We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
First Avenue Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No5 by Mantis(Summerstrand)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookes Hill Suites(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
80
31
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
31
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily rooms aresafe parkingexcellent securitywithin walking distanceexcellent stayboard walkguest housethoroughly enjoyed our stayroom was spaciousboardwalk casinohonesty bartwo nightsstayed for one nightperfect locationa great place to staybusiness tripdelicious breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed for a week again this January after using the guesthouse last year.
Found the family suite perfect for our needs.
Treated us like good friends.Big smiles all round ,Weston's perpetual smile and calm
kind way adds to a great stay.

Various options at breakfast a winner with the family

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CharlesDaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaRentzke, Manager at First Avenue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Hi Charles...it makes us very happy to hear you felt like family as we try to make all our guests feel like First Avenue is a home away from home! All the best for 2014 and look forward to seeing you all again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We really enjoyed our time at First Avenue Guesthouse. Denise & Weston were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. Very close to the beach.
I would recommend this to friends & family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaRentzke, Manager at First Avenue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you Anita! We look forward to seeing you again when you are visiting the Friendly City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had a lovely stay at First A venue. Staff was very polite and friendly. A big thank you to Denise and the night security guy( sorry I forgot his name.).

I will recommend First Avenue to family and friends and will definitely use it again. Warmest regards Sindi, Lili and Lunga:)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sindim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaRentzke, Manager at First Avenue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thanks Sindi and family! We look forward to seeing you all when you are back in PE again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in Port Elizabeth at the start of our journey on the Garden Route, and we found the perfect place to start our trip from, at the First Avenue Guest House. This was so much better than the impression the pictures give you. The rooms are very spacious and decent size bathrooms (with bath).

We opted for the bed and breakfast option and I would very much recommend it. The breakfast was very good and served by very helpful and attentive staff.

The secure off street parking was a good bonus as the streets around the guest house can get quite busy.

Location wise, you are close to restaurants and a very short walk from the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colemanmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaRentzke, Manager at First Avenue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate your kind words and look forward to hosting you the next time you are in PE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I would like to compliment Weston and Denise for their hospitality during my 2 week stay.
The rooms were clean and comfortable.
The breakfast serving is quick and delicious.
I had to change my booking during the my 2 week stay and Denise accommodated me without any problem.

The DSTV channels are very limited and changes daily. Would be nice if it can be the full package.

I think First Avenue is one of the most affordable accommodation in PE !!!

Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaRentzke, Manager at First Avenue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

It was a pleasure hosting you Werner and we are very glad that First Avenue added to your great stay in PE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews