We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“served by the angels”

The Coachman Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“served by the angels”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I went to this restaurant on Tuesday night and it was almost fully booked, I have got a table in the corner with view over the whole restaurant. I have visited many restaurants during my trips, but in Coachman I have seen DEFINITELY the most beautiful service team including Ms. Bron and the outfit was an other highlight.
The only one thing what surprised me was, I asked for a little help from sommelier regarding wine, but nobody knows what does it mean sommelier.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TamyJelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    177
    74
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Steak”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

the service and food is brilliant. definitely a place to eat steak and enjoy it. great view as well. will def be back

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug38886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times and still find the food top notch. The sevice, ambience and the food is still the best you will find in the area. Can't believe the place is so busy on a Tuesday evening but the vibe is great. Keep it up you rock !!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Gert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“in blue”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

please note you will be served in black and blue so if you want to blend is go semi formal in blue or black. this is one of my favorite places to go to .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alroy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellant dinner venue”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Classy and excellant serive. Good menu and reasonable prices. Good wine list, and there is outside seating for the summer evenings. A must visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coachman Restaurant also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Coachman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing