We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have stayed on several occasions at this Hotel we like the situation close to the beach,
restaurants and part of the Boardwalk casino complex with alot of things to do. Ideal for families, kids can swim in the hotel pool , ten pin bowling and kids entertainment centre at the boardwalk. The rooms a very spacious , clean and well stocked with amenities. Shuttel service to boardwalk so you can park your car in secure parking at the Hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are nicer with balconies and the best would be to the left of reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownHurdygurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.The kitchenette was a much appreciated extra to our spacious rooms. We enjoyed the complimentary drinks and breakfast as well as the view from our balcony. The staff were helpful and friendly. We will stay here again. The hotel orgonised transport from the hotel to the airport for us. We were really impressed with the service and the person who drove us to the airport. We did not enjoy the noise from the business across the road!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rykoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We only needed a one night stay in PE, but I still took to Tripadvisor for advice on the best place. We stayed at 5 other places in South Africa which were fantastic, but this was a real dud. The lobby/common area was nice enough but we were placed in the farthest room away which was pretty gross. The room was extremely dated and the bathroom in particular, smelled and there was mold on the ceiling of the shower. Being that this was one of the more expensive places we stayed at, I was pretty shocked. What added to our poor experience was the woman at the front desk-- she was rude & dismissive to us. I will give a good review to the nice gentleman on the evening shift who was very pleasant and gave us a nice wake up call.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLoverNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The main thing about that hotel is the location, very close to the Boardwalk, and to many restaurrants in the neighborhood, walking distance to Hobie Beach & Kings Beach ..
The lobby is beautiful and very welcoming, including complimentary drinks 5-7 PM. The breakfast is quite ok as well, with a beautiful view to the sea. Just a shame they don't serve dinner in the hotel
The rooms are spacious and clean. The only thing is that they can be a bit loud, there's a busy road between the hotel and the beach and the rooms aren't perfectly isolated, but for the rest, this is my preferred hotel in the area
Tip for runners: The gym has a quite good treadmill with an astonishing view of the sea, at sunset the colours are beautiful. If you want to venture outside, there's a 5 km concrete / wood path next to the sea heading south.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Athlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Had the choice to stay at Radisson blu or Courtyard and having spent 3 other holidays here we decided to stick with what we know. It was a busy time of the year but everything was up to excellent standard. The rooms are clean and spacious and have a little kitchenette which is also handy. You can also order from two restaurant menus who will deliver to your door and charge to your hotel bill. Breakfast was great with very helpful and attentive staff. On the doorstep of casino complex with complimentary shuttle every ten minutes. This gets full marks

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A nice place not so far away from the airport. Many restaurants nearby, close by the sea. The staff was very helpful and service minded. Happy hours from 5 to 7 pm were a big surprise with free drinks. Breakfast was excellent. We stayed just one night.

Room Tip: Connecting Rooms with balcony facing the sea, with a living room between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel because it was easy to access from the airport and it is a good seaside location. The room was large and comfortable and the view was excellent. The complimentary drinks and snacks were very welcome. The staff were helpful and we had a good meal at the nearby Boardwalk. The only thing we found offputting was the apparent need to use the shuttle bus to travel the short distance to the Boardwalk after dark.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sammy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for this positive review of Courtyard Port Elizabeth. Your comments are gratefully received. As for the shuttle bus service, this is purely done for after-dark safety reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
131 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine
1.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth

Address: 1 Lodge Road Cnr Beach Roads, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: £85 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. The hotel consists of 91 suites and studios some with sea facing views. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing