We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IRONMAN SOUTH AFRICA.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Blue Guest House
Ranked #16 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I was in Summer Blue guest house during 6 days in order to compete in the IM 2013.Really it was an amazing experience.Excellent place.Awesome attention at each moment.Baubie Richards and her team make me a very pleasant experience.
Foods,punctuality cleanliness,peaceful place,etc....
I want to recommend this wonderful place.
Pablo Segura( Barcelona-Spain).

Room Tip: Corner suites are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pablo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stay:
had such an epic time at summer blue, the rooms are nice and spacious, well-furnished and comfortable. Well equipped with everything one could possible need for a warm comfortable stay. If I were to recommend a guest house in PE it would be the Summer Blue and the manner I would do that would be as if one had asked- what’s my name?

Hospitality:
They have a wide range of food to choose from for breakfast and everything comes in abundance. Really enjoyed their omelettes!!

Hostess:
In all is superb ambience, attraction and its great location-peace and quiet there is Baubie whom I missed after having left the place: she is an absolutely amazing hostess, very warm, caring and conversational person. She was efficient in every regard and they offer excellent service!!

Mzu

Room Tip: Conner suites are large and sunny!* room 6*
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mzu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I traveled recently to PE in order to compete in the ironman 2013. The summer blue is a wonderful place to stay, Baubie Richards the owner is an amazing person and has exceptional hospitality skills!! and took care of all my needs during my stay, food (I am a vegetarian) and transportation.Summer blue is a peaceful place, conveniently located clean and functional. On race day I woke up rested and energized!
I enjoyed very much my stay, it was like being at home away from home.

Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEDRO380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Slightly reluctant to let the secret out... this is a great place to base yourself for the ironman South Africa. Food is excellent, especillay the fruit slad, a work of art. We had a personal guided pre race swim by Graham, loads of useful helpful information.
great loation, clean, uiet and very friendly.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Clean attractive rooms. Beautiful yard. Excellent breakfast. Baubie is the owner and a wonderful host. We were on vacation from California, but only in PE for two nights, and Baubie arranged a moderately priced private tour of PE and the surrounding area that allowed us to see a lot in this short time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Very neat and clean , new buildings etc, quiet neighbourhood , jogger friendly , great breakfast especially the omelets, close to :- beach,airport, take aways and major roads.Well kept garden and lawns.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HW661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The room was in perfect condition and the bed was highly comfortable (as if it was brand-new). Also the host was really warm-hearted, she even presented us lots of restaurant and activity recommendations that worked out really well. Definite recommendation!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muesli2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
1.5 mi away
Palm Beach Guesthouse
Palm Beach Guesthouse
#13 of 43 in Summerstrand
122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.1 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
488 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Blue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Blue Guest House

Address: 11 Harvey Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: £67 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Blue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Blue is a four star rated guest house in the residential area of Summerstrand comprising two spacious family rooms and three well appointed double rooms and is suitable for both tourists and business travellers. Guests can relax around the pool, enjoy the beautiful gardens or relax in the rooms with WiFi and satellite television. Summerstrand is a quite suburb close to the vibrant beach front and bay with wonderful swimming beaches and spectacular views. Popular activities besides swimming include fishing, surfing, kite-surfing, stand-up boarding, spearfishing, snorkelling and scuba diving. There are also numerous restaurants, pubs, shops, markets, casino, Humewood Golf Club and the Nelson Mandela University nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Summer Blue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Blue Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing