We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the excellent standards set by City Lodge group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not up to the excellent standards set by City Lodge group”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I looked forward to returning to this hotel. Reception was warm an friendly. I was upgraded to a suite with enough space to house a small tribe. It is well equipped with most things you would need. Comfortable bed, great view, blackout curtains, kitchenette, lounge area, dining area, work station, wifi, etc Great so far.

So why the below average rating?

1. The room fixtures and fittings are all well worn and tired. Most furniture is scratched, chipped or marked. Walls are marked. Shower has mould etc.
2. Breakfast was the usual excellent City Lodge variety. On the first morning service was pathetic. I had to search for a table that was not littered with dirty plates etc. After waiting about 10 minutes I unsuccessfully tried the coffee machine, without any staff offering to assist. Eventually the duty manager offered me coffee at the table half way through the meal. I did have friendly word with the manager and on the second day the service was prompt and friendly, but they did run out of croissants............
3. Day 2 was started with the treat of a cold shower! "We are working on it"
4. Reception. As expected staff are friendly and professional. In general there is usually only one behind the desk, so all interactions are drawn out by numerous interruptions. Didn't help that the credit card machine didn't work on checkout. Reception also looks grubby with a wall well marked by greasy hands over the years ( the things you notice while waiting for long periods!)
5. For the two days a cleaning trolley remained parked in the passage, and had to be moved when the wind blew it into the stairway access.

So while it is a nice facility in a good location, this Courtyard could do with a serious makeover as it does not live up to the brand expectations.

Room Tip: Bearing above comments in mind all seem to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel - rest assured that we will look into these matters you have raised as they appear to be below our high standards of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    71
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
26
63
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at this Courtyard Hotel during a visit to Port Elizabeth, as I wanted to show my wife where I had spent many of my childhood days. Our room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated and also had an ocean view. We experienced the staff to be genuinely friendly and caring. At breakfast we were offered a choice of either continental or full breakfast. We decided on the latter and found the food at the hot buffet to be attractively set out and of a very high quality. The breakfast chef greeted us in a cheerful way and interacted with us in a very friendly manner. A memorable moment was having a beautiful ocean view while enjoying breakfast
We also enjoyed the courtesy bar in the evening where a variety of snacks and drinks were available for the guests to enjoy.
Although this hotel is within easy walking distance to the Boardwalk Casino, they provided a shuttle bus to take us there.
Our stay at this hotel exceeded our expectations, and we would most certainly recommend the hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thanks so much for your kind comments - we hope it won't be too long before you pay us another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We know the Port Elizabeth area rather well, and this hotel is our favourite in the city. We normally also book our out-of-town guests into this hotel. The views over the Indian Ocean are great, the breakfast is superb, and the location is spot-on. It is very close to the Boardwalk casino complex, with its offerings of decent restaurants etc. If you are coming to PE, do not hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an Indian Ocean view, but try to book the rooms on the 2nd floor north of the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AceBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thanks so much for your comments - we also love our beachfront location and hope to share it again with you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Friday night stay, won't do it in this hotel again!
Got in late to the sound of a night club coming from either the boardwalk or the beach front. That combined with the noise of the traffic a couple of meters away didn't make for a good nights sleep.

Positives:
Great big bath towels
Really nice shower
Huge room with couch

Negative:
My usual bugbear - No free wifi (15 min only). At these room rates this should be included!!

No ice machine near room, had to walk to the laundry to get ice, what's that about.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thanks for your review - sorry you experienced some negatives; we will certainly bear them in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

While the hotel is situated in a perfect spot right across the road from the beach, the rooms are very dated in decor and for what you pay would expect a bit more for your money. No minibar. No room service. Basically nothing special. I have stayed here regularly but have now found a new place that is better value for money and its a boutique hotel with all the extra trimmings.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
We're glad you like our location, but not so glad about your other comments which we will definitely reflect upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Getting any drink of choice along with a cold and warm snack as a welcome was really a positive surprise after spending the afternoon at Addo Elephant Park. Rooms are spacious but don't offer anything spectacular, although the early birds will be rewarded with a beautiful sunrise view from the balcony. Short transfer time to the airport and walking distance to the Boardwalk centre are the greatest assets. Downside is, you have to go out and back in to have your breakfast in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ante R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for your comments about our hotel, the good and the not so good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Classy place with probably the best location in Port Elizabeth. Close to the beach and the main sites in town, but at the same time not in a crowded district.

Everything was kllen and nice, and the service was great. Seaview rooms has a nice view. The hotel is very close to the airport, which is nice. We were a bit afraid that there might be a lot of noise from the airport, but there was none.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alopex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#14 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth

Property: Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Address: 1 Lodge Road Cnr Beach Roads, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. The hotel consists of 91 suites and studios some with sea facing views. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing