We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, comfortable, and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Summer Blue Guest House
Ranked #12 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice, comfortable, and clean”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in August, 2013 and were impressed by the cleanliness, comfort, and cheerful furnishings. Baubie was very conscientious and detail oriented. I would recommend Summer Blue to anyone. Thanks much!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 444dawood444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
54
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great guest house. It was clean, very neat, spacious and quiet.
Baubie's attention to detail is startling - all the way down to the 30 point checklist for breakfast orders ;)
I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Summer Blue is truly home away from home!
I have made summer Blue the only place we book when planning any trip to PE.
We have been using Summer Blue for many years now and with all the fantastic additions to the guest area and rooms, makes Summer Blue a world class Guest House.
A special thank you to Baubie and staff for making any trip to PE a special one.
Hope to see you all soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

What an experience it was, It was very easy to book & best part was how i was welcomed by Baubie.
She assured me to very comfortable room. As a vegetarian I would rate her breakfast 10/10.

It was very nice stay & I recommend Summer Blue to all my colleges.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaithanya p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We returned to South Africa in July for our 7th visit and started our holiday at Summer Blue where we stayed two years ago and were so pleased to find the same high standards as we did then.
Baubie is a wonderful hostess whose attention to detail makes for a wonderful stay at this guest house.
The entire place is so clean and safe and coupled with its proximity to the airport and the main centre, it entirely fulfils what we look for in a guest house.
The wonderful breakfasts and the comfortable rooms lead me to reinforce the statement I made in my previous review, that this is one of the best guest houses we have stayed at during our travels to South Africa and we hope one day again to take advantage of Baubie's hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

In June/July 2013 we travelled to PE for the SA Open Judo Championships, and I used Trip Advisor to scout for accommodation. We chose Summerblue Guesthouse for its wonderful reviews and proximity to everything else. WE WERE SO HAPPY AT SUMMERBLUE! The reviews were 100 % accurate and we were bowled over with the gracious hospitality of Baubie, the crisp and clean accommodation, the wonderful breakfast (fruit salad and bubble and squeak were the best ever). We really felt like it was home away from home and thats what we were looking for. Baubie fell over herself looking after our every need and her warmth and friendliness and kindness and going above and beyond the call of duty are treasures that will always bring us back home again and again to Summerblue!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taheera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Marianne Streicher

Two years ago our family stayed at Summer Blue - we thought it must be brand new because it was very clean and neat. Now, two years later we stayed there again and it still is as clean and neat as two years ago! Baubie is the best hostess and shows SA that it is possible to keep a guest house above the expected standards!! Best beds, cleanest bathrooms, best breakfast and best hostess. We have stayed in many guest houses and everytime we talk about how wonderful Summer Blue is. We are looking for excuses to visit PE! Thank you Baubie! And to everybody out there: go see what a guest house is suppose to be like!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.5 mi away
Villa Tuscana
Villa Tuscana
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
114 reviews
1.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carslogie House
Carslogie House
#3 of 43 in Summerstrand
275 reviews
4.2 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
404 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayside Guesthouse
Bayside Guesthouse
#7 of 43 in Summerstrand
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Blue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Blue Guest House

Property: Summer Blue Guest House
Address: 11 Harvey Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Blue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Blue is a four star rated guest house in the residential area of Summerstrand comprising two spacious family rooms and three well appointed double rooms and is suitable for both tourists and business travellers. Guests can relax around the pool, enjoy the beautiful gardens or relax in the rooms with WiFi and satellite television. Summerstrand is a quite suburb close to the vibrant beach front and bay with wonderful swimming beaches and spectacular views. Popular activities besides swimming include fishing, surfing, kite-surfing, stand-up boarding, spearfishing, snorkelling and scuba diving. There are also numerous restaurants, pubs, shops, markets, casino, Humewood Golf Club and the Nelson Mandela University nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Summer Blue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Blue Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing