We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summer Blue Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Blue Guest House
Ranked #11 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellville, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We recently stayed for 4 days in this excellent guesthouse. I can just confirm what all the other reviewers said. The rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Excellent WIFI in rooms as well. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast prepared by Baubie and her staff. You must try the omelettes.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are going back in December. I can recommend Summer Blue Guest House to anyone wanting to overnight in Port Elizabeth. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PieterdBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
54
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Port Elizabeth has become part of my life due to an annual conference to be attended. I spotted this guesthouse via TripAdvisor and selected it due to the number one ranking position and the location! I was not disappointed! The guesthouse is not far from the airport or the university, where the conference took place, which made my stay even more comfortable as I did not have to travel much!
Baubie is indeed the hostess described in many a review! WhatI noticed about her, is her extremely professional approach to service and guest satisfaction.
Her hospitality is praiseworthy and the attention to detail re individual guest satisfaction was evident during my stay.
For the businessman or woman, this guesthouse is an excellent choice! The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable and the area safe. The hostess is quick regarding service - she meets you at the gate upon arrival and upon departure also personally accompanies you to the gate - not done by many other hosts! That personal touch makes a difference. She also personally attends to each guest's breakfast requirements - and serves great breakfasts without a waiting period at all - don't know how she does this... I never spotted any cleaning staff, yet the room was always immaculate! Congratulations, Baubie! You are indeed an outstanding hostess with a superb guesthouse - thank you for allowing me to share your home!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamDeJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in August, 2013 and were impressed by the cleanliness, comfort, and cheerful furnishings. Baubie was very conscientious and detail oriented. I would recommend Summer Blue to anyone. Thanks much!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 444dawood444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great guest house. It was clean, very neat, spacious and quiet.
Baubie's attention to detail is startling - all the way down to the 30 point checklist for breakfast orders ;)
I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Summer Blue is truly home away from home!
I have made summer Blue the only place we book when planning any trip to PE.
We have been using Summer Blue for many years now and with all the fantastic additions to the guest area and rooms, makes Summer Blue a world class Guest House.
A special thank you to Baubie and staff for making any trip to PE a special one.
Hope to see you all soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

What an experience it was, It was very easy to book & best part was how i was welcomed by Baubie.
She assured me to very comfortable room. As a vegetarian I would rate her breakfast 10/10.

It was very nice stay & I recommend Summer Blue to all my colleges.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaithanya p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We returned to South Africa in July for our 7th visit and started our holiday at Summer Blue where we stayed two years ago and were so pleased to find the same high standards as we did then.
Baubie is a wonderful hostess whose attention to detail makes for a wonderful stay at this guest house.
The entire place is so clean and safe and coupled with its proximity to the airport and the main centre, it entirely fulfils what we look for in a guest house.
The wonderful breakfasts and the comfortable rooms lead me to reinforce the statement I made in my previous review, that this is one of the best guest houses we have stayed at during our travels to South Africa and we hope one day again to take advantage of Baubie's hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Algoa Guest House
Algoa Guest House
#5 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manor 38
Manor 38
#4 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lavender Terrace B&B
Lavender Terrace B&B
#4 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Blue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Blue Guest House

Property: Summer Blue Guest House
Address: 11 Harvey Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Blue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Blue is a four star rated guest house in the residential area of Summerstrand comprising two spacious family rooms and three well appointed double rooms and is suitable for both tourists and business travellers. Guests can relax around the pool, enjoy the beautiful gardens or relax in the rooms with WiFi and satellite television. Summerstrand is a quite suburb close to the vibrant beach front and bay with wonderful swimming beaches and spectacular views. Popular activities besides swimming include fishing, surfing, kite-surfing, stand-up boarding, spearfishing, snorkelling and scuba diving. There are also numerous restaurants, pubs, shops, markets, casino, Humewood Golf Club and the Nelson Mandela University nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Summer Blue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Blue Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing