a german. Everything is well maintained, the staff is very helpful and organized almost everything we desired for. The B&B is located close to the beach and casino....quite central to everything. Rooms are big and clean, breakfast is also awesome. I can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I stayed at this B&B for 2 nights on business. The location is great, quiet area yet close to beach and casino complex. Other shops and restaurants are also not too far away. Rooms are set in a neat garden with a small pool.
The room was neat, spacious enough, with a fridge with an honesty bar, a microwave and a coffee plunger, something I appreciated. There are a couple of DSTV channels, only wish the had been a few more such as a news channel for instance. I did enjoy the German channels though.

Breakfast was great, loved the continental choice. There are a few choices, and also cereal and fruit and plenty of fresh coffee.
The staff are very friendly and helpful as well.

The main thing for me when traveling alone is safety, and I felt quite safe, as I was able to park inside with only a short walk to my room.

I would definitely stay there again should I go back to PE in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

What a wonderful surprise. My wife and I have stayed here twice and on both occasions we have enjoyed the friendly, quality service offered by the staff. The gardens are neat and well kept. Its location close to the beach front and the Boardwalk complex is ideal. The honeymoon suite is wonderful for couples having a weekend getaway. The rooms are clean and the beds wonderfully comfortable. The breakfast choice was also a wonderful surprise. I loved the omeltte. I highly recommend Africa Beach! It is certainly is great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigDuffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Wow the commitment and expertize just astonished me. In future I see myself and my wife going back there again soon... I already told friends about this place and maybee I wound be coming there alone next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laminie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Africa Beach offers comfortable rooms in safe sourroundings, a nice garden, a good breakfast and evening entertainment at the Boardwalk Caqsino Complex. The beach is very close. I would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Corner suites are nice and sunny. My wife and I stayed in room # 5 and we were satisfied, except for the very soft pillows! The room was very neat and staff helpful.
It was the first time we visited this establishment after having been referred there by another B&B in the vicinity where we stayed before. The breakfasts we had were well presented and the heater in the dining room was a bonus. Parking could be a bit tight, but with a little bit of patience one can squeeze into any place. Jürgen Heckmanns is a very friendly person.
Sam & Daphny Oosthuizen
Tableview

Room Tip: Corner suites are nice and sunny. My wife and I stayed in room # 5 and we were satisfied, except for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.2 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#5 of 232 in Port Elizabeth
237 reviews
4.9 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 232 in Port Elizabeth
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manor 38
Manor 38
#4 of 43 in Summerstrand
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Beach Guesthouse
Palm Beach Guesthouse
#14 of 43 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
3.5 mi away
10 on CAPE
10 on CAPE
#29 of 82 in Port Elizabeth
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Beach Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12 Skegness Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Africa Beach Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For visitors looking for excellent Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Port Elizabeth, Africa Beach is an ideal choice. With superbly comfortable accommodation and a great location Africa Beach is ideal for business executives, holiday makers and tourists. All guests to Africa Beach Bed and Breakfast will find the ideal haven to unwind while enjoying all Port Elizabeth has to offer and ensuring when you leave you feel refreshed and relaxed.• Airport transfers can be arranged• All major credit cards accepted• We also speak German!Africa Beach - Accommodation: Spacious and beautifully appointed bedrooms, which are serviced daily, all have en-suite bathrooms and their own private entrances. Each room is equipped with • TVs with DSTV Movie, Sport and German TV-channels• Telephones• Free wireless ADSL internet access• Fridges• Complimentary filter-coffee and tea• Heaters / Fans Africa Beach - Facilities:All Africa Beach Bed and Breakfast guests will have secure off-street parking and the use of the following facilities:• Swimming pool• Barbecue/braai area• Telephone, fax and laundry service• Communal PC to access the internet. It is ideally situated for guests wishing to visit the wonderful selection of game reserves including Addo Elephant Park, Schotia, Amakhala, Shamwari, Lalibela and Kariega. The Africa Beach Team will help you plan the perfect stay while you are in Port Elizabeth. Africa Beach - Location: Africa Beach is a great choice for visitors to Port Elizabeth who want to enjoy the many attraction the Eastern Cape has to offer. The guesthouse is within easy walking distance to:• popular Port Elizabeth beaches (3 min. to Hobie Beach)• The Boardwalk Casino Entertainment Complex with a selection of shops, restaurants, cinemas, bars and a variety of other entertainment.• Shopping centres, banks...and close to: • a choice of excellent golf courses (Humewood Golf Course is a 5 minute drive away)• University/Technikon• Telkom Park Rugby Stadium• the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Africa Beach Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Beach Bed And Breakfast Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing