We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends on your Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa/US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Depends on your Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

I have stayed here several times while traveling to PE for work. The quality of the rooms vary so it's worthwhile to ask for a good room. The breakfast is mediocre for Vegetarians. Parking is secure and it is conveniently located (currently being expanded). Buffalo Bills - the restaurant linked to the hotel (there is no hotel kitchen) is not good at all. Information about the internet and how breakfast works is not provided when you check in. You need to be proactive if you want to find out information. The absolute plus of the City Lodge is the staff who have always been very friendly and courteous. Nice environment. Gym is small but sufficient.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Varying room quality
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Quagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    58
    30
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
19
4
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2008

We stayed here for one night after driving along the Garden Route from Cape Town. Overall it was a bit of a mixed bag.

On the plus side, the facilities were clean and modern. The room was well maintained and the communal facilities perfectly adequate. We didn’t use the pool but it looked nice. They allowed us late check out (2pm), free of charge, when we asked for it, which was excellent. The staff were polite and fairly helpful. There was a good selection of TV channels.

The location is fine for the beach-side facilities, which seem to be the highlight of what Port Elizabeth had to offer in terms of tourism (we were pleased we only decided to stay there for one night).

There were a few problems though. The hotel offers internet access, but getting the voucher to enable this turned out to be a protracted task – apparently only one member of staff could access the voucher, and he wasn’t working during the evening when we wanted to get onto the internet to check in for our flight home. The alternative would have been to pay by credit card over a non-secure server. When we did eventually get onto the internet the next morning, it crashed a few minutes before the session was due to end anyway.

We had a drink in the bar after dinner but the staff were hardly subtle when we were the only customers left and they wanted to close down, even though we had been told it would be open until 11pm (it closed at 10.45pm).

The other main problem is that at about 6.30am we were woken up by someone mowing the lawn. Earplugs meant we could get back to sleep but by 8.30am the noise was so deafening (ie. close) that it was impossible to sleep even with earplugs in. Not everyone will want to sleep in as late as we did, but in a hotel as large as this one they should account for the fact that some of their customers will! Can’t this sort of thing be done later on in the day?

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank AJF1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2007

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night prior to catching a flight from the Port Elizabeth airport. The prime reason for booking the hotel was the fact that it was less than ten minutes drive from the airport, and the beach was across the road, and it was reasonably priced, we paid £51 for the room. The hotel is part of a chain, and caters for businessmen as much as tourists.

The room was large with a sofa as well as a doublebed. There was a Tv with approximately 9 channels, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. The Bathroom had both a shower and Bath, plus something I have not come across before an electric patition so presumably you could watch Tv whilst in the bathroom. Breakfast was taken in the lobby at the front of the hotel. We thought the breakfast selection was the best we came across during our holiday with lots of cereals, fresh fruit, hams and cheeses to choose from, as well as the standard cooked breakfast. One downside is that breakfast ends at 9am during the week which we thought was a bit early. There is a small pool in the courtyard which looked ok, although we did not use it.
There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance although we eat at Buffalo Bills which was just across the car park from the hotel.

As others have said in their review Port Elizabeth is not particularly special, the hotel is situated in about the best part of the city. With hindsight if we had known how quickly we could get from Addo Elephant Rest Camp. where we had stayed the previous 2 nights we would have stayed there another night, but this is not a reflection of the hotel which was fine. The worst thing about the hotel was its colour, a shocking Salmon Pink, at least it made it easy to find.

  • Liked — Close to airport
  • Disliked — Colour of the Hotel
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank needdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfort, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2006

Room was large, modern, clean and very quiet. King bed was very comfortable. Room furnishings are not opulent, but are of good taste and sturdy quality with plenty of closet and storage space for the extended stay visitor. Comfortable sofa, chair and working size desk were much appreciated as I was travelling on business. Large bath in excellent condition - well equipped with an interesting window screen between bath and room that opens electricaly, allowing you to watch TV or listen to the radio while spending quality time with your tooth brush or razor. I thought it was kind of trick....

My room looked out over some kind of military reservation or armory, but many of the rooms have ocean views that are quite nice during early morning and evening periods.

Restaraunt is large enough and very pleasant. They serve an excellent American style breakfast which suits me just fine. I never tried it for dinner as there are a number of fun and good eateries (and bars!) on the beach just across the street. I was always suprised at how inexpensive the check was after each meal. If you get the opportunity, take a cab to the Butcher Block restaraunt - amazing menu includes alligator, ostriche, springbock as well as very good beef and a terrific selection of the local wine.

Pool area is well maintained and very attractive and peacefull. I enjoyed sharing the landscaping with all the interesting critters and fowl to be found in that part of the world.

Service was very good, professional and eager to help. Check in and out was quick and hassle free. I must have received a very good corporate rate as I recall the tab averaged about 60 euro per night.

The Boardwalk Casino is just a couple of minute walk from the hotel. Nice casino, (although I couldn't find a craps game) with a club boasting an excellent, lively bar and a live comedy act which was much better than I had a right to expect. Surrounding the casino is a large shopping complex - mostly tourity stuff but open air and enjoyable for strolling and best seen during daylight hours.

Spent a good deal of time walking during the evenings and never felt uncomfortable or concerned for safety. Poverty is a problem in South Africa and while the homeless people you encounter may ask for a handout, they are not aggressive.

I enjoyed the City Lodge and plan to make it 'home base' during future trips to PE.

  • Stayed December 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentlyLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
327 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2005

We stayed one night at the Beach Hotel before heading off on safari and with hindsight probably would have travelled straight to the safari as both the hotel and Port Elizabeth are nothing special, especially compared to some of the other fantastic hotels and areas in South Africa. The room was a standard room, no frills, breakfast ok, swimming pool ok, opposite beach but the beach is not nearly as nice as some of the stunning beaches in South Africa. Next door a casino/amusement complex which is convenient but is very much an American type set up. Unless you have a specific reason to spend time in Port Elizabeth I would give it a miss. Reception staff very helpful as we had a problem with car hire which they sorted out.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An American living in Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2004

I loved the City Lodge in Port Elizabeth. The location was fantastic - it is located across the street from the beach and within walking distance of the tourist Boardwalk with a casino, shopping and restaurants. Wonderful! There is a little bus that picks you up to shuttle you over to the Boardwalk if you desire. The hotel is modern and clean, the service is exceptional, and breakfast is a wonderful American breakfast. There is a steakhouse next door that is quite good and very reasonable as is all of the food. Enjoy your stay ~ We sure did!

Helpful?
11 Thank BobbyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth

Property: City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Address: Cnr Beach and Lodge Roads | P O Box 13352, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has a swimming pool for those hot summer days as well as a fitness room and a small meeting room for guest use. It is across the road from Humewood Beach, within walking distance of many restaurants, 500m from the Oceanarium and Boardwalk casino and entertainment area. The hotel is 8 minutes from Port Elizabeth’s CBD and 10 minutes from the Port Elizabeth Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing