We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away fom home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Blue Guest House
Ranked #12 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Home away fom home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Summer Blue my home away from home, having just moved to PE for the 1st time we were received with a WARM welcome at the guest house. And from the 1st day we were told about the nice places to visit in PE and the most reliable cab company to use whenever you want to go somewhere. Every morning we woke up to the freshest breakfast and on hot days jumped right into the lovely pool for a swim. We were given a detailed map of PE and since then I have not gotten lost in this friendly city. We were originally booked to stay there for two weeks but since we felt so at home we extended our stay for another 3 weeks and every single day we came back to a lovely fresh and neat room. If I could I would have loved to stay there for the whole year while I pursue my studies in PE. Baubie and Theressa thank you so much for the lovely time me and my best friend had at Summer Blue, even the staff were so kind and greeted us with smiles on their faces every single day. It was a good 5 weeks!!!! If you are on holiday or business in Port Elizabeth please visit Summer Blue Guest house for the great hospitality :)

Room Tip: You can always ask for a room suitable for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahnamwinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
54
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The ups: very friendly hosts, very good breakfasts and spotlessly clean.
The downs: No aircon just a rickety, noisy ceiling fan that looks as though it's about to fall. Fortunately it was not too hot during our stay, so we survived.
One shampoo sachet shared between two for two days as well as no spare loo paper which was quite inconvenient when required in the middle of the night. Spare loo rolls are not supplied as guests apparently steal them !!!
Cats !!! Cant stand them and should have been warned when booking.
Shower had no nozzle so we showered basically under a tap. Had a nozzle fitted for the next day but then water pressure was very poor.
Bar fridge totally empty - not even water to drink.
Overall perhaps a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We returned to Baubie's fabulous guesthouse in Port Elizabeth and this time it was December and it really was summer at Summer Blue. We got a much better look at the sea and the lovely buildings along the coast than we ever had before because our driver got completely lost. What was Baubie's response when we called to ask directions? They would come out and track us down and lead us back! Typical kindness. In fact we did find our way eventually and there was the usual warmest of welcomes from Baubie, her family and cats. We were exhausted after the very lengthy drive but she quickly took control of the bags, getting the driver to wipe down the suitcases which had got covered in dust in his trailer, booking us into an even better restaurant than last year for dinner and taking our order for an early breakfast. She is so organised and good-natured and along with her charming staff makes sure the whole place runs like clockwork. One of my daughters is vegetarian and there were all sorts of wonderful special things arranged for her for breakfast. The other's handle had broken on her suitcase. Before you knew it the man driving us to the airport the next day had been instructed to mend the handle and carry all the luggage for us, Baubie had got up early to see us off, and after a very good sleep in her nice, bright, incredibly clean guest rooms along by the pool and a wonderful hot shower we were on our way. Far too quickly. Next time it will be nice to stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: I think they are all spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherPimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

It was more than expected , with a warm meet and greet from Baubie . My family could not stop saying thank you mum for this lovely place with friendly staff . Rooms were very clean with excellent breakfast from Theressa . We did not need a tour guide as staff were knowledgeable about exciting places for a young family like mine. Summerblue is an excellent guest house even today my kids are asking when are we going again to Baubie ? The place is more secured and private with a safe swimming pool. Summerblue is in a good sport if you want to enjoy your holiday. I would like to thank you all the staff in Summerblue who made us to enjoy our stay......

Room Tip: ''service was excellent'' ''Family room facing swimming pool is quieter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomfundiso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Baubie, greeted us at the gate of her beautiful guest home. She was inviting and personable.
She lead us to our room, in a very private setting, with lovely landscaping surrounded by a swimming pool and palm trees. The room was updated, very clean and comfortable.
She quickly made a dinner plan for us and asked for our breakfast requests. We went to an Italian restaurant and ordered what she had recommended. Lamb pizza and a salad....delicious.
After a good night's rest, we had scheduled breakfast at 7:30 sharp. She was there with coffee, and prepared an egg, bacon and sausage with fruit salad and jams....excellent!
She was friendly as we chatted about the otter trail from which husband had just returned.
She followed through on some beautiful photos of the ocean. Thanks always Baubie!!

Room Tip: Any of Summer Blue Guest rooms would be a great bet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra_wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have returned to stay at Summer Blue Guest House so regularly that it feels like home. With its continuous spotless rooms, friendly staff and good location, where else would I go? Summer Blue is excellent with a very hard working owner, Baubie. The best guest house I have stayed in, in PE. Thank you for never disappointing!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Desire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

A really relaxing, homely and comfortable stay at Summer Blue. We were made to feel very welcome and particularly loved the friendly cats! Very well located within PE- close enough to the seafront with many dining options. Very clean, good size rooms with good facilities. The pool was a great bonus. We had a great stay... Thank you Baubie and Graham

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tima_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.1 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Bay BnB
Blue Bay BnB
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.5 mi away
Algoa Guest House
Algoa Guest House
#5 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Blue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Blue Guest House

Property: Summer Blue Guest House
Address: 11 Harvey Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Blue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Blue is a four star rated guest house in the residential area of Summerstrand comprising two spacious family rooms and three well appointed double rooms and is suitable for both tourists and business travellers. Guests can relax around the pool, enjoy the beautiful gardens or relax in the rooms with WiFi and satellite television. Summerstrand is a quite suburb close to the vibrant beach front and bay with wonderful swimming beaches and spectacular views. Popular activities besides swimming include fishing, surfing, kite-surfing, stand-up boarding, spearfishing, snorkelling and scuba diving. There are also numerous restaurants, pubs, shops, markets, casino, Humewood Golf Club and the Nelson Mandela University nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Summer Blue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Blue Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing